PlaneLanding.Shutterstock300

How to turn 20 days of leave into 53 days of holidays in Tasmania

Maximise your leave days to get the most out of your holidays in 2020.

With four long weekends and a handful of other public holidays scattered throughout the year, Tasmania boasts the highest number of holidays in Australia. And being a small-yet-diverse state that just begs for weekend road trips, we want you to make the absolute most of it.

While not all of Tasmania gets a bonus day off for the Royal Hobart Regatta, we’ve calculated the holiday days for the parts of the state that do get a public holiday on this day.


When to plan your holidays:

Book in annual leave for the days in italics. The other days are either weekends or public holidays.

January:

Wednesday 1 January (Public holiday: New Year's Day)

Thursday 2 January

Friday 3 January

Saturday 4 January

Sunday 5 January


January/February:

Saturday 25 January

Sunday 26 January

Monday 27 January (Public holiday: Australia Day)

Tuesday 28 January

Wednesday 29 January

Thursday 30 January

Friday 31 January

Saturday 1 February

Sunday 2 February

Monday 3 February

Tuesday 4 February

Wednesday 5 February

Thursday 6 February

Friday 7 February

Saturday 8 February

Sunday 9 February

Monday 10 February (Public holiday: Royal Hobart Regatta)

  • Holiday length: 17 days
  • Annual leave used: 9 days
  • Holiday suggestion: Head to the US and make it easier on yourself by booking a tour as well

March:

Saturday 7 March

Sunday 8 March

Monday 9 March (Public holiday: Eight Hours Day)


April:

Saturday 4 April

Sunday 5 April

Monday 6 April

Tuesday 7 April

Wednesday 8 April

Thursday 9 April

Friday 10 April (Public holiday: Good Friday)

Saturday 11 April

Sunday 12 April

Monday 13 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday)


June:

Saturday 6 June

Sunday 7 June

Monday 8 June (Public holiday: Queen's Birthday)


October:

Thursday 22 October (Public holiday: Royal Hobart Show)

Friday 23 October

Saturday 24 October

Sunday 25 October

  • Holiday length: 4 days
  • Annual leave used: 1 day
  • Holiday suggestion: Join the fun at the Royal Hobart Show

December:

Thursday 24 December

Friday 25 December (Public holiday: Christmas Day)

Saturday 26 December

Sunday 27 December

Monday 28 December (Public holiday: Boxing Day)

Tuesday 29 December

Wednesday 30 December

Thursday 31 December


Totals:

  • Total holiday days: 53 days
  • Annual leave used: 20 days

Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get these holidays booked.

More travel

Bali vs Lombok

Bali vs Lombok

How to choose between two of Indonesia's beautiful islands? We share all the details to help you decide whether Bali or Lombok is the place for your next holiday. Read more…

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Latest travel offers

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Ask a question
Go to site