How to turn 20 days of annual leave into 49 days of holiday time in NSW

NSW, here's how to get 49 days of holiday time in 2020, from only 20 days of annual leave.

Last updated:

Do you wish you could have more than one holiday a year? Are you keen for an extended trip to Asia, but also want a couple of city breaks as well? With a bit of holiday-hacking know-how and clever annual leave planning, you can be on holidays for a whopping 49 days of 2020, with no unpaid leave.

20 days is the legal minimum amount of annual leave for full-time employees in Australia, so this hack is doable for any full-time workers. Just book your days off early, before your colleagues discover this idea too.


When to plan your holidays:

Book in annual leave for the days in italics. The other days are either weekends or public holidays.

sunshine-coast-shutterstock_209281003-900

January:

Wednesday 1 January (Public holiday: New Year's Day)

Thursday 2 January

Friday 3 January

Saturday 4 January

Sunday 5 January

Saturday 25 January

Sunday 26 January

Monday 27 January (Public holiday: Australia Day)


April:

Saturday 4 April

Sunday 5 April

Monday 6 April

Tuesday 7 April

Wednesday 8 April

Thursday 9 April

Friday 10 April (Public holiday: Good Friday)

Saturday 11 April

Sunday 12 April

Monday 13 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday)

Tuesday 14 April

Wednesday 15 April

Thursday 16 April

Friday 17 April

Saturday 18 April

Sunday 19 April


Want to be inspired? See where you could go over these public holiday breaks


June:

Saturday 6 June

Sunday 7 June

Monday 8 June (Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday)


October:

Saturday 3 October

Sunday 4 October

Monday 5 October (Public holiday: Labour Day)

Tuesday 6 October

Wednesday 7 October

Thursday 8 October


December:

Saturday 19 December

Sunday 20 December

Monday 21 December

Tuesday 22 December

Wednesday 23 December

Thursday 24 December

Friday 25 December (Public holiday: Christmas Day)

Saturday 26 December

Sunday 27 December

Monday 28 December (Public holiday: Boxing Day)

Tuesday 29 December

Wednesday 30 December

Thursday 31 December

  • Holiday length: 16 days. This includes Friday 1 January (New Year's Day public holiday) and 2-3 January (weekend).
  • Annual leave used: 7 days
  • Holiday suggestion: Spend your New Year's Eve somewhere new

Totals:

  • Total holiday days: 49 days
  • Annual leave used: 20 days

That's a lot of travelling. Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get these holidays booked.

Looking for a travel bargain to fill your annual leave days? Check out our latest deals: