FeatureImage.TravelAccessoriesforMen

VIC: How to turn this year’s 20 days of annual leave into 53 days off

Victorians, here’s how to hack your annual leave for 53 days of holiday in 2018.

Twenty days is the legal minimum for full-time employees in Australia, so this hack is possible for any full-time employee. Just book the days off early, before your colleagues discover this super-simple idea too.

With some savvy trip-planning around weekends and a little bit of clever annual leave maths, you can actually get 53 days of holiday time from your standard 20 days of annual leave. We’re going to show you how.

But first, here’s what you could do with all that time off:

In short: How to hack your annual leave in 2018

All public holidays are coloured yellow and the airplanes dictate your holiday days/length.

Vic-calendar-2018-2


Take off the following days in italics as annual leave:

January

Monday 1 (Public holiday - New Years Day)

Tuesday 2 January

  • Total run: 2 days / 1 day annual leave

Friday 26 January (Public holiday - Australia Day)

Saturday 27 January

Sunday 28 January

  • Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days

March-April

Saturday 10 March

Sunday 11 March

Monday 12 March (Public holiday - Labour Day)

Tuesday 13 March

Wednesday 14 March

Thursday 15 March

Friday 16 March

Saturday 17 March

Sunday 18 March

Monday 19 March

Tuesday 20 March

Wednesday 21 March

Thursday 22 March

Friday 23 March

Saturday 24 March

Sunday 25 March

Monday 26 March

Tuesday 27 March

Wednesday 28 March

Thursday 29 March

Friday 30 March (Public holiday: Good Friday)

Saturday 31 March

Sunday 1 April

Monday 2 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday)

  • Total run: 24 days / 13 annual leave days

mornington generic

April

Wednesday 25 April (Public holiday - ANZAC Day)

Thursday 26 April

Friday 27 April

Saturday 28 April

Sunday 29 April

  • Total run: 5 days / 2 annual leave days

June

Saturday 9 June

Sunday 10 June

Monday 11 June (Public holiday - Queens Birthday)

  • Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days

September

Friday 28 September (Public holiday - AFL Grand Final Friday)

Saturday 29 September

Sunday 30 September

  • Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days

delhi-photo-1441451552722-21827a63b6c7-900

November

Saturday 3 November

Sunday 4 November

Monday 5 November

Tuesday 6 November (Public holiday - Melbourne Cup)

  • Total run: 4 days / 1 annual leave day

December

Saturday 22 December

Sunday 23 December

Monday 24 December

Tuesday 25 December (Public holiday - Christmas Day)

Wednesday 26 December (Public holiday - Boxing Day)

Thursday 27 December

Friday 28 December

Saturday 29 December

Sunday 30 December

  • Total run: 9 days / 3 annual leave days

That's a lot of time off to plan.

Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get those holidays booked


More travel

Sarah Neate

Sarah is our shopping & lifestyle publisher here at finder.com.au. She'll help you find the perfect gift, an unbeatable flight deal, the hottest fashion sales and pretty much anything else you're looking for - all at a discount, naturally.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Latest Travel Offers

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, read the PDS or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

4 Responses

  1. Default Gravatar
    razFebruary 2, 2016

    Hi,
    on your article it states that 18th of March is a saturday, when it lands on the Friday.

    • Staff
      StephanieFebruary 5, 2016Staff

      Hi Raz,

      Thanks for the spot. That has been fixed now.

      Stephanie

    • Default Gravatar
      November 4, 2016

      Can you update for 2017? And add South Australia?

    • Staff
      HaroldNovember 17, 2016Staff

      Hello Paul,

      Thank you for your question.

      Basically, the content will be updated for 2017 and will be published in January this year. The 2017 versions will like to come out in December, early January at the latest.

      I hope this information has helped.

      Cheers,
      Harold

Ask a question
Go to site