Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score

Free

Tigerair review: Melbourne to Sydney

Sometimes you get what you pay for, and with my latest Tigerair experience I got just that – delays, chaos and an overall unpleasant experience.

Updated

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder .

Using a friend visiting from overseas as the perfect excuse to spend the weekend in Melbourne, I booked the cheapest possible flight for the roughly 90-minute journey departing after work on a Friday and returning as late as possible on Sunday.

While my Friday night flight went without a hitch, the same can’t be said for my return trip. Not made too clear to the passengers what was going on, it seemed that the flight was overbooked and the airline was looking for volunteers to stay a night at an airport hotel and take the first flight out in the morning instead… all for a measly $80 compensation.

Unsurprisingly, few wanted to stay and chaos ensued as it was then mentioned that the plane needed to be lighter to cut flying time as it was getting late and Sydney Airport closes early. The airline began to choose at random who would stay behind. Arguments caused delays meaning we had minimal boarding time to make sure we departed before it was too late to take off in time to make it back to Sydney before the airport curfew.

In the end, we did take off, just a few minutes before 10pm, almost an hour after our scheduled departure time. We landed in Sydney just minutes before the 11pm curfew.

Tigerair details

  • Route: Sydney to Melbourne (Tullamarine), return
  • Duration: 1h 35m outbound, 1h 25m inbound
  • Flight number(s): TT271 and TT282
  • Aircraft type: Airbus A320
  • Dates travelled: 7 December 2019; 9 December 2019
  • Class: Economy
  • Frequent flyer program: None

Alex’s review: ★★☆☆☆

  • Price during peak flying times
  • Convenient departure times
  • Lack of information during delay
  • Poor compensation offered
  • Communication by staff

What did I like?

  • Price: I booked the fare last-minute and chose peak-time departures (Friday evening after work and late Sunday evening) and Tigerair’s fare was the cheapest at about $250 return. By no means a good deal for this route, it was the cheapest fare available compared to the competition by quite a bit.
  • Departure times: As a 9-5er working in Sydney CBD and near a train station, having a 6:40pm departure worked out swimmingly, leaving the perfect amount of time to get from the city to the airport.

What didn’t I like?

  • Lack of information: On the return flight, the airline didn’t clearly inform us about the delays, which caused many passengers to become irate. The flight was departing from a far gate that wasn’t near any facilities and it wasn’t clear whether we even had time to use the toilets during this delay.
  • Compensation for delay: Compared to what I’ve heard other airlines offer as compensation when a flight is overbooked or a passenger needs to voluntarily wait for a later flight, I don’t think $80 is a fair offering. With the compensation on offer so low, I wasn’t surprised there weren’t enough people taking the bait, which, unfortunately, caused even further delays.
  • Airline staff: During the delay, the airline staff were talking to the passengers as if the delay was their fault. When we were (eventually) boarding, we were told quite sternly to board as fast as possible so we could get to Sydney before curfew. I felt more like a child in trouble at school than someone paying to be on a flight.

Would I use Tigerair again?

Although this really wasn’t a great experience, I would use Tigerair again. I’ve flown with the budget carrier many times before and have had an experience I’d expect with a budget carrier – no frills for a low price. I’m hoping this was just a one-off experience and that my next flight with the airline will be a much more positive journey.

Tigerair flight deals and sales:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Groupon Groupon

Up to 75% off Australia activities + Extra up to 30% off with code

Available on select dates and activities like spas, skydiving, hot air balloon flights, tours, whale watching, skywalks, classes, high tea experiences and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth and more. Maximum discount of $40. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra 10% off Australia activities with code

Valid on all dates on activities like skydiving, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, cruises, tours, high tea and more. Minimum spend of $100 applies. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra $10 off site-wide with code

Valid on all dates, including over Christmas, on activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, scuba diving, cruises, hight tea and more. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Adrenaline Adrenaline

Up to 63% off domestic activities

Available on select dates and activities like skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, off road v8 race buggies, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing, high tea and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra, Melbourne and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Refer a friend and get a $25 Airbnb credit

Give a friend $50 toward their first stay and get $25 credit for yourself toward a future booking.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Up to 60% off Australia-wide stays + an extra 8% off with code

Available on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Newcastle and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Oaks Hotels & Resorts Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Up to 30% off Australia stays

Available on select stays until 30 June 2021. Destinations include Darwin, Sydney, Brisbane, Gladstone, Townsville, Adelaide, Glenelg and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Domestic flights from $123 each way

Available on select dates until December 2020 to Canberra, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Cairns and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Brisbane with Qantas Airways. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

P&O Cruises P&O Cruises

Free room upgrade on sailings

Available on select cruises from December 2020 - September 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Auckland, Norfolk Island and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Free ride for Sydneysiders

Available on weekends from 17 October - 1 November 2020. Discount capped at $15. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 56% off Australia getaways

Available on stays until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Brisbane, Townsville, Adelaide, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Trip.com Trip.com

Up to 46% off Australia-wide hotels

Available on select dates until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth and Hobart. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Australia-wide flights from $52 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Cairns, Perth, Broome, Melbourne and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Up to 38% off Australia attractions and experiences

Available on select travel dates in Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns, Darwin, Canberra, Melbourne and more. Attractions include SEA LIFE Aquarium Sydney, Sydney Featherdale Wildlife Park, Madame Tussauds, Eureka Skydeck. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trafalgar Tours Trafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off last-minute trips

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Europe, UK, the Middle East, Argentina, India, Asia, New Zealand, Australia and Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Virgin Australia sale: Domestic flights from $89 each way

Available on flights from November 2020 - September 2021 to Gold Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Perth, Hobart, Newcastle, Darwin, Broome and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Extra $50 off Sydney and NSW stays

Get up to 18% off plus an extra discount on stays until 18 February 2021. Destinations include Hunter Valley, Newcastle, Byron Bay, Blue Mountains, Wollongong, Orange, Mudgee, Port Stephens and more. Minimum spend of $150 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Northern Territory activities from $36 + Extra $10 off off with code

Available on select dates and experiences like sightseeing tours, zoo and wildlife experience, spas, sailings, hot air balloon flights, scenic flights and much more. Minimum spend of $80 applies. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar
Exclusive

$20 off nationwide rentals

Available on rentals until 31 January 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $200 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 40% off pet friendly hotels

Available on stays until October 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra and Brisbane. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 30% off last minute Australia stays

Available stays until October 2020 in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Canberra, Adelaide, Brisbane, Newcastle, Rockhampton and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off Australia and New Zealand rentals

Available on select dates until 15 December 2020. Rental must be for 2 days or more and booked 21 days in advance. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Wotif Wotif

Up to 66% off Australia stays

Available on stays until May 2021 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates for select car hire in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Gold Coast stays from $49/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Surfers Paradise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Extra 8% off on hotel bookings

Save on hotel stays before 31 December 2020 in Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Fiji, Thailand, Singapore, USA and more. Available at select hotels.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Airbnb Airbnb

Melbourne stays from $50/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Melbourne Central Business District. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off base rate

Available on rentals until 15 December 2020 in Australia and New Zealand. Pick up on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday required to avail offer. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Deal ends

Otel.com Otel.com

Extra 9% off hotel bookings

Valid on select hotel stays worldwide like Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe and more on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Some restrictions apply.

Last verified

Rentalcars.com Rentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

Groupon Groupon

Up to 73% off getaways + an extra up to 30% off with code

Available for travel on select dates to Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Launceston, Newcastle, Noosa Heads, Cairns and much more. Maximum discount of $40. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Voyagin Voyagin

Up to 50% off things to do in Bali

Available on select dates. Attractions include zoo admissions, tours, water activities, treks, dinner cruise and more.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Up to 60% off Sydney stays + an extra 8% off with code

Available on select hotels and stay dates until November 2021. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 32% off domestic getaway packages + an extra 10% off with code

Available on select travel dates for stays in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Blue Mountains, Cairns, Canberra and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 50% off worldwide trips

Available on select trips in 2021 to Italy, Turkey, Istanbul, Egypt, Greece, Morocco, Ireland, USA, Australia and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Australia flights from $87 return

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Gold Coast, Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Launceston and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Sydney flights from $47 each way

Available on select dates until January 2021. Sample fare departs from Avalon with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Brisbane flights from $74 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Airbnb Airbnb

Sydney stays from just $35 per night

Valid for travel on select dates from July 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Redfern. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Popular Travel coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
21 Oct 2020 Up to 75% off Australia activities + Extra up to 30% off with code REM****
20 Oct 2020 Extra 10% off Australia activities with code RBF****
20 Oct 2020 Extra $10 off site-wide with code FDR****
9 Oct 2020 Extra $50 off Sydney and NSW stays NSW****
8 Oct 2020 Northern Territory activities from $36 + Extra $10 off off with code FDR****

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
16 Oct 2020 Up to 12% off international flights PAY****
9 Oct 2020 Up to 10% off flights + extra bags STU****
7 Oct 2020 Thanksgiving sale: Up to $25 off flight fees TG2****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $10 off international flights FLY****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $100 off business class flights OCT****

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site