How to live stream the Golden Globes 2019 in Australia

Jack Baker 7 January 2019 NEWS

Join hosts Sandra Oh and Andy Samberg for the 76th Golden Globe awards from the comfort of your couch.

Love 'em or hate 'em, this year's Golden Globe Awards provide a good refresher on the top-shelf TV shows and movies released last year you may have otherwise missed. Rubbing shoulders with bigger commercial successes like A Star is Born and Black Panther, you'll find Spike Lee's outstanding BlacKkKlansman, the hilarious and tragic The Favourite from Yorgos Lanthimos and the breakout hit Crazy Rich Asians from Jon M. Chu.

While the celebs knock back champagne at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in LA, eager Australians will be live streaming in a discrete browser window at their desks or from the comfort of their couch.

Here are your options for streaming the event in Australia.

What time do the Golden Globes begin streaming in Australia and New Zealand?

Australians can tune in on Monday, 7 January 2019 at 12pm AEDT. That's an 8pm Eastern Time start in the US.

Here's what time you need to be at the ready depending on where in Australia you are.

  • Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra and Hobart: 12pm AEDT
  • Perth: 9am AWST
  • Darwin: 10:30am ACST
  • Brisbane: 11am AEST
  • Adelaide: 11:30am ACDT
  • New Zealand: 2pm NZDT

Where to live stream the 2019 Golden Globe awards in Australia

If you're a Foxtel or Foxtel Now subscriber, your safest bet is to catch the event on FOX8. FOX8 is the only official option for streaming the event live in Australia.

If you're already a subscriber, FOX8 comes included in the Entertainment channel pack (which is included with every subscription).

If you're not a Foxtel subscriber and need access as soon as possible, your best bet would be Foxtel Now's 10-day free trial. This will allow you to live stream the event on a huge variety of devices (including laptop and mobile) and you're not obligated to continue your subscription when the 10-day trial is up (just remember to cancel before the 10-day mark to avoid paying any unwanted fees).

If you can't watch it live, you can catch up later tonight when the show repeats at 7:30 pm AEDT on FOX8.

Store Discount
10 All Access 10 All Access
Try 10 All Access FREE for 30 days

Option 2: Unofficial YouTube live streams

There are a huge variety of anonymous punters on social media platforms, forums and YouTube who will be offering live streams of the event absolutely free. However, we'd caution against clicking on unfamiliar links found in forums like Reddit or your social media platform of choice. If you're going down this route, we'd recommend doing a quick search on YouTube for an available live stream of the 2019 Golden Globes.

We found a few working streams at the time of writing but there's a high chance they will be pulled down as the night continues. Still, YouTube is a much safer bet than most dodgy live stream links.

Option 3: Use a VPN to access NBC in the US

If you're already using a VPN to use Hulu, YouTube TV or DirectTV, each of those services will be live streaming the event via the NBC channel. If you're not already using a VPN, we'd advise against it. VPNs can be a hassle to set up and you're almost certainly breaching the network's terms of service (which can result in an account suspension if you have paid for any of the above services).

If you'd like to know more about browsing with a VPN, check out our comprehensive guide.

Looking to stream the nominated TV shows and movies? We've put together a comprehensive list of where you can stream every available nominee in Australia.

Latest streaming headlines

Stream the best

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Ask a question
Go to site