Scoot review: Ipoh to Sydney, via Singapore

The high price to pay for the convenience of flying from Ipoh to Sydney on one airline

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Ipoh might not be the most popular place to visit in Malaysia, but with family to visit it's the city I wound up in before having to head back home to Sydney.

I'd travelled by plane to the country's capital Kuala Lumpur then taken the train to Ipoh, but decided to forgo having to train it back down and then Uber to the airport by flying with Scoot from Ipoh Airport, via Singapore, back to Sydney.

It turns out it wasn't the smartest idea.

Now this was the first time I'd flown with Scoot and I'd been told by some that they were amazing and by others that they looked and felt budget in every way. So I had mixed expectations flying with them.

In theory it should have been a smooth ride with a 5.5-hour transit in Singapore to grab some food and potentially see the city. However, it turned out to be one of the bumpiest trips I've ever taken.

Flight details

Route: Ipoh-Singapore-Sydney
Date travelled: 30 January 2018
Class: Economy
Flight number(s): TR483 (Ipoh-Singapore), TR2 (Singapore-Sydney)
Aircraft type: A320 (Ipoh-Singapore), B787-9 (Singapore-Sydney)
Frequent flyer program: None

What I liked

  • Flights out of Ipoh: As Ipoh isn't a major transport hub, its airport is quite small which has its benefits, including a quick check-in and close proximity to the city so you can virtually leave your hotel an hour before your flight and still catch it with time to spare. This allows you to maximise your hours in the city but does mean you have next to nothing to entertain you at the airport.
  • Cheap flights: Being budget, Scoot's flights are very well priced and when it came to deciding whether to take the train to Kuala Lumpur to connect onto an AirAsia flight to Sydney or fly from Ipoh to Sydney via Singapore, the price came up in Scoot's favour.
  • Fly-thru: My flight came with a free fly-thru which in layman's terms meant that my bag would automatically be checked through to my final destination and boarding passes for both legs were given to me when I initially checked in. This meant there would be no need to leave departures, pick up my bag or check back in for my final leg, which not only gave me peace of mind but eliminated the need for lengthy walks through Singapore Changi's terminals and waits at the check-in counter.

What I didn’t like

Where shall I start?

  • Flight delays:

My journey from Malaysia to Sydney was marred by flight delays one after another. After having arrived at Ipoh Airport on time and checked in with time to spare, only at 5:30pm when the plane was supposed to depart did it arrive and we were called to board. Before then there was no announcement of a delay, nor was there any information on the board suggesting the plane would even arrive, with the screen still remarking upon the previous flight up to the wire. Nevertheless my flight did land in Singapore on time, but the lack of communication was definitely frustrating.

In Singapore the communication around flight delays was much better though no less frustrating. I arrived believing I had 5.5 hours to either hit the city or have dinner in one of the best layover airports in the world. With the humidity high, I decided on the latter only to find out, 3 hours in, that the flight had been delayed by 2.5 hours.

So instead of departing at 1:45am, I'd be flying out at 4:25am.I discovered this via a big "delayed" sign on the departures boards, though I later found out (when I got Wi-Fi) that an email had been sent out about it at 10:30pm giving anyone in the city enough time to delay their hotel departure, which was thoughtful on Scoot's part but in no way aided my situation.

Stuck at the airport and too tired to hit the city, I attempted to check into the conveniently placed airport hotel but was knocked back as it was all booked out for the evening, leaving me to walk the terminals until I was knackered; I then sourced some empty seats to nap on until my gate was announced and my flight was boarding.

Something I learnt while biding my time is that Scoot will only compensate you for flight delays of 3 hours with a SGD50 voucher. Longer delays can warrant you larger compensation but as my delay was 2 hours and 40 minutes, I just missed out. That's not to say I didn't get compensated. Upon boarding every passenger was given a little snack-pack to nibble on in the plane. While this was unexpected, I was still not too impressed.

  • Lost baggage:

Again, this may have come from the flight delay but upon arriving back home – several hours later than expected and with family waiting on the other side – I came away from the baggage carousel empty handed. I've talked to a few friends about this and they say it's typical for flights with long layover periods like mine and that the bag typically gets sent on the next flight down, but all this was new to me as I've never had a misplaced bag.

Comfortingly, I wasn't the only one left empty-handed at the carousel with around eight people from my flight queuing at the claims counter. Forms were filled out and numbers were taken and I was told to sit tight and wait for the call. After three days it finally came and my bag was couriered to me. This was fine for me as I was returning home to clean clothes and toiletries but I can only wonder how things played out for those only starting their journey with no compensation in hand and three days without luggage.

Would I fly Scoot again?

I think the obvious answer is: no.

I'll be diplomatic and state that I understand delays and lost luggage do happen and my response is more reflective of my bad string of luck than the airline's fault, but after a long trip in between the delays and the lost baggage it only made it feel longer which is not the way I like to return home.

As mentioned above, some of my friends rave about the airline and I won't deny the price or the quality of the planes as well as the apt communication of the flight delay by the airline, but the compensation (or lack of) was a harsh blow and I don't believe I've mentioned that I don't recall the airline apologising for it at all. Maybe I was too tired. Maybe I was too frustrated. I'm unsure but I'm not going to be rushing to hop onto another Scoot flight anytime soon.

Feature image: FlyScoot Facebook..

Scoot flights on sale:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Deal FLASH SALE

Jetstar sale: NSW and Melbourne flights from $20 each way

Verified Today Expires 21 Sep 2021
Available on select flights from November - December 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Byron Bay, Melbourne and Avalon.
Deal

Flights between NSW and Melbourne from $99 each way

Verified Today Expires 25 Sep 2021
Available on select Qantas flights from January - March 2022. Destinations include Sydney, Newcastle, Coffs Harbour, Byron Bay, Merimbula and more.
Code

$60 off tandem skydives with code

Verified Today Expires 29 Oct 2021
Available on weekday jumps until 29 October 2021. Destinations include Byron Bay and Great Ocean Road. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Domestic flights from $54 each way

Expires 27 Sep 2021
Available on flights until January 2022 to Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Cairns, Darwin and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Melbourne with Rex Airlines.
Deal

Rex Airlines sale: Flights between Sydney and Melbourne from $39

Expires 27 Sep 2021
Available on select flight dates until December 2021.
Deal

Australia hotels from $169

Expires 30 Sep 2021
Available on select stay dates until 31 March 2022. Destinations include Perth, Sydney, Adelaide, Hunter Valley, Blue Mountains, Rottnest Island and more. Sample rate is for a 3-night getaway at Trinity Beach.
Deal

School holidays activities from $20

Expires 28 Sep 2021
Available on select activities from September - October 2021 including Python programming, yoga and meditation, web and graphic designs, robotics and more. Destinations include Perth, Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and more.
Deal

Up to 50% off flights within Australia

Expires 30 Sep 2021
Available on flights until November 2021 to select destinations including Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Broome, Alice Springs, Kangaroo Island, Darwin, Hobart, Townsville and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 50% off domestic flights

Expires 30 Nov 2021
Available on flights from October - November 2021. Destinations include Hamilton Island, Cairns, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast, Sydney, Gold Coast and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Up to 30% off Australia hotels + an extra 10% off with code

Expires 30 Sep 2021
Available on stays until 31 December 2022 when you use the code. Destinations include Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Gold Coast, Perth, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Extra 10% off worldwide hotels with code

Expires 30 Sep 2021
Available on stays until 31 December 2022 when you use the code. Destinations include New Zealand, Fiji, London, Maldives, Japan, USA and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Perth campervan hires from $58 per night

Available on select travel dates. Sample rate is for a rental in Welshpool. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get 12% off Australia tours and experiences

Expires 31 Dec 2021
Available on select travel dates on activities such as sightseeing tours, whale watching cruises, jet boat rides, hot air balloon flights, wine tours and more. Destinations include Sydney, Cairns, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Darwin and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get $24 off car hires with code

Expires 30 Sep 2021
Available on rentals until 31 October 2021 when you spend a minimum of $240. Destinations include Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get $10 off activities with code

Available on experiences across Australia including Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Hobart, Sunshine Coast and more. Minimum spend of $300 required. Activities include hot air balloon flights, hop-on hop-off bus tours, whale watching cruises, skydives, high teas, quad biking experiences and more. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

Get $5 off activities with code

Available on experiences across Australia including Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Hobart and more. Minimum spend of $250 required. Activities include hot air balloon flights, hop-on hop-off bus tours, whale watching cruises, skydives, high teas, quad biking experiences and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.
Deal

Campervan hire from $5/day

Available on select routes, dates and locations in Australia, including Darwin, Alice Springs, Cairns and Brisbane, and New Zealand.
Code exclusive

$15 off all Australian activities with code

Available on select travel dates when you spend a minimum of $100. Activities include hot air balloon flights, tandem skydives and attraction passes. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth, Hobart and more. Exclusive for new members. T&Cs apply.
Code

Get up to $50 off jumps with code

Verified Today Expires 29 Oct 2021
Available on 15,000ft tandem skydives from Tuesdays to Thursdays until 29 October 2021. Destinations include Cairns, Perth, Noosa, Melbourne, Yarra Valley, Hunter Valley and more. T&Cs apply.
Code

$30 off 15,000ft tandem skydives with code

Verified Today Expires 29 Oct 2021
Available on weekday jumps until 29 October 2021. Destination includes Cairns and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 80% off sale

Verified Today Expires 20 Sep 2021
Save up to 80% on select clothes, footwear and accessories at Zulily. Valid for a limited time only. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Queensland getaways from $169

Verified Today Expires 11 Oct 2021
Available on select travel dates until July 2022. Destinations include Port Douglas, Cairns, Palm Cove, Gold Coast, Fraser Island, Hamilton Island, Whitsundays and more. Sample rate is for a 3-night stay at Trinity Beach.
Deal

Up to 42% off activities for kids

Available on select dates, including school holidays, for activities like sandboarding, whale watching, jet boat rides, swimming, go karting, sightseeing tours, attraction passes and more. Destinations include Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney, Canberra and more.
Deal

Up to 50% off Australia experiences

Available on select travel dates for activities including skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing, abseiling, high teas and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra, Melbourne and more.
Code

Extra $10 off Australia getaway packages

Available on select travel dates when you spend a minimum of $300. Destinations include Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Blue Mountains, Cairns, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 23% off flying experiences plus an extra $5 off with code

Available on select dates when you spend a minimum of $250. Activities include hot air ballooning, skydiving, helicopter scenic flights. Destinations include Whitsundays, Gold Coast, Perth, Melbourne, Brisbane, Hunter Valley, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to $10 off Adelaide activities with code

Available on select dates when you spend a minimum of $300. Activities include winery tours in Adelaide Hills, tandem skydives, kayak tours and more. Sample price is for River Torrens sightseeing cruise. T&Cs apply.
Code

$10 off hot air balloon experiences in Perth

Available on select travel dates when you spend a minimum of $300. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 42% off things to do in Sydney + Extra $5 off with code

Available on select dates when you spend a minimum of 250. Activities include hot air balloon flights, tandem skydives, whale watching cruises, dining, classes, high teas, spa treatments, getaways and attraction passes. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 48% off things to do in Gold Coast + Extra $5 off with code

Available on select dates when you spend a minimum of $250. Activities include indoor skydiving, sightseeing cruises, hot air ballooning, getaways, jet boat rides, spa treatments and more. T&Cs apply.
Code

Activities for kids from $17 + an extra $5 off with code

Available on select dates when you spend a minimum of $250. Activities include day tour cruises, zoo experiences, hop-on hop-off bus tours, attraction passes, zoo and animal interactions and more. Destinations include Gold Coast, Cairns, Melbourne, Adelaide and more. T&Cs apply.
Code

Extra $10 off Northern Territory activities with code

Available on select dates and activities include sightseeing tours, zoo and wildlife experience, spas, sailings, hot air balloon flights and scenic flights. Minimum spend of $300 required. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 25% off driving experiences + an extra $5 off with code

Available on select dates when you spend a minimum of $250. Activities include rally driving, go-karting, quad-biking and more. Destinations include Sunshine Coast, Newcastle, Perth, Melbourne, Hobart and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 44% off Gold Coast stays

Expires 31 Dec 2021
Plus get free cancellations on select stays until March 2022.
Deal

Up to 50% off: Qantas flights from $70 each way

Expires 30 Nov 2021
Available on flights from October - November 2021 to destinations including Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Hobart, Adelaide, Hamilton Island, Cairns, Darwin, Broome and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Launceston.
Deal

Up to 50% off: Flights with Jetstar from $32 each way

Expires 30 Nov 2021
Available on flights until 30 November 2021. Destinations include Launceston, Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Hobart, Townsville, Darwin, Newcastle, Uluru and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide.
Deal

Australia-wide flights from $62 return

Expires 23 Sep 2021
Available on flights until December 2021 to Brisbane, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Hobart, Sydney, Launceston and more. Sample fare is Adelaide-Melbourne with Jetstar.
Deal

New Zealand flights from $345 return

Expires 23 Sep 2021
Available on flights until February 2022 to Christchurch, Dunedin, Wellington and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Auckland with Jetstar.
Code exclusive

Get 10% off all Tick travel insurance policies

Only on Finder. Use this code to get a 10% discount. T&Cs apply.

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site