Where to watch the WSL online live and free in Australia

With over 50 athletes competing across 11 events in seven different countries, the 2020 World Surf League is going to be epic. Here's how you never miss a wave.

Last updated:

Watch WSL 2020 M

Who will win the 2020 World Surf League Championship Tour? And where can you watch every surfing event live online? These are the two big questions faced by all of us who love the sun and the waves.

The Men's WSL championship sees four former world champions (John John Florence, Adriano De Souza, Gabriel Medina and reigning titleholder Italo Ferreira) in the hunt. Well, there may even be five. There is still the will he, won't he retire flip-flopping from Kelly Slater to deal with. Is the veteran going to go through with his retirement, or will he go around one more time?

Either way, all these men will need to face off against a field that includes a number of perpetual bridesmaids. The likes of Julian Wilson, Jordy Smith, Owen Wright and Felipe Toledo are eager to feel what it's like to be on top. They've all shown they are just one timely win away from the coveted WSL championship trophy.

But more importantly, will we see the title decided in the last round of the last event like we did in 2019? We can't wait to find out.

Over on the Women's WSL championship tour, there is also plenty of intrigue. Reigning four-time world champion Carissa Moore has shocked the league by pulling out of the 2020 tour to take a break, leaving the door wide open for a new champion. And after missing most of 2019 with injury, Tyler Wright returned for the final Maui Pro event and came second, proving the dual world-title holder remains a genuine threat.

Then there is living legend Stephanie Gilmore, gunning to eclipse Layne Beachley's record of seven world championships. She'll need to fend off the likes of Lakey Peterson, Tatiana Weston-Webb, Sally Fitzgibbons, Caroline Marks and Johanne Defay if she is going to achieve that goal. It's going to be some year.

You can browse the complete WSL schedule of events here.

How to stream the WSL online for free

If you want to watch the World Surfing League for free, it is possible. In 2018, the WSL partnered with Facebook, with the latter now broadcasting each event on the World Tour, as well as some CT events and the Big Wave Tour, through the social network. That same stream is also available - and in much better quality - through the official World Surf League website and in the official WSL app.

Unfortunately, Foxtel and Kayo Sports have lost the rights to broadcast the WSL in 2020, a devasting blow for Australian surfing fans. Hopefully, it is just a one-year hiatus!

Has the WSL Big Wave World Tour been canceled?

After a decade of struggle, the WSL has pulled the plug on the Big Wave World Tour and the Big Wave World Championship. It is no more, at least in its preexisting format. There will be a standalone paddle-only event at Jaws, and a standalone tow-only event at Nazare. The Big Wave Awards will still happen, too. Plus there will be a new competition called Strike Missions that will allow for big wave surfers to go head to head at places like Cape Fear, Shipsterns and Teahupo'o.

So we'll still get to watch some Big Wave events through the WSL website and app. However, the Big Wave Tour as such won't happen and no Big Wave World Champion will be crowned.

List of 2020 Men's WSL tour surfers

Seeding Surfer Nationality Rookie Tour
1 Italo Ferreira Brazil No
2 Gabriel Medina Brazil No
3 Jordy Smith South Africa No
4 Filipe Toledo Brazil No
5 Kolohe Andino United States No
6 Kanoa Igarashi Japan No
7 John John Florence Hawaii No
8 Kelly Slater United States No
9 Owen Wright Australia No
10 Jeremy Flores France No
11 Julian Wilson Australia No
12 Seth Moniz Hawaii No
13 Michel Bourez France No
14 Ryan Callinan Australia No
15 Jack Freestone Australia No
16 Griffin Colapinto United States No
17 Caio Ibelli Brazil No
18 Wade Carmichael Australia No
19 Adrian Buchan Australia No
20 Conner Coffin United States No
21 Peterson Crisanto Brazil No
22 Yago Dora Brazil No
23 Frederico Morais Portugal No
24 Jadson Andre Brazil No
25 Matthew McGillivray South Africa Yes
26 Jack Robinson South Africa Yes
27 Alex Ribeiro Brazil No
28 Miguel Pupo Brazil No
29 Ethan Ewing Australia No
30 Connor O'Leary Australia No
31 Deivid Silva Brazil No
32 Morgan Cibilic Australia Yes
33 Adriano de Souza Brazil No
34 Leonardo Fioravanti / Mikey Wright Italy / Australia No

List 2019 Women's World Surf League surfers

Seeding Surfer Nationality
1 Caroline Marks USA
2 Lakey Peterson USA
3 Stephanie Gilmore Australia
4 Sally Fitzgibbons Australia
5 Tatiana Weston-Webb Brazil
6 Courtney Conlogue USA
7 Johanne Defay France
8 Malia Manuel Hawaii
9 Nikki Van Dijk Australia
10 Isabella Nichols Australia
11 Bronte Macaulay Australia
12 Sage Erickson USA
13 Brisa Hennessy Costa Rica
14 Macy Callaghan Australia
15 Keely Andrew Australia
16 Amuro Tsuzuki Japan
17 Tyler Wright Australia

Latest streaming headlines

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Ask a question
Go to site