Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score

Free

Tigerair review: Sydney to Melbourne

Get a flying start to the new year.

Updated

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder .

With no plans for the new year, I tagged on a friend’s holiday (sorry!) and set off for Melbourne for a chill and quiet one.

Even though it was at the last second, there were still numerous flights available for my dates, and being a budget traveller, I chose Tigerair as it offered the most affordable trip: $200 return flying out at 6am on a Monday morning and back by 11pm on the Wednesday.

Here's how it all went down.

Tigerair details

  • Route: Sydney to Melbourne, return
  • Duration: 1 hour, 30 minutes
  • Flight Number(s): TT207 and TT282
  • Aircraft Type: Boeing 320
  • Dates Travelled: 31 December 2018 and 2 January 2019
  • Class: Economy
  • Frequent Flyer Program: None
  • Points earned: None

Stephanie's review: ★★★★☆

  • Cost: Flights were well priced for peak season dates.
  • Timeliness: Flights departed relatively on time, and if they didn't, an explanation was given.
  • Baggage: Tigerair is more lenient around bag checking than it lets on. Staff didn't weigh bags on my departing flight (it was only a third full). However, they did on the way back where the plane was full.
  • Check-in: The website was refusing to let me change my seat, so I eventually gave in and accepted by fate in the back row. Not the best option, to be honest.

What did I like?

  • Cost: I wasn't sure what to expect regarding flight prices given that I was booking flights two weeks before New Year's, but Tigerair took me for a 3-day trip to Melbourne for $200 return. While that's around double the typical Sydney-Melbourne fare, I feel it's fairly reasonable for the season.
  • Empty flight on the way out: My departure flight was about a third full. I still didn't get three seats to myself, but my fellow row-traveller and I had an empty seat between us, which was pleasant.
  • There was an explanation for our delay: The pilot remarked during our flight that we were going to arrive 30 minutes behind schedule due to turbulence. I don't know if this was a valid excuse, but I do know that we left on time (in fact, we were sitting on the tarmac for a while because we'd boarded so quickly) and there definitely was turbulence in the air.
  • They are sometimes lenient with weighing carry-on bags. As with every Australian airline now, Tigerair weighs carry-on luggage to make sure you comply with their weight allowances. They didn't do this on departure, but I think that's because we were only one-third full so there was no need to be sticklers about it. However, my flight on the way back was full so there was a staff member at the line to board checking those bags. This was done very efficiently, and as far as I saw, only one person got pulled aside so clearly people have gotten the message about the new rules.

What didn’t I like?

  • Legroom: These weren't the roomiest seats I've sat on, but it is a budget airline so it's not a big complaint.
  • Check-in: This was fine on the way in, but might have been because I didn't want to change my seat. On the way back, Tigerair shafted me all the way at the very back in seat 30A beside two other passengers. When I tried to change it during check-in, it kept giving me an error. I finally gave up and accepted my seat begrudgingly.

Would I use Tigerair again?

I have no great qualms with Tigerair. They're budget and they act budget with slimline seats, a strict carry-on baggage policy and charges for any on-board entertainment or food, neither of which I purchased. Would I fly with Tigerair again? At this price and service, sure.


Tigerair flight deals and sales:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra 10% off Australia activities with code

Valid on all dates on activities like skydiving, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, cruises, tours, high tea and more. Minimum spend of $100 applies. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra $10 off site-wide with code

Valid on all dates, including over Christmas, on activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, scuba diving, cruises, hight tea and more. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Adrenaline Adrenaline

Up to 63% off domestic activities

Available on select dates and activities like skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, off road v8 race buggies, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing, high tea and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra, Melbourne and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Groupon Groupon

Up to 75% off Australia activities + Extra up to 30% off with code

Available on select dates and activities like spas, skydiving, hot air balloon flights, tours, whale watching, skywalks, classes, high tea experiences and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth and more. Maximum discount of $40. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Airbnb Airbnb

Refer a friend and get a $25 Airbnb credit

Give a friend $50 toward their first stay and get $25 credit for yourself toward a future booking.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Up to 60% off Australia-wide stays + an extra 8% off with code

Available on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Newcastle and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Oaks Hotels & Resorts Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Up to 30% off Australia stays

Available on select stays until 30 June 2021. Destinations include Darwin, Sydney, Brisbane, Gladstone, Townsville, Adelaide, Glenelg and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Domestic flights from $123 each way

Available on select dates until December 2020 to Canberra, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Cairns and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Brisbane with Qantas Airways. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

P&O Cruises P&O Cruises

Free room upgrade on sailings

Available on select cruises from December 2020 - September 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Auckland, Norfolk Island and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Free ride for Sydneysiders

Available on weekends from 17 October - 1 November 2020. Discount capped at $15. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 56% off Australia getaways

Available on stays until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Brisbane, Townsville, Adelaide, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Trip.com Trip.com

Up to 46% off Australia-wide hotels

Available on select dates until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth and Hobart. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Australia-wide flights from $52 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Cairns, Perth, Broome, Melbourne and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Jetstar sale: Northern Territory flights from $107 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Darwin and Uluru. Sample fare is Brisbane-Darwin. Plus get one free date change on flights departing before 15 December 2020. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Up to 38% off Australia attractions and experiences

Available on select travel dates in Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns, Darwin, Canberra, Melbourne and more. Attractions include SEA LIFE Aquarium Sydney, Sydney Featherdale Wildlife Park, Madame Tussauds, Eureka Skydeck. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trafalgar Tours Trafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off last-minute trips

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Europe, UK, the Middle East, Argentina, India, Asia, New Zealand, Australia and Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Virgin Australia sale: Domestic flights from $89 each way

Available on flights from November 2020 - September 2021 to Gold Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Perth, Hobart, Newcastle, Darwin, Broome and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Extra $50 off Sydney and NSW stays

Get up to 18% off plus an extra discount on stays until 18 February 2021. Destinations include Hunter Valley, Newcastle, Byron Bay, Blue Mountains, Wollongong, Orange, Mudgee, Port Stephens and more. Minimum spend of $150 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Northern Territory activities from $36 + Extra $10 off off with code

Available on select dates and experiences like sightseeing tours, zoo and wildlife experience, spas, sailings, hot air balloon flights, scenic flights and much more. Minimum spend of $80 applies. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar
Exclusive

$20 off nationwide rentals

Available on rentals until 31 January 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $200 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 40% off pet friendly hotels

Available on stays until October 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra and Brisbane. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 30% off last minute Australia stays

Available stays until October 2020 in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Canberra, Adelaide, Brisbane, Newcastle, Rockhampton and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off Australia and New Zealand rentals

Available on select dates until 15 December 2020. Rental must be for 2 days or more and booked 21 days in advance. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Wotif Wotif

Up to 66% off Australia stays

Available on stays until May 2021 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates for select car hire in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Gold Coast stays from $49/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Surfers Paradise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Extra 8% off on hotel bookings

Save on hotel stays before 31 December 2020 in Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Fiji, Thailand, Singapore, USA and more. Available at select hotels.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Airbnb Airbnb

Melbourne stays from $50/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Melbourne Central Business District. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off base rate

Available on rentals until 15 December 2020 in Australia and New Zealand. Pick up on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday required to avail offer. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Deal ends

Otel.com Otel.com

Extra 9% off hotel bookings

Valid on select hotel stays worldwide like Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe and more on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Some restrictions apply.

Last verified

Rentalcars.com Rentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

Voyagin Voyagin

Up to 50% off things to do in Bali

Available on select dates. Attractions include zoo admissions, tours, water activities, treks, dinner cruise and more.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Up to 60% off Sydney stays + an extra 8% off with code

Available on select hotels and stay dates until November 2021. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 32% off domestic getaway packages + an extra 10% off with code

Available on select travel dates for stays in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Blue Mountains, Cairns, Canberra and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Groupon Groupon

Up to 73% off getaways + an extra up to 30% off with code

Available for travel on select dates to Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Launceston, Newcastle, Noosa Heads, Cairns and much more. Maximum discount of $40. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 50% off worldwide trips

Available on select trips in 2021 to Italy, Turkey, Istanbul, Egypt, Greece, Morocco, Ireland, USA, Australia and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Australia flights from $87 return

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Gold Coast, Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Launceston and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Sydney flights from $47 each way

Available on select dates until January 2021. Sample fare departs from Avalon with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Brisbane flights from $74 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Popular Travel coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
20 Oct 2020 Extra 10% off Australia activities with code RBF****
20 Oct 2020 Extra $10 off site-wide with code FDR****
20 Oct 2020 Up to 75% off Australia activities + Extra up to 30% off with code SUR****
9 Oct 2020 Extra $50 off Sydney and NSW stays NSW****
8 Oct 2020 Northern Territory activities from $36 + Extra $10 off off with code FDR****

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
16 Oct 2020 Up to 12% off international flights PAY****
9 Oct 2020 Up to 10% off flights + extra bags STU****
7 Oct 2020 Thanksgiving sale: Up to $25 off flight fees TG2****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $10 off international flights FLY****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $100 off business class flights OCT****

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site