FijiBeach.300

How to turn 20 days of leave into 55 days of holidays in the ACT

Living in the ACT? This is how you can get the most days off in 2020.

Those of you in the Australian Capital Territory are some of the luckiest when it comes to public holidays, with a whopping 11 days off in addition to the standard 20 days of annual leave you’ll get from your job.

We’ve done the hard work for you and figured out when you should take your annual leave in line with various public holidays and long weekends in order to get 55 days of holidays throughout the year.


When to plan your holidays:

Book in annual leave for the days in italics. The other days are either weekends or public holidays.

January:

Wednesday 1 January (Public holiday: New Year’s Day)

Thursday 2 January

Friday 3 January

Saturday 4 January

Sunday 5 January

Saturday 25 January

Sunday 26 January

Monday 27 January (Public holiday: Australia Day)

Tuesday 28 January

Wednesday 29 January

Thursday 30 January

Friday 31 January

Saturday 1 February

Sunday 2 February


March:

Saturday 7 March

Sunday 8 March

Monday 9 March (Public holiday: Canberra Day)

  • Holiday length: 3 days
  • Annual leave used: 0 days
  • Holiday suggestion: Fly or drive to Melbourne for some coffee and art

April:

Saturday 4 April

Sunday 5 April

Monday 6 April

Tuesday 7 April

Wednesday 8 April

Thursday 9 April

Friday 10 April (Public holiday: Good Friday)

Saturday 11 April

Sunday 12 April

Monday 13 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday)


May/June:

Saturday 30 May

Sunday 31 May

Monday 1 June (Public holiday: Reconciliation Day)

Saturday 6 June

Sunday 7 June

Monday 8 June (Public holiday: Queens Birthday)

Tuesday 9 June

Wednesday 10 June

Thursday 11 June


October:

Saturday 3 October

Sunday 4 October

Monday 5 October (Public holiday: Labour Day)

  • Holiday length: 3 days
  • Annual leave used: 0 days
  • Holiday recommendation: Catch the end of snow season at Thredbo, Perisher, Mount Selwyn or Charlotte Pass

December:

Saturday 19 December

Sunday 20 December

Monday 21 December

Tuesday 22 December

Wednesday 23 December

Thursday 24 December

Friday 25 December (Public holiday: Christmas Day)

Saturday 26 December

Sunday 27 December

Monday 28 December (Public holiday: Boxing Day)

Tuesday 29 December

Wednesday 30 December

Thursday 31 December


Totals:

  • Total holiday days: 55 days
  • Annual leave used: 20 days

Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get these holidays booked.

More travel

Bali vs Lombok

Bali vs Lombok

How to choose between two of Indonesia's beautiful islands? We share all the details to help you decide whether Bali or Lombok is the place for your next holiday. Read more…

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Latest travel offers

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Ask a question
Go to site