⚡️⚡️⚡️
With energy prices rising, switch to a cheaper plan
💡
Compare Prices Now
⚡️⚡️⚡️

Tigerair review: Sydney to Melbourne

Get a flying start to the new year.

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

With no plans for the new year, I tagged on a friend’s holiday (sorry!) and set off for Melbourne for a chill and quiet one.

Even though it was at the last second, there were still numerous flights available for my dates, and being a budget traveller, I chose Tigerair as it offered the most affordable trip: $200 return flying out at 6am on a Monday morning and back by 11pm on the Wednesday.

Here's how it all went down.

Tigerair details

  • Route: Sydney to Melbourne, return
  • Duration: 1 hour, 30 minutes
  • Flight Number(s): TT207 and TT282
  • Aircraft Type: Boeing 320
  • Dates Travelled: 31 December 2018 and 2 January 2019
  • Class: Economy
  • Frequent Flyer Program: None
  • Points earned: None

Stephanie's review: ★★★★☆

  • Cost: Flights were well priced for peak season dates.
  • Timeliness: Flights departed relatively on time, and if they didn't, an explanation was given.
  • Baggage: Tigerair is more lenient around bag checking than it lets on. Staff didn't weigh bags on my departing flight (it was only a third full). However, they did on the way back where the plane was full.
  • Check-in: The website was refusing to let me change my seat, so I eventually gave in and accepted by fate in the back row. Not the best option, to be honest.

What did I like?

  • Cost: I wasn't sure what to expect regarding flight prices given that I was booking flights two weeks before New Year's, but Tigerair took me for a 3-day trip to Melbourne for $200 return. While that's around double the typical Sydney-Melbourne fare, I feel it's fairly reasonable for the season.
  • Empty flight on the way out: My departure flight was about a third full. I still didn't get three seats to myself, but my fellow row-traveller and I had an empty seat between us, which was pleasant.
  • There was an explanation for our delay: The pilot remarked during our flight that we were going to arrive 30 minutes behind schedule due to turbulence. I don't know if this was a valid excuse, but I do know that we left on time (in fact, we were sitting on the tarmac for a while because we'd boarded so quickly) and there definitely was turbulence in the air.
  • They are sometimes lenient with weighing carry-on bags. As with every Australian airline now, Tigerair weighs carry-on luggage to make sure you comply with their weight allowances. They didn't do this on departure, but I think that's because we were only one-third full so there was no need to be sticklers about it. However, my flight on the way back was full so there was a staff member at the line to board checking those bags. This was done very efficiently, and as far as I saw, only one person got pulled aside so clearly people have gotten the message about the new rules.

What didn’t I like?

  • Legroom: These weren't the roomiest seats I've sat on, but it is a budget airline so it's not a big complaint.
  • Check-in: This was fine on the way in, but might have been because I didn't want to change my seat. On the way back, Tigerair shafted me all the way at the very back in seat 30A beside two other passengers. When I tried to change it during check-in, it kept giving me an error. I finally gave up and accepted my seat begrudgingly.

Would I use Tigerair again?

I have no great qualms with Tigerair. They're budget and they act budget with slimline seats, a strict carry-on baggage policy and charges for any on-board entertainment or food, neither of which I purchased. Would I fly with Tigerair again? At this price and service, sure.


Tigerair flight deals and sales:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Code

Up to 25% off Australia experiences + an extra 10% off with code

Verified Today
Available on activities including skydives, whale watching cruises, day tours, getaways and more. Must purchase 2 or more vouchers. Destinations include Gold Coast, Cairns, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 54% off Australia getaways

Verified Yesterday Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available on stays until August 2022. Destinations include Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne, Cairns, Adelaide, Townsville, Tasmania, Sydney, Broome and more.
Deal

Up to 25% off Australia getaways

Expires 30 Sep 2022
Available on stays until 30 September 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Cairns, Perth, Newcastle and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Flights within Australia from $33 each way

Expires 15 Jul 2022
Available on flights until December 2022 to destinations including Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Newcastle and more. Sample fare is Ballina-Sydney with Jetstar.
Deal

Domestic flights from $69 each way

Expires 16 Aug 2022
Available for travel from July 2022 – May 2023 to Gold Coast, Adelaide, Coffs Harbour, Alice Springs, Townsville and more. Sample fare is Ballina-Sydney. T&Cs apply.
Deal

$1 per day on relocation rentals

Available on Australia campervan and motorhome rentals on select dates in 2022. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get up to $20 in ride vouchers

Expires 31 Dec 2022
Get $5 off 4 rides in 7 days across Australia, including Sydney, Newcastle, Adelaide, Cairns, Gold Coast, Perth, Melbourne and more when you use the code. Valid for new users only. T&Cs apply.
Code

Get $40 off midweek tandem skydives

Expires 28 Oct 2022
Available on jumps until 28 October 2022 on select locations including Byron Bay, Newcastle, Cairns, Melbourne, Hunter Valley and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 15% off getaways

Expires 30 Sep 2022
Available on stays from 4 April – 30 September 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Canberra, Adelaide and more.
Deal

Up to 25% off Australia holiday packages

Available on select dates until December 2022 when you book your hotel and flights together. Destinations include Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, Gold Coast and more.
Deal

Up to 25% off getaways

Available on select dates when you book your hotel and flight together. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Uluru, Brisbane, Canberra and more.
Deal

Campervan hire from $5 per day

Available on select routes, dates and locations in Australia, including Darwin, Alice Springs, Cairns and Brisbane and New Zealand.
Deal

Up to 60% off Gold Coast getaway for 2 with flights

Verified Today Expires 21 Jul 2022
Available until 20 June 2023. Includes return airfare, 6-night stay at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, breakfast, room upgrade and more.
Code

Get 12% off domestic activities with code

Verified Today Expires 1 Aug 2022
Available on bookings for attractions, sightseeing tours, airport transfers and car rentals. Payment must be through Mastercard. Discount capped at $80. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix tickets from $43

Verified Yesterday Expires 20 Jul 2022
Available on 14–16 October 2022 at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Phillip Island. Sample price is for Friday Island Pass.
Deal

THE LUME Melbourne tickets from $39

Verified Yesterday Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available until 31 August 2022 at Melbourne Exhibition Centre.
Deal

Up to $2,500 bonus value on 14-day Japan trip with flights

Verified Yesterday Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available for travel on select dates on 15 November 2022 – 9 May 2023. Package includes return airfare, accommodation, breakfast and more.
Deal

Up to 23% off Thailand and Malaysia trip with flights

Verified Yesterday Expires 15 Jul 2022
Available on select dates from 20 July 2022 – 31 March 2023. Package includes return airfare departing from from Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane or Perth and accommodation.
Deal

Flights to Singapore from $135 each way

Verified Yesterday Expires 15 Jul 2022
Available for travel until December 2022. Sample fare departs from Darwin with Jetstar.
Code

Get the 3rd day free on rentals

Verified Yesterday Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available on 3-day rentals collected from midday Thursday until 10 September 2022. Destinations include Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Cairns and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 55% off Sydney experiences

Verified Yesterday
Available on select travel dates in 2022. Includes sightseeing cruises, tours, attraction passes and more.
Deal

United Kingdom flights from $1,251 return

Expires 15 Jul 2022
Available on select dates from October – November 2022 to destinations including Birmingham, Manchester, Glasgow, Edinburgh and more. Sample fare is Perth-London with Malaysia Airlines.
Code exclusive

Get 10% off on Tick travel insurance policies

Only on Finder. Use this code to get a 10% discount. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Free single upgrade on car hires

Expires 30 Jul 2022
Available on rentals until 31 July 2022 on select areas across USA and Canada. Vehicle must be returned by 31 July 2022. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 10% off Asia hotels

Expires 30 Sep 2022
Available on stays until 30 September 2022. Destinations include Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines, Indonesia, India and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 46% off Sydney Tower Eye SKYWALK tour

Expires 13 Jul 2022
Available from 30 June – 31 December 2022 for a 60-minute tour for 2 persons.
Code

Up to 10% off long-term car hires

Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available until 31 May 2023 when you book a minimum of 21 days' rental. Destinations include Sunshine Coast, Cairns, Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney, Gold Coast and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Get 10% off Oceania hotels stays

Expires 30 Sep 2022
Available on stays until 30 September 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Auckland, Christchurch, Fiji and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 20% off Europe tours

Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available on select travel dates in 2022 to destinations including England, Italy, Spain, Rome and more.
Deal

Up to 15% off Australia adventures

Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available on select travel dates until 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Perth, Rottnest Island, Cairns, Darwin, Sydney, Byron Bay, Uluru, Canberra, Jindabyne, Great Ocean Road and more.
Deal

Up to 30% off Australia tours

Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available on select dates from 2022 – 2023. Destinations include Whitsunday, Uluru, Blue Mountains, Eyre Peninsula, Cairns and more.
Deal

Up to 49% off Europe adventures

Expires 31 Jul 2022
Available on tours in 2022 – 2023 to Bansko, Greece, Belgrade, Portugal, Turkey, Amsterdam and more.
Code

Up to 10% off Australia Zoo entry with transfers from Brisbane

Expires 15 Jul 2022
Available until 15 December 2023 when you purchase 2 or more vouchers using the code. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 15% off car-hire rentals in Australia

Expires 13 Jul 2022
Available on rentals made by Auto Club Members in Australia. Visit site for more details. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 10% off first car rental

Sign up to SIXT's newsletter to get up to 10% off your first car rental on select locations. Visit site for more details. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 45% off ski and snowboard hire in Jindabyne

Expires 18 Jul 2022
Get $100 credit to spend on ski and snowboard hire at Monster Depot Ski Hire for only $55. Available until 3 October 2022.
Deal

1 night free on 3-night stays

Expires 31 Dec 2022
Get the 3rd night free stays until 31 December 2022 across Australia and New Zealand. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 20% off advance bookings

Expires 31 Dec 2022
Available on stays until 31 December 2022 on destinations including Darwin, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Wellington and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Get the 3rd night free on getaways

Expires 31 Dec 2022
Available on stays from 1 July – 31 December 2022. Destinations include Hobart, Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Canberra and more. Minimum of 3 nights stays. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 20% off 3+ night stays

Expires 31 Dec 2022
Available on stays until 31 December 2022 on select properties including in Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and more. T&Cs apply.

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
6 Jul 2022 Up to USD$75 off on US business class flights service fees JUL****
6 Jul 2022 Save USD$15 on your flight fees JUL****
2 May 2022 Up to 12% off flights with code PAY****
28 Mar 2022 Up to 10% off flights with code STU****
3 Mar 2022 Up to 10% off your next flight with code MAS****

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site