facebook

Facebook Accounts After Death

What happens to someone's Facebook account when they pass away?

After someone passes away, their Facebook account can be memorialised, and turned into an online spot for family and friends to gather in remembrance.

A memorialised Facebook page isn’t like a normal one. No one can log into it or directly edit content on it, but a specified legacy contact can change the profile picture and cover photo, write a post for the page which will stay in a prominent position, and respond to new friend requests.

Key features of a memorialised Facebook account

When memorialised, a Facebook page has the following features:

  • A different name. Shows the word “Remembering” prominently in front of the person’s name
  • Memory sharing. Allows friends to share memories on the account timeline, depending on the privacy settings
  • Old content visible. Keeps previously posted content visible
  • Hidden from birthdays. Does not show up in public spaces like birthday reminders
  • Disabled logins. Cannot be logged into by anyone

Also, any groups being managed by the owner of a memorialised account will be able to choose a new person to manage it.

What does a memorialised Facebook page look like?

A memorialised Facebook page looks a lot like a regular one. The key differences are that it says “Remembering” in front of a person’s name and will always have a legacy contact’s message at the top, if applicable.

Can I let someone control my account if I pass away?

Yes you can. This is done with Legacy Settings, which is found under Security. People can choose whether their account is:

  • Deleted after they pass away,
  • Or they can choose 'legacy contact' to manage a memorial page.

How do I choose a legacy contact?

To choose a legacy contacts go to:

  1. Settings
  2. Click on the security tab on the left
  3. Edit legacy contact settings

faecbook-legacy (1)

Who can become a legacy contact?

Your legacy contact can be chosen by yourself. However, you have to be age 18 or over to choose a legacy contact. If there is no specified legacy contact, the page can still be memorialised. You cannot request to become a legacy contact, even as a family member.

What if there is no legacy contact?

When Facebook becomes aware of account-holders passing away its policy is to memorialise their pages by default. This keeps the deceased’s page secure, while preventing it from automatically appearing on timelines as birthday reminders or other public spaces.

How to memorialise a Facebook page

Verified family members can contact Facebook to request that a page be:

  1. Memorialised,
  2. Or deleted

What types of information needs to be provided?

  • Who has passed away. This is their name on Facebook.
  • When they passed away. This can be approximated if you don't have the exact date
  • A proof of death. This can be helpful for the team who reviews the death.
  • Your name
  • Name of the deceased persons account
  • The timeline address
  • An email of the deceased
  • When they passed away

Contact Facebook to memorialise an account | Contact Facebook to delete an account

How to manage and edit a Facebook memorial page

A specified legacy contact will only exist if chosen by the account holder through the settings menu. If there is no legacy contact then the page cannot be edited, although people can still post on it to share memories and gather online in memory.

A legacy contact can:

  • Change the page’s profile picture and cover photo
  • Accept new friend requests
  • Write a post which will always appear at the top of the page

They cannot actually log in to the account, remove friends, read messages or remove previous photos.

If a family member prefers not to use a Facebook memorial page, such as if there was no legacy contact and they feel like the current photo isn’t right, then one alternative to consider is requesting that the account be deleted, and instead creating a new Facebook memorial group.

This gives you a lot more control over the photos and content which will appear, who can post there and everything else.

What is a Facebook memorial group?

You can create a memorial group on Facebook to tribute someone. You can choose who to invite to it, which pictures to upload and whether it’s public (visible to everyone, and with everyone being able to post there) or private (for invited members only).

This can also be a good way to contact a person’s friends to let them know about funeral arrangements and more.

One good arrangement might be to create a private group and only invite family and friends of the person, and then adjust the group settings to let people invite others as desired. This can help spread the word and make sure everyone can get involved, while still ensuring a degree of privacy to prevent strangers from writing inappropriate things, or posting pictures you don’t want there.

Things to consider

It might be worth considering whether the person would want a page memorialised. A more private person might instead prefer to delete their account, rather than have all their photos and content live on forever.

Memorial pages can only be posted on by Facebook-friends of the account holder, so without a legacy contact people who weren’t already Facebook friends might not be able to get involved or share their memories on the page.

Here, creating a memorial group might be a better option.

Frequently asked questions

Andrew Munro

Andrew writes for finder.com.au, comparing products, writing guides, sniffing out deals and looking for new ways to help people get the most out of their money.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, read the PDS or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.
Ask a question