Tigerair review: Sydney to Melbourne

Get a flying start to the new year.

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

With no plans for the new year, I tagged on a friend’s holiday (sorry!) and set off for Melbourne for a chill and quiet one.

Even though it was at the last second, there were still numerous flights available for my dates, and being a budget traveller, I chose Tigerair as it offered the most affordable trip: $200 return flying out at 6am on a Monday morning and back by 11pm on the Wednesday.

Here's how it all went down.

Tigerair details

  • Route: Sydney to Melbourne, return
  • Duration: 1 hour, 30 minutes
  • Flight Number(s): TT207 and TT282
  • Aircraft Type: Boeing 320
  • Dates Travelled: 31 December 2018 and 2 January 2019
  • Class: Economy
  • Frequent Flyer Program: None
  • Points earned: None

Stephanie's review: ★★★★☆

  • Cost: Flights were well priced for peak season dates.
  • Timeliness: Flights departed relatively on time, and if they didn't, an explanation was given.
  • Baggage: Tigerair is more lenient around bag checking than it lets on. Staff didn't weigh bags on my departing flight (it was only a third full). However, they did on the way back where the plane was full.
  • Check-in: The website was refusing to let me change my seat, so I eventually gave in and accepted by fate in the back row. Not the best option, to be honest.

What did I like?

  • Cost: I wasn't sure what to expect regarding flight prices given that I was booking flights two weeks before New Year's, but Tigerair took me for a 3-day trip to Melbourne for $200 return. While that's around double the typical Sydney-Melbourne fare, I feel it's fairly reasonable for the season.
  • Empty flight on the way out: My departure flight was about a third full. I still didn't get three seats to myself, but my fellow row-traveller and I had an empty seat between us, which was pleasant.
  • There was an explanation for our delay: The pilot remarked during our flight that we were going to arrive 30 minutes behind schedule due to turbulence. I don't know if this was a valid excuse, but I do know that we left on time (in fact, we were sitting on the tarmac for a while because we'd boarded so quickly) and there definitely was turbulence in the air.
  • They are sometimes lenient with weighing carry-on bags. As with every Australian airline now, Tigerair weighs carry-on luggage to make sure you comply with their weight allowances. They didn't do this on departure, but I think that's because we were only one-third full so there was no need to be sticklers about it. However, my flight on the way back was full so there was a staff member at the line to board checking those bags. This was done very efficiently, and as far as I saw, only one person got pulled aside so clearly people have gotten the message about the new rules.

What didn’t I like?

  • Legroom: These weren't the roomiest seats I've sat on, but it is a budget airline so it's not a big complaint.
  • Check-in: This was fine on the way in, but might have been because I didn't want to change my seat. On the way back, Tigerair shafted me all the way at the very back in seat 30A beside two other passengers. When I tried to change it during check-in, it kept giving me an error. I finally gave up and accepted my seat begrudgingly.

Would I use Tigerair again?

I have no great qualms with Tigerair. They're budget and they act budget with slimline seats, a strict carry-on baggage policy and charges for any on-board entertainment or food, neither of which I purchased. Would I fly with Tigerair again? At this price and service, sure.


Tigerair flight deals and sales:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Deal

Happy hour sale: Australia flights from $49 each way

Verified Today Expires 29 Jul 2021
Available on flights from August 2021 - March 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Adelaide, Hamilton Island, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Townsville, Canberra and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Sunshine Coast and Ballina. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Up to 30% off Australia hotels + an extra 10% off with code

Verified Yesterday Expires 30 Sep 2021
Available on stays until 31 December 2022 when you use the code. Destinations include Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Gold Coast, Perth, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Flights within Australia from $26 each way

Verified Yesterday Expires 3 Aug 2021
Available on select flight dates from July 2021 - March 2022. Sample fare is Melbourne-Sydney with Jetstar. Destinations include Melbourne, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Launceston, Newcastle, Ballina, Brisbane and more.
Code exclusive

Extra 10% off worldwide with code

Verified Yesterday Expires 30 Sep 2021
Available on stays until 31 December 2022 when you use the code. Destinations include New Zealand, Fiji, London, Maldives, Japan, USA and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Australia-wide flights from $54 each way

Verified Yesterday Expires 30 Jul 2021
Available on flights from August - September 2021 to Sydney, Hobart, Launceston, Darwin, Adelaide, Perth, Alice Springs, Sunshine Coast, Brisbane and more. Sample fare is Adelaide-Melbourne with Jetstar.
Deal

Up to 58% off Australia hotels

Verified 2 days ago Expires 10 Aug 2021
Available on select stay dates until 31 March 2022. Destinations include Perth, Sydney, Adelaide, Hunter Valley, Blue Mountains, Rottnest Island and more.
Deal

Up to 50% off Qantas flights

Expires 31 Jul 2021
Available on flights from April - September 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Launceston, Hobart, Cairns, Darwin, Broome, Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get $10 off activities with code

Available on experiences across Australia including Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Hobart, Sunshine Coast and more. Minimum spend of $300 required. Activities include hot air balloon flights, hop-on hop-off bus tours, whale watching cruises, skydives, high teas, quad biking experiences and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get $5 off activities with code

Available on experiences across Australia including Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Hobart and more. Minimum spend of $250 required. Activities include hot air balloon flights, hop-on hop-off bus tours, whale watching cruises, skydives, high teas, quad biking experiences and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

2 free nights on New Zealand ski getaway

Expires 31 Jul 2021
Available from 1-30 September 2021 at Edgewater Wanaka and includes 3-day lift pass for Cardona or Treble Cone. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.
Deal

Campervan hire from $5/day

Available on select routes, dates and locations in Australia, including Darwin, Alice Springs, Cairns and Brisbane, and New Zealand.
Code exclusive

Get 12% off Australia tours and experiences

Expires 31 Dec 2021
Available on select travel dates on activities such as sightseeing tours, Vivid Sydney cruises, jet boat rides, hot air balloon flights, wine tours and more. Destinations include Sydney, Cairns, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Darwin and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Rex Airlines sale: Flights between Sydney and Melbourne from $39

Expires 28 Aug 2021
Available on select flight dates until December 2021.
Deal

Up to 50% off: Qantas flights from $70 each way

Expires 31 Jul 2021
Available on flights from April - September 2021 to destinations including Sydney, Gold Coast, Adelaide, Launceston, Canberra, Darwin, Broome, Perth and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Launceston.
Deal

Jetstar sale: Australia-wide flights from $32 each way

Expires 31 Jul 2021
Available on flights from April - September 2021 to Launceston, Gold Coast, Hobart, Adelaide, Whitsundays, Townsville, Hamilton Island, Darwin, Uluru and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

$15 off all Australian activities with code

Available on select travel dates when you spend a minimum of $100. Activities include hot air balloon flights, tandem skydives and attraction passes. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth, Hobart and more. Exclusive for new members. T&Cs apply.
Deal

New Zealand flights from $316 return

Verified Today Expires 12 Aug 2021
Available on flights from July - November 2021 to Christchurch, Dunedin, Wellington and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Auckland with Jetstar.
Deal

Up to 52% off Hobart escapes

Verified Today Expires 31 Dec 2021
Available on select travel dates. Includes free breakfast, free cancellation and more on select hotels.
Code exclusive

Get 10% off all Tick travel insurance policies

Verified Today
Only on Finder. Use this code to get a 10% discount. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get $40 off Australia weekday skydives

Verified Today Expires 22 Aug 2021
Available on jumps until 31 March 2022 when you use the code. Destinations include Melbourne, Cairns, Byron Bay, Perth, Noosa and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

New Zealand ski holidays from $499

Verified Today Expires 15 Sep 2021
Available on select travel dates from July - October 2021. Destinations include Queenstown, Wanaka, South Island and more.
Deal

Up to 37% off Australia getaways

Verified Today Expires 31 Aug 2021
Available on stays until August 2021. Destinations include Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne, Cairns, Adelaide, Townsville, Tasmania, Sydney, Broome and more.
Code

Up to 10% off car rentals in Australia

Verified Yesterday Expires 31 Dec 2021
Available until 31 December 2021 when you spend a minimum of $50. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Adelaide, Cairns, Hobart and more. Prepayment is required. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 50% off Australia experiences

Verified Yesterday
Available on select travel dates for activities including skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing, high tea and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra, Melbourne and more.
Deal

Get 1 night free on stays

Verified Yesterday Expires 20 Aug 2021
Available on stays until 25 August 2021 when you stay for 5+ nights. Destinations include London, Cardiff and Edinburgh. T&Cs apply.
Code

Get $20 off classes

Verified Yesterday Expires 31 Jul 2021
Available on select classes when you spend a minimum of $250. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 20% off Hamilton Island stays

Verified 2 days ago Expires 29 Aug 2021
Available on 3-night stays until 31 August 2021. Includes breakfast, transfers and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Australia-wide flights from $79 each way

Verified 3 days ago Expires 12 Aug 2021
Available on flights from 13 July 2021 - 31 March 2022 to Melbourne, Launceston, Gold Coast, Canberra, Darwin, Townsville, Sunshine Coast, Newcastle, Hobart, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Sample fare is Ballina-Sydney. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 15% off Alice Springs to Darwin campervan rentals

Verified 3 days ago Expires 6 Aug 2021
Available on rentals until 5 September 2021 with Britz. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 15% off Apollo one-way rentals

Verified 3 days ago Expires 31 Aug 2021
Available on Alice Springs and Darwin rentals until 17 December 2021. Drop off locations include Broome, Cairns, Alice Springs, Brisbane, Darwin, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Adelaide. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 10% off Australia campervan hires

Verified 3 days ago Expires 13 Aug 2021
Available on rentals from 26 July - 15 September 2021 with Maui, Britz and more. Destinations include Sydney, Adelaide, Cairns, Broome, Perth, Melbourne, Hobart, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Domestic flights from $59 return

Expires 6 Aug 2021
Available on Australia flights from July - September 2021. Destinations include Brisbane, Perth, Gold Coast and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Melbourne with Jetstar.
Code

Get 1 day free on 5-day rentals

Expires 31 Aug 2021
Available on rentals until 31 December 2021 when you book a minimum of 5 consecutive days rental. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 50% off Australia-wide flights

Expires 31 Jul 2021
Available on flights until 30 September 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Alice Springs, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Cairns, Perth, Uluru and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Australia-wide flights from $59 return

Expires 3 Aug 2021
Available on flights until December 2021 to Brisbane, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Hobart, Adelaide, Launceston and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Melbourne with Jetstar.
Deal

South Australia flights from $38 each way

Expires 3 Aug 2021
Available for travel from July - August 2021. Destinations include Kingscote, Whyalla, Port Lincoln and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide with Jetstar.
Deal

Flights within Australia from $34 each way

Expires 2 Aug 2021
Available on flights from July - September 2021 to destinations including Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Darwin, Adelaide, Hobart and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Gold Coast with Rex Airlines.
Deal

Victoria flights from $36 each way

Expires 3 Aug 2021
Available on flights from July - October 2021. Sample fare is Sydney-Melbourne with Jetstar. Other destinations include Mildura, Avalon, Albury and Bendigo.
Deal

Up to 10% off base rate

Expires 11 Dec 2021
Available on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday pick up dates until 11 December 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Auckland and more. T&Cs apply.

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
28 Jul 2021 Up to 15% off flights with code CRV****
23 Jul 2021 USD$35 off flight fees SB3****
23 Jul 2021 Up to USD$35 off flights with code BEA****
23 Jul 2021 Up to USD$27 off flights FLY****
22 Jul 2021 Up to 10% off flights with code MAS****

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site