FijiBeach.300

How to turn 20 days of leave into 58 days of holidays in the ACT

Living in the ACT? This is how you can get the most days off in 2019.

Those of you in the Australian Capital Territory are some of the luckiest when it comes to public holidays, with a whopping 11 days off in addition to the standard 20 days of annual leave you’ll get from your job.

We’ve done the hard work for you and figured out when you should take your annual leave in line with various public holidays and long weekends in order to get 58 days of holidays throughout the year.


When to plan your holidays:

Book in annual leave for the days in italics. The other days are either weekends or public holidays.

December/January:

Saturday 29 December

Sunday 30 December

Monday 31 December

Tuesday 1 January (Public holiday: New Year’s Day)

Saturday 26 January

Sunday 27 January

Monday 28 January (Public holiday: Australia Day)


March:

Saturday 9 March

Sunday 10 March

Monday 11 March (Public holiday: Canberra Day)

  • Holiday length: 3 days
  • Annual leave used: 0 days
  • Holiday suggestion: Fly or drive down to Melbourne for some coffee and art

April:

Friday 19 April (Public holiday: Good Friday)

Saturday 20 April

Sunday 21 April

Monday 22 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday)

Tuesday 23 April

Wednesday 24 April

Thursday 25 April (Public holiday: ANZAC Day)

Friday 26 April

Saturday 27 April

Sunday 28 April


May/June:

Saturday 25 May

Sunday 26 May

Monday 27 May (Public holiday: Reconciliation Day)

Tuesday 28 May

Wednesday 29 May

Thursday 30 May

Friday 31 May

Saturday 1 June

Sunday 2 June

Monday 3 June

Tuesday 4 June

Wednesday 5 June

Thursday 6 June

Friday 7 June

Saturday 8 June

Sunday 9 June

Monday 10 June (Public holiday: Queen's Birthday)

Tuesday 11 June

Wednesday 12 June

Thursday 13 June

Friday 14 June

Saturday 15 June

Sunday 16 June


October:

Saturday 5 October

Sunday 6 October

Monday 7 October (Public holiday: Labour Day)

Tuesday 8 October

Wednesday 9 October

Thursday 10 October

Friday 11 October

Saturday 12 October

Sunday 13 October


December:

Saturday 21 December

Sunday 22 December

Monday 23 December

Tuesday 24 December

Wednesday 25 December (Public holiday: Christmas Day)

Thursday 26 December (Public holiday: Boxing Day)

Friday 27 December

Saturday 28 December

Sunday 29 December

  • Holiday length: 9 days
  • Annual leave used: 3 days
  • Holiday suggestion: Spend some time with family and friends at Christmas

Totals:

  • Total holiday days: 58 days in 2019 (61 including some 2018 dates)
  • Annual leave used: 20 days

Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get these holidays booked.

More travel

Alex Keshen

Alex takes care of the travel section here at finder.com.au. If there's a new sale on tours or cruises, discounted flights or hotels, or anything else that can be on offer, she'll fill you in.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Latest Travel Offers

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Ask a question
Go to site