Tigerair review: Sydney to Melbourne

Get a flying start to the new year.

Updated

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

With no plans for the new year, I tagged on a friend’s holiday (sorry!) and set off for Melbourne for a chill and quiet one.

Even though it was at the last second, there were still numerous flights available for my dates, and being a budget traveller, I chose Tigerair as it offered the most affordable trip: $200 return flying out at 6am on a Monday morning and back by 11pm on the Wednesday.

Here's how it all went down.

Tigerair details

  • Route: Sydney to Melbourne, return
  • Duration: 1 hour, 30 minutes
  • Flight Number(s): TT207 and TT282
  • Aircraft Type: Boeing 320
  • Dates Travelled: 31 December 2018 and 2 January 2019
  • Class: Economy
  • Frequent Flyer Program: None
  • Points earned: None

Stephanie's review: ★★★★☆

  • Cost: Flights were well priced for peak season dates.
  • Timeliness: Flights departed relatively on time, and if they didn't, an explanation was given.
  • Baggage: Tigerair is more lenient around bag checking than it lets on. Staff didn't weigh bags on my departing flight (it was only a third full). However, they did on the way back where the plane was full.
  • Check-in: The website was refusing to let me change my seat, so I eventually gave in and accepted by fate in the back row. Not the best option, to be honest.

What did I like?

  • Cost: I wasn't sure what to expect regarding flight prices given that I was booking flights two weeks before New Year's, but Tigerair took me for a 3-day trip to Melbourne for $200 return. While that's around double the typical Sydney-Melbourne fare, I feel it's fairly reasonable for the season.
  • Empty flight on the way out: My departure flight was about a third full. I still didn't get three seats to myself, but my fellow row-traveller and I had an empty seat between us, which was pleasant.
  • There was an explanation for our delay: The pilot remarked during our flight that we were going to arrive 30 minutes behind schedule due to turbulence. I don't know if this was a valid excuse, but I do know that we left on time (in fact, we were sitting on the tarmac for a while because we'd boarded so quickly) and there definitely was turbulence in the air.
  • They are sometimes lenient with weighing carry-on bags. As with every Australian airline now, Tigerair weighs carry-on luggage to make sure you comply with their weight allowances. They didn't do this on departure, but I think that's because we were only one-third full so there was no need to be sticklers about it. However, my flight on the way back was full so there was a staff member at the line to board checking those bags. This was done very efficiently, and as far as I saw, only one person got pulled aside so clearly people have gotten the message about the new rules.

What didn’t I like?

  • Legroom: These weren't the roomiest seats I've sat on, but it is a budget airline so it's not a big complaint.
  • Check-in: This was fine on the way in, but might have been because I didn't want to change my seat. On the way back, Tigerair shafted me all the way at the very back in seat 30A beside two other passengers. When I tried to change it during check-in, it kept giving me an error. I finally gave up and accepted my seat begrudgingly.

Would I use Tigerair again?

I have no great qualms with Tigerair. They're budget and they act budget with slimline seats, a strict carry-on baggage policy and charges for any on-board entertainment or food, neither of which I purchased. Would I fly with Tigerair again? At this price and service, sure.


Tigerair flight deals and sales:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Hotels.comHotels.com

Up to 43% off Australia stays + Extra 8% off hotel bookings

Available on select dates until December 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Newcastle, Melbourne, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Virgin AustraliaVirgin Australia

Domestic flights from $89 each way

Available on flights from January - September 2021 to Gold Coast, Brisbane, Cairns, Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Hobart, Townsville, Darwin and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

P&O CruisesP&O Cruises

$1 deposits + up to $500 onboard credit on Australia and South Pacific cruises

Plus get up to $500 OBC on select voyages in 2021 and 2022. Destinations include Brisbane, Sydney, New Zealand, Vanuatu, Fiji and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

WotifWotif

Up to 60% off Australia stays

Available on stays until July 2021 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Booking.comBooking.com

Up to 20% off Australia getaways

Available on stays from 5 January - 31 March 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Darwin, Adelaide and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

DriveNowDriveNow

Campervan hire from $5/day

Available on select routes, dates and locations in Australia, including Darwin, Alice Springs, Cairns and Brisbane, and New Zealand.

Last verified

HotelsCombinedHotelsCombined

Up to 33% off Sea World Resort and Water Park stays with park entry

Available for stays until 30 April 2021 with packages available to include entry to Warner Bros. Movie World, Sea World, Wet'n'Wild Gold Coast and Paradise Country during your stay.

Last verified

DiDiDiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Accor HotelsAccor Hotels

Up to 30% off worldwide stays

Available on select dates when you stay a minimum of 3 nights. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Cairns, Auckland, Paris, London and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Qatar AirwaysQatar Airways

Up to 10% off international flights with code

Available for Mastercard holders on flights from 1 November 2020 - 30 June 2021. Valid on flights departing from Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, and Canberra. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Accor HotelsAccor Hotels

Australia stays from $95/night + Extra 10% off for members

Available on stays up until 13 months from the booking date. Destinations include Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, Hobart, Adelaide, Perth, Uluru and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

AirbnbAirbnb

Refer a friend and get a $25 Airbnb credit

Give a friend $50 toward their first stay and get $25 credit for yourself toward a future booking.

Last verified

Trafalgar ToursTrafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off last-minute trips

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Europe, UK, the Middle East, Argentina, India, Asia, New Zealand, Australia and Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Otel.comOtel.com

Extra 9% off hotel bookings

Valid on select hotel stays worldwide like Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe and more on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Some restrictions apply.

Last verified

Rentalcars.comRentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

Luxury EscapesLuxury Escapes

Up to 40% off 5-night Gold Coast ocean-view escape with flights

Available for travel from 27 January 2021 - 30 March 2022. Includes return airfare, stay at Aria Apartments, free room upgrade, bottle of wine and chocolates, $20 dining credit and more. Valid for 2 persons. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Hamilton IslandHamilton Island

Free 1 night on 5-night stays

Available on stays until 25 June 2021 and includes breakfast, transfers and more. Plus receive $150 resort credit on select stay dates. Must stay for a minimum of 5 consecutive nights. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Hamilton IslandHamilton Island

Up to 20% off 3+ nights Hamilton Island escape

Available on stays from 4 January - 10 February 2021 in he Reef View Hotel, Palm Bungalows and Beach Club. Includes breakfast, use of non-motorized watersports, free Wi-Fi and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

ViatorViator

Up to 15% off local activities

Available on select travel dates on activities including day tours, skydiving, flight experiences, transfers, attraction passes and cruise. Destinations include in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Cairns and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Expedia.com.auExpedia.com.au

Up to 46% off Australia getaways

Available on select stay dates in Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Cairns and Hobart. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Expedia.com.auExpedia.com.au

Up to 40% off Australia stays + free cancellations

Available on select travel dates to Broome, Mackay, Launceston, Darwin, Perth, Cairns, Sydney, Gold Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

EuropcarEuropcar
Exclusive

$20 off Australia-wide rentals

Available on rentals until 30 April 2021 when you spend a minimum of $200. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Trip.comTrip.com

Up to 50% off Australia getaways

Available on stays until 30 April 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.comTrip.com

Virgin Australia flights from $78 each way

Available on select travel dates until December 2021 to Gold Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart, Canberra, Cairns, Hamilton Island and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Melbourne. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

StayzStayz

Australia beach holidays from $82/night

Available on select stay dates in Adelaide, Sydney, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne and more. Sample stay is in Millicent, South Australia. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

StayzStayz

Australia stays from $39/night

Available on select travel dates across Sydney, Melbourne, Cairns, Brisbane, Perth and more. Sample stay is in Reynella, Adelaide. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

MarriottMarriott

Up to 50% off room upgrades + free breakfast on stays

Available on upgrades to premium rooms and suites on stays until 30 April 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Gold Coast, New Zealand, Fiji and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloonRedBalloon

Up to 30% off Australia experiences + Extra 10% off with code

Available on select travel dates when you buy 2 or more experiences such as sightseeing cruises, hot air balloon flights, day tours and skydives. Destinations include Brisbane, Adelaide, Hunter Valley, Gold Coast, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

WotifWotif

Up to 50% off Australia getaways

Available on stay until February 2021 in Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Cairns, Hobart, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

KlookKlook

Extra 10% off NSW activities with code

Available until 28 February 2021 on all activities including hot air balloon flights, attraction passes, Tiny Homes and staycation packages. Destinations include Sydney, Hunter Valley, Blue Mountains and South Coast. Minimum spend of $50 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

KlookKlook

Get 10% off NSW car hires

Available on rentals until 28 February 2021 in Sydney, Hunter Valley, Blue Mountains and South Coast. Minimum spend of $50 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

KlookKlook

Get 7% off NSW getaways with code

Available on stays until 28 February 2021 in Sydney, Hunter Valley, Blue Mountains and South Coast. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Trip.comTrip.com

Extra $50 off Queensland getaways

Plus get up to 19% off stays from 6 January - 30 June 2021 when you spend a minimum of $250. Destinations include Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Whitsundays, Townsville and more. Exclusive for Trip.com members. Membership is free. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

G AdventuresG Adventures

Up to 30% off Australia and New Zealand tours

Lock your tour with $1 deposit plus get an extra 21% off when you choose My Own Room. Available on select travel dates in 2021. Destinations include Cairns, Uluru, Sydney, Brisbane, Wellington and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

AirbnbAirbnb

Australia stays from $13 per night

Available on stays until 2021 in Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Melbourne and more. Sample fare is for a private room in Victoria. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

EuropcarEuropcar

Up to 20% off base rate

Available on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday pick up dates until 11 December 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Auckland and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

EuropcarEuropcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates for select car hire in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

Accor HotelsAccor Hotels

Up to 25% off Australia stays

Available for travel until 31 December 2021 when you book for 2 nights or more. Prepayment required. Destinations include Sydney, Adelaide, Cairns, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trafalgar ToursTrafalgar Tours

Up to 18% off worldwide tours

Available on select travel dates from 2021-2022. Destinations include Britain, Germany, Ireland, Spain, Morocco, USA, Croatia and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.auLastminute.com.au

Up to 50% off tropical getaways

Available on select stay dates in 2021 in Cairns, Port Douglas, Townsville and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
2 Dec 2020 Up to 10% off international flights with code MAS****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$100 off business class flights BC1****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$20 off flights JAN****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$30 off flight booking fees HOL****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$10 off flight fees LOV****

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site