Where can I travel in Australia? Current border restrictions Australia | Finder

Where can I travel in Australia as restrictions ease?

An up-to-date guide on where you can go and what you can do as travel restrictions due to coronavirus ease.

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Intrastate and interstate restrictions across Australia are constantly being changed.

So, where can you go and what can you do right now? We've laid out each state's current domestic travel restrictions so you get it right.

Which state do you live in?

Which borders are open?

The domestic travel rules and regulations are changing constantly. The latest border statuses are below:

Interactive map courtesy of Tourism Australia.

StateBorder statusWho can enter without restrictions?Do I need a permit?More information
Australian Capital TerritoryOpenAll states and territoriesNo, everyone may enter freely if permittedACT government website
New South WalesOpenAll states and territoriesEveryone may enter freelyNSW government website
Northern TerritoryOpenAll states and territoriesYes, all arrivals must complete a border entry formNorthern Territory government website
QueenslandOpenAll states and territoriesNo. The border declaration pass is no longer required, unless you're travelling from a hotspotQueensland government website
South AustraliaOpenAll states and territoriesAll eligible visitors must fill out a Cross Border Travel RegistrationSouth Australia government website
TasmaniaOpenAll states and territoriesAll eligible visitors must complete a G2G passTasmania Government website
VictoriaOpenAll states and territoriesAll visitors need to apply for a permit Victoria Government website
Western AustraliaOpenAll states and territoriesAll visitors must present a G2G passWestern Australia government website

Frequently asked questions about the domestic travel restrictions in Australia

When will domestic travel resume in Australia?

Domestic travel has very much resumed with most borders having reopened. At the present, NSW is the only state that has its borders completely open to the rest of Australia. However, due to new clusters, borders are being shut down on short notice and lockdowns imposed to contain the virus whenever outbreaks occur.

When will international travel resume?

New Zealand is expected to be the first international destination that Australians will be allowed to travel to. For now, New Zealanders can travel to New South Wales, Queensland, the ACT, the Northern Territory and Victoria without needing to quarantine upon arrival in Australia. This is only a one-way agreement and Australians aren't yet permitted to travel to New Zealand. Because of this, quarantine is required upon return to New Zealand. It's planned that the trans-Tasman travel bubble will open in early 2021.

International travel is still banned for Australians.

Are there any rules or regulations I should expect when travelling?

Travelling in a post-COVID-19 environment is quite different to travelling during normal times. You can expect venues, restaurants and attractions to have COVID-safe measures in place. This may include having to provide your contact details to the venue, mandatory sanitisation, physical distancing measures such as spaced-out tables and contactless payments and the need to pre-book tickets. Yes, even if the entry is free. This is generally to comply with current maximum gathering limits.

For a full list of what you can expect per state, check out the guides above.

Will I be covered by domestic travel insurance during the coronavirus pandemic?

Yes, you can still get domestic travel insurance, but if you need to claim anything that's directly impacted you due to coronavirus (i.e. you got sick while travelling interstate and have needed to self-isolate where you are or your flight has been cancelled due to border closures), you won't be covered. That said, Medicare may cover you for any coronavirus-related medical care.

Can I visit beaches?

Yes. Beaches around Australia are open. However, due to social distancing there may be restrictions regarding what you can and can't do on them. Beaches may also be patrolled and some closed once they reach their maximum capacity limits.

Check with your state or the specific beach for full details.

Can I visit amusement and theme parks?

Yes. Most states, including Queensland, Northern Territory and Western Australia have been given permission to reopen their theme parks. Some of Australia's top theme parks including Dreamworld, Sea World and Movie World on the Gold Coast have all re-opened.

Can I visit my holiday home?

Yes. All states and territories currently allow you to visit your private holiday home or shack.

The exception is if you are living in a hotspot and have been placed under lockdown in which case you are not permitted to travel to your holiday home.

Can I go camping?

Yes. All states and territories now allow camping, with restrictions attached. Generally communal facilities such as kitchens and showers are closed, so if you don't have a self-contained vehicle you may want to consider booking a cabin. Gathering limits apply.

If you live in a hotspot and are in lockdown you are not permitted to go camping as it is a non-essential activity.

Check with your state for a full list of permissions.

Can I stay in hotels?

Yes. All states now allow you to stay in hotels, hostels and other accommodation as long as you're not in quarantine or lockdown. To keep in line with social distancing, any communal facilities such as dining rooms, gyms and swimming pools in hotels and kitchens and bathrooms in hostels, may be restricted or closed.

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site