How to turn 20 days of annual leave into 54 days of holiday time in NSW

NSW, here's how to get 54 days of holiday time in 2021, from only 20 days of annual leave.

Updated

Fact checked

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Do you wish you could have more than one holiday a year? Are you keen for an extended trip to New Zealand, but also want a couple of city breaks as well? With a bit of holiday-hacking know-how and clever annual leave planning, you can be on holidays for a whopping 54 days of 2021, with no unpaid leave.

20 days is the legal minimum amount of annual leave for full-time employees in Australia. So this hack is doable for full-time workers working Monday-Friday (non-rostered).

Just book your days off early, before your colleagues discover this idea too.


When to plan your holidays:

Book in annual leave for the days in italics. The other days are either weekends or public holidays.

sunshine-coast-shutterstock_209281003-900

January:

Friday 1 January (Public holiday: New Year's Day)

Saturday 2 January

Sunday 3 January

Saturday 23 January

Sunday 24 January

Monday 25 January

Tuesday 26 January (Public holiday: Australia Day)


March and April:

Saturday 27 March

Sunday 28 March

Monday 29 March

Tuesday 30 March

Wednesday 31 March

Thursday 1 April

Friday 2 April (Public holiday: Good Friday)

Saturday 3 April

Sunday 4 April

Monday 5 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday)

Tuesday 6 April

Wednesday 7 April

Thursday 8 April

Friday 9 April

Saturday 10 April

Sunday 11 April

Saturday 24 April

Sunday 25 April

Monday 26 April (Public holiday: ANZAC Day)



June:

Saturday 12 June

Sunday 13 June

Monday 14 June (Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday)

Tuesday 15 June

Wednesday 16 June

Thursday 17 June

Friday 18 June

Saturday 19 June

Sunday 20 June


A beautiful landscape destination in New Zealand, Milford sound is the most of one destination to visit. The sunset sky with the beautiful foreground and the Mitr peak at the background along with a lot of traveler.

October:

Saturday 2 October

Sunday 3 October

Monday 4 October (Public holiday: Labour Day)

Tuesday 5 October

Wednesday 6 October

Thursday 7 October

Friday 8 October

Saturday 9 October

Sunday 10 October


December:

Saturday 25 December

Sunday 26 December

Monday 27 December (Public holiday: Christmas Day)

Tuesday 28 December (Public holiday: Boxing Day)

Wednesday 29 December

Thursday 30 December

Friday 31 December

Saturday 1 January

Sunday 2 January

Monday 3 January (Public holiday: New Year's Day)

  • Holiday length: 10 days. This includes Friday 1 January (New Year's Day public holiday) and 1–2 January (weekend).
  • Annual leave used: 3 days
  • Holiday suggestion: Spend your New Year's Eve somewhere new

Totals:

  • Total holiday days: 54 days
  • Annual leave used: 20 days

That's a lot of travelling. Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get these holidays booked.

Looking for a travel bargain to fill your annual leave days? Check out our latest deals: