VIC: How to turn this year’s 20 days of annual leave into 55 days off

Information verified correct on December 10th, 2016

Victorians, learn how to hack your annual leave booking to get the maximum amount of holiday time.

We recently published this article for NSW residents, but now it’s time for Victorian’s to hack their holidays for completely optimised time off – but get in quick, the first day to take off is in January.

With some careful considerations and a little bit of maths - you can get 55 days of holiday time from your standard 20 days of annual leave. This is seven periods of leave, or seven trips away if you suffer from wanderlust.

In those 55 days - these are the breaks you’d have:

  • A 4-day summer break in January
  • A long weekend in March
  • Over two weeks (16 days total run) off in March/April
  • Another long weekend later on in April
  • Another long weekend at the end of September
  • Over a week (9 days) on holiday in Oct/Nov
  • Nine days off in a row over Christmas

Here’s how to maximise your holidays this year.

Take off the following days in italics as annual leave

  • Sat 23 Jan
  • Sun 24 Jan
  • Mon 25 Jan
  • Tue 26 Jan (Public Holiday - Australia Day)

Total run =4 (Annual leave = 1)


palm tree generic


  • Sat 12 Mar
  • Sun 13 Mar
  • Mon 14 Mar (Public Holiday - Labour Day)

Total run = 3 (Annual leave = 0)


  • Sat 19 Mar
  • Sun 20 Mar
  • Mon 21 Mar
  • Tue 22 Mar
  • Wed 23 Mar
  • Thu 24 Mar
  • Fri 25 Mar (Public Holiday - Good Friday)
  • Sat 26 Mar
  • Sun 27 Mar
  • Mon 28 Mar (Public Holiday - Easter Monday)
  • Tue 29 Mar
  • Wed 30 Mar
  • Thu 31 Mar
  • Fri 1 Apr
  • Sat 2 Apr
  • Sun 3 Apr

Total run = 16 (Annual leave = 8)


  • Sat 23 Apr
  • Sun 24 Apr
  • Mon 25 Apr (Public Holiday - Anzac Day)

Total run = 3 (Annual leave = 0)


travel generic


  • Sat 11 Jun
  • Sun 12 Jun
  • Mon 13 Jun (Public Holiday - Queen’s Birthday)
  • Tue 14 Jun
  • Wed 15 Jun
  • Thu 16 Jun
  • Fri 17 Jun
  • Sat 18 Jun
  • Sun 19 Jun

Total run = 9 (Annual leave = 4)


  • Fri 30 Sep (Friday before the AFL Grand Final)
  • Sat 1 Oct
  • Sun 2 Oct

Total run = 3 (Annual leave = 0)


  • Sat 29 Oct
  • Sun 30 Oct
  • Mon 31 Oct
  • Tue 1 Nov (Public Holiday - Melbourne Cup)
  • Wed 2 Nov
  • Thu 3 Nov
  • Fri 4 Nov
  • Sat 5 Nov
  • Sun 6 Nov

Total run = 9 (Annual leave = 4)


flag banner generic


  • Sat 24 Dec
  • Sun 25th Dec
  • Mon 26 Dec (Public Holiday - Boxing Day)
  • Tue 27 Dec (Public Holiday - Additional Day)
  • Wed 28 Dec
  • Thu 29 Dec
  • Fri 30 Dec
  • Sat 31 Dec

Total run = 8 (Annual leave = 3)


Follow this link if you live in New South Wales, or here if you live in Queensland.

Sarah Neate

Sarah is our shopping & lifestyle publisher here at finder.com.au. She'll help you find the perfect gift, an unbeatable flight deal, the hottest fashion sales and pretty much anything else you're looking for - all at a discount, naturally.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Ask a Question

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Disclaimer: At finder.com.au we provide factual information and general advice. Before you make any decision about a product read the Product Disclosure Statement and consider your own circumstances to decide whether it is appropriate for you.
Rates and fees mentioned in comments are correct at the time of publication.
By submitting this question you agree to the finder.com.au privacy policy, receive follow up emails related to finder.com.au and to create a user account where further replies to your questions will be sent.

4 Responses to VIC: How to turn this year’s 20 days of annual leave into 55 days off

  1. Default Gravatar
    raz | February 2, 2016

    Hi,
    on your article it states that 18th of March is a saturday, when it lands on the Friday.

    • Staff
      Stephanie | February 5, 2016

      Hi Raz,

      Thanks for the spot. That has been fixed now.

      Stephanie

    • Default Gravatar
      | November 4, 2016

      Can you update for 2017? And add South Australia?

    • Staff
      Harold | November 17, 2016

      Hello Paul,

      Thank you for your question.

      Basically, the content will be updated for 2017 and will be published in January this year. The 2017 versions will like to come out in December, early January at the latest.

      I hope this information has helped.

      Cheers,
      Harold

Ask a question
feedback