travel generic

Queenslanders: How to turn this year’s 20 days of annual leave into 52 days off

Queenslanders, find out how to get 52 days of holiday time with a little holiday hacking know-how.

Wish you had more time to jet off overseas? You can. With a bit of savvy annual leave planning, you can maximise your time off and get 52 days of holiday time (or 51 if you're outside Brisbane). We’re going to show you how.

Twenty days is the legal minimum for full-time employees in Australia, so this hack is possible for any full-time employee. Just book the days off early, before your colleagues discover this super-simple idea too!

In those 52 days off work you could do all of this in just one year:


How to get 52 days of holidays in 2018

Dates marked yellow are public holidays while any date with a plane on is your holiday time.

QLD-calendar-2018

Take off the following days in italics as annual leave:

January

Monday 1 January (Public holiday: New Years Day)

Total run: 1 days / 0 annual leave days - though you can couple this up with the weekend of 30-31 December for a three-day weekend!


Friday 26 January (Public holiday: Australia Day)

Saturday 27 January

Sunday 28 January

Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days


March

Friday 30 March (Public holiday: Good Friday)

Sunday 31 March

Sunday 1 April

Monday 2 April (Public holiday: Easter Monday)

Tuesday 3 April

Wednesday 4 April

Thursday 5 April

Friday 6 April

Saturday 7 April

Sunday 8 April

Total run: 10 days / 4 annual leave days

whitsundays generic

April-May

Saturday 21 April

Sunday 22 April

Monday 23 April

Tuesday 24 April

Wednesday 25 April (Public holiday: Anzac Day)

Thursday 26 April

Friday 27 April

Saturday 28 April

Sunday 29 April

Monday 30 April

Tuesday 1 May

Wednesday 2 May

Thursday 3 May

Friday 4 May

Saturday 5 May

Sunday 6 May

Monday 7 May (Public holiday - Labour Day)

Total: 17 days / 9 annual leave days


August

Saturday 11 August

Sunday 12 August

Monday 13 August

Tuesday 14 August

Wednesday 15 August - (Public Holiday - Ekka Wednesday - Brisbane only)

Thursday 16 August

Friday 17 August

Saturday 18 August

Sunday 19 August

Total run: 9 days / 4 annual leave days, or 5 if you're outside Brisbane


September and October

Saturday 29 September

Sunday 30 September

Monday 1 October (Public holiday - Queens Birthday)

Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days

travel generic

December

Saturday 22 December

Sunday 23 December

Monday 24 December

Tuesday 25 December (Public holiday - Christmas Day)

Wednesday 26 December (Public holiday - Boxing Day)

Thursday 27 December

Friday 28 December

Saturday 29 December

Sunday 30 December

Total run: 9 days / 3 annual leave days

That's a lot of time off to plan.

Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get those holidays booked


More travel

Sarah Neate

Sarah is our shopping & lifestyle publisher here at finder.com.au. She'll help you find the perfect gift, an unbeatable flight deal, the hottest fashion sales and pretty much anything else you're looking for - all at a discount, naturally.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Latest Travel Offers

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Privacy & Cookies Policy and Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy.

2 Responses

  1. Default Gravatar
    EmilyNovember 29, 2016

    Hi, Will this article be updated for 2017? Thanks!

    • finder Customer Care
      MayNovember 29, 2016Staff

      Hi Emily,

      Thanks for your question.

      Our team is regularly updating our page, so this article will also be updated.

      Thanks and cheers,
      May

Ask a question
Go to site