Coinbase cryptocurrency exchange | October 2021 review

Buy and sell cryptocurrency at one of the world's biggest beginner-friendly crypto exchanges.

  • Great for first-time crypto buyers
  • Not so great for its fees

3.9 ★★★★★ (70 reviews) Write a review

23

Fiat currencies

73

Cryptocurrencies

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Details

Product Name Coinbase Digital Currency Exchange
Fiat Currencies USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, MXN, HRK, CZK, DKK, CLP, BGN & 8+ more
Cryptocurrencies ATOM, BAT, BTC, BCH, XRP, DAI, DASH, EOS, ETH, ETC & 50+ more
Deposit Methods Debit card
Trading Fee Fees vary
Deposit Fees Credit/debit card: 3.99%
Bank Transfers (SEPA): None
Faster payments: None
PayPal: 2.5%
Fees vary by location and payment method.
Withdrawal Fees Bank Transfers (SEPA): €0.15
U.S Wire Transfer: $25
Fees vary by location and payment method.
Disclaimer: This information should not be interpreted as an endorsement of cryptocurrency or any specific provider, service or offering. It is not a recommendation to trade.

Which fiat and cryptocurrencies are supported?

  • Supported fiat currencies: USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, MXN, HRK, CZK, DKK, CLP, BGN & 8+ more
  • Supported cryptocurrencies: Approximately 72 cryptocurrencies
*Availability varies by location

Which payment methods are accepted?

  • Debit card

What's it like to use Coinbase?

Fees and limits

Platform trading fees

You will be charged the higher of either the flat fee or the variable fee for buying and selling.

All fees listed here are in US dollars unless otherwise specified and accurate as of 17 December 2020.

Flat fees

Transaction valueFee
$10 or less$0.99
$10 to $25$1.49
$25 to $50$1.99
$50 to $200$2.99

Variable fees

The variable fees depend on your location, payment method and whether you're placing a "standard" order or an "instant buy/sell".


Deposit and withdrawal fees

All deposit and withdrawal fees are included in the platform trading fees.

Transaction fees

Transfer typeFee
Transfers between Coinbase walletsFree
Transfers to an outside crypto walletNetwork fees

How fast will my funds be available?

Deposits

Clock icon for transfer speed

Near-instant to 5 days

  • Bank transfer
    May take up to 5 business days to arrive
  • Card and Coinbase wallet purchases
    Purchases will complete instantly
  • Deposits from wallets
    Within minutes

Withdrawals and transfers

Clock icon for transfer speed

Near-instant to 1-2 days

  • Wallet transfers between Coinbase wallets
    Typically complete immediately
  • Withdrawals and sell orders
    Usually take 1-2 business days to arrive in your bank account
  • Sending outside Coinbase wallets
    Typically a few minutes, depending on the state of the network, the cryptocurrency and the network fees

Is Coinbase safe to use?

  • Regulation. Coinbase holds a wide range of licenses in different US states, including the New York BitLicense, and money transmitter licenses in different states.
  • Verification process. Coinbase requires users to get verified to trade.
  • Security features. Coinbase recommends 2FA to protect accounts and follows (and leads) industry best practices such as keeping the majority of customer funds in cold storage.

Coinbase was founded in 2012 and has never been hacked.

How do I create an account at Coinbase?

What else do I need to know about Coinbase?

Coinbase is one of the world's best-known cryptocurrency exchanges. It was founded in 2012 and as of November 2017 claimed to have 13.3 million users.

It initially began as a way of simply buying, selling and transferring cryptocurrency, but has expanded to offer a wide range of services beyond that.

In a nutshell

Pros

  • Easy. Coinbase is renowned for making the entire buying process simple.
  • Tried and tested. Coinbase has been one of the world's best-known exchanges for years and has never been hacked.
  • Fiat currencies.Coinbase has one of the largest ranges of fiat currency support of any exchange.
  • Wide service range. Try Coinbase Earn to get some free crypto, and Coinbase Learn to get some free education and more.

Cons

  • Expensive. The fees vary but will typically be higher than what you can find elsewhere.
  • Limited coin selection. Coinbase has a limited range of cryptocurrencies.
  • Availability varies. The platform itself, its crypto offerings and its service availability varies by location

Compare Coinbase against other exchanges

Table: shows partner brands and other brands, sorted by popularity
Name Product Deposit methods Fiat Currencies Cryptocurrencies
CoinSpot Cryptocurrency Exchange
Bank transfer, BPAY, Cash, Cryptocurrency, POLi, PayID
AUD

308
cryptocurrencies

CoinSpot is an Australian exchange that lets you easily buy, sell and trade more than 290 cryptos.
Swyftx Cryptocurrency Exchange
Bank transfer, Credit card, Cryptocurrency, Debit card, Osko, PayID
AUD, NZD

284
cryptocurrencies

Finder Exclusive: Receive $10 BTC on Sign up and Verification.
Buy and sell a wide range of cryptocurrencies at competitive rates on this Australian exchange.
Binance Cryptocurrency Exchange
Credit card, Cryptocurrency, Debit card, Osko, PayID
USD, AUD, GBP, CAD, EUR, CNY, RUB, TRY, NGN, UAH & 40+ more

272
cryptocurrencies

Promo: New users earn up to USD 100 in bonus rewards on qualified deposits and trades. Valid till 31 December 2021. T&Cs apply.
Binance is the world’s largest exchange by trading volume. Get started with instant zero fee AUD deposits and withdrawals in Australia, and enjoy low trading fees, a wide selection of cryptocurrencies and 24/7 local customer support.
loading

Compare up to 4 providers

Frequently asked questions

Disclaimer: Cryptocurrencies are speculative, complex and involve significant risks – they are highly volatile and sensitive to secondary activity. Performance is unpredictable and past performance is no guarantee of future performance. Consider your own circumstances, and obtain your own advice, before relying on this information. You should also verify the nature of any product or service (including its legal status and relevant regulatory requirements) and consult the relevant Regulators' websites before making any decision. Finder, or the author, may have holdings in the cryptocurrencies discussed.

Ask an expert

To ask a question simply log in via your email or create an account.

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.

18 Comments

    Default Gravatar
    Dbg
    June 8, 2018

    Hey i am fr Australia and I want to know that GDAX which is now coinbase PRO, can i trade bitcoin in gdax or coinbase pro being Australian citizen? And also one more thing, if i buy or sell bitcoin through my Australia bank account is there any TAX i have to pay for trading cryptocurrency?

      Default Gravatar
      Arnold
      June 8, 2018

      Hi Dbg,

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      Yes, you are able to trade with GDAX in Australia. GDAX currently operates in Australia, the United States, Europe (including the UK), Canada, and Singapore. However, GDAX currently only offers limited crypto-to-crypto pairs in Australia: ETH/BTC and LTC/BTC

      All traders using GDAX have the responsibility to self-report and pay taxes on
      all taxable gains. It would be best to consult with your accountant or tax advisor to ensure that you file
      and pay taxes correctly.

      Learn more about GDAX, how it works and its corresponding fees.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

    Default Gravatar
    Igor
    December 26, 2017

    Can I purchase other cryptocurrency or just what is listed in your app?

      Avatarfinder Customer Care
      Joanne
      December 28, 2017

      Hi Igor,

      Thank you for visiting finder, we are an Australian financial comparison website and general information service.

      The digital Currencies or other tokens that are not listed on their page are not supported by Coinbase. Coinbase is unable to process any transaction made using an unsupported Digital Currency.

      Hope this helps,
      Joanne

    Default Gravatar
    cathy
    December 23, 2017

    How do I cash in LTC from coinbase if I live in Australia?

      Default Gravatar
      Arnold
      December 28, 2017

      Hi Lisa,

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      I’m afraid the option to sell your coins directly with Coinbase is not yet available. You can learn more about how to sell your bitcoins in Australia and to know which cryptocurrency exchange supports this. Some of the exchanges on the page will allow you to deposits in AUD. Once someone decides to buy your coins the transfers can be made automatically.
      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

    Default Gravatar
    Lisa
    December 17, 2017

    Hi – I am in Australia using an Australian Bank account. I want to understand – if I cannot cash out in Australian Dollars what does that mean in terms of getting the money out? Can I cash out in USD and then still send it to my Australian Bank Account? Thanks.

      Default Gravatar
      Arnold
      December 22, 2017

      Hi Lisa,

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      The option to sell your coins directly with Coinbase is not yet available. You can learn more on how to sell your bitcoins in Australia and to know which cryptocurrency exchange supports this. Some of the exchanges on the page will allow you to deposits in AUD. Once someone decides to buy your coins the transfers can be made automatically.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

    Default Gravatar
    Shai
    December 15, 2017

    Hi,

    Can I transfer bitcoin to another person’s wallet in another country? If yes, how quick is the transfer service and what is the fees involved?

    Thanks in advance.

      Avatarfinder Customer Care
      Harold
      December 15, 2017

      Hi Shai,

      Thank you for your inquiry.

      As per checking yes, it’s possible to transfer bitcoin to another person’s wallet in another country. Transferring bitcoin works exactly the same no matter which country you’re sending it to. The transfer and fees involved depending on how busy the bitcoin network is at the time of transfer.

      I hope this information has helped.

      Cheers,
      Harold

Go to site