scoot-review-0

Scoot review: Ipoh to Sydney, via Singapore

The high price to pay for the convenience of flying from Ipoh to Sydney on one airline

Ipoh might not be the most popular place to visit in Malaysia, but with family to visit it's the city I wound up in before having to head back home to Sydney.

I'd travelled by plane to the country's capital Kuala Lumpur then taken the train to Ipoh, but decided to forgo having to train it back down and then Uber to the airport by flying with Scoot from Ipoh Airport, via Singapore, back to Sydney.

It turns out it wasn't the smartest idea.

Now this was the first time I'd flown with Scoot and I'd been told by some that they were amazing and by others that they looked and felt budget in every way. So I had mixed expectations flying with them.

In theory it should have been a smooth ride with a 5.5-hour transit in Singapore to grab some food and potentially see the city. However, it turned out to be one of the bumpiest trips I've ever taken.

Flight details

Route: Ipoh-Singapore-Sydney
Date travelled: 30 January 2018
Class: Economy
Flight number(s): TR483 (Ipoh-Singapore), TR2 (Singapore-Sydney)
Aircraft type: A320 (Ipoh-Singapore), B787-9 (Singapore-Sydney)
Frequent flyer program: None

What I liked

  • Flights out of Ipoh: As Ipoh isn't a major transport hub, its airport is quite small which has its benefits, including a quick check-in and close proximity to the city so you can virtually leave your hotel an hour before your flight and still catch it with time to spare. This allows you to maximise your hours in the city but does mean you have next to nothing to entertain you at the airport.
  • Cheap flights: Being budget, Scoot's flights are very well priced and when it came to deciding whether to take the train to Kuala Lumpur to connect onto an AirAsia flight to Sydney or fly from Ipoh to Sydney via Singapore, the price came up in Scoot's favour.
  • Fly-thru: My flight came with a free fly-thru which in layman's terms meant that my bag would automatically be checked through to my final destination and boarding passes for both legs were given to me when I initially checked in. This meant there would be no need to leave departures, pick up my bag or check back in for my final leg, which not only gave me peace of mind but eliminated the need for lengthy walks through Singapore Changi's terminals and waits at the check-in counter.

What I didn’t like

Where shall I start?

  • Flight delays:

My journey from Malaysia to Sydney was marred by flight delays one after another. After having arrived at Ipoh Airport on time and checked in with time to spare, only at 5:30pm when the plane was supposed to depart did it arrive and we were called to board. Before then there was no announcement of a delay, nor was there any information on the board suggesting the plane would even arrive, with the screen still remarking upon the previous flight up to the wire. Nevertheless my flight did land in Singapore on time, but the lack of communication was definitely frustrating.

In Singapore the communication around flight delays was much better though no less frustrating. I arrived believing I had 5.5 hours to either hit the city or have dinner in one of the best layover airports in the world. With the humidity high, I decided on the latter only to find out, 3 hours in, that the flight had been delayed by 2.5 hours.

So instead of departing at 1:45am, I'd be flying out at 4:25am.I discovered this via a big "delayed" sign on the departures boards, though I later found out (when I got Wi-Fi) that an email had been sent out about it at 10:30pm giving anyone in the city enough time to delay their hotel departure, which was thoughtful on Scoot's part but in no way aided my situation.

Stuck at the airport and too tired to hit the city, I attempted to check into the conveniently placed airport hotel but was knocked back as it was all booked out for the evening, leaving me to walk the terminals until I was knackered; I then sourced some empty seats to nap on until my gate was announced and my flight was boarding.

Something I learnt while biding my time is that Scoot will only compensate you for flight delays of 3 hours with a SGD50 voucher. Longer delays can warrant you larger compensation but as my delay was 2 hours and 40 minutes, I just missed out. That's not to say I didn't get compensated. Upon boarding every passenger was given a little snack-pack to nibble on in the plane. While this was unexpected, I was still not too impressed.

    • Lost baggage:

Again, this may have come from the flight delay but upon arriving back home – several hours later than expected and with family waiting on the other side – I came away from the baggage carousel empty handed. I've talked to a few friends about this and they say it's typical for flights with long layover periods like mine and that the bag typically gets sent on the next flight down, but all this was new to me as I've never had a misplaced bag.

Comfortingly, I wasn't the only one left empty-handed at the carousel with around eight people from my flight queuing at the claims counter. Forms were filled out and numbers were taken and I was told to sit tight and wait for the call. After three days it finally came and my bag was couriered to me. This was fine for me as I was returning home to clean clothes and toiletries but I can only wonder how things played out for those only starting their journey with no compensation in hand and three days without luggage.

Would I fly Scoot again?

I think the obvious answer is: no.

I'll be diplomatic and state that I understand delays and lost luggage do happen and my response is more reflective of my bad string of luck than the airline's fault, but after a long trip in between the delays and the lost baggage it only made it feel longer which is not the way I like to return home.

As mentioned above, some of my friends rave about the airline and I won't deny the price or the quality of the planes as well as the apt communication of the flight delay by the airline, but the compensation (or lack of) was a harsh blow and I don't believe I've mentioned that I don't recall the airline apologising for it at all. Maybe I was too tired. Maybe I was too frustrated. I'm unsure but I'm not going to be rushing to hop onto another Scoot flight anytime soon.

Feature image: FlyScoot Facebook..

Scoot flights on sale:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

TFE Hotels TFE Hotels

Up to 35% off global hotels

Valid across all hotels in Australia and New Zealand. Save up to 25% on regular rates, plus sign up to TFE Hotels eClub and get an extra 10% off on your bookings. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Adrenaline Adrenaline

Up to 67% off + extra $15 off with code

Valid sitewide on experiences $79 or more across Australia including skydiving, ghost tours, driving, go karting, sailing, hot air ballooning, diving, bridge climbing, scuba diving and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Adrenaline Adrenaline

$30 off activities and experiences

Valid on select dates and activities like hot air ballooning, skydiving, horse riding, ghost tours, surf lessons, scuba diving, theme parks and more. Destinations are Sydney, Perth, Gold Coast, Brisbane and Melbourne. Minimum spend of $179. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Groupon Groupon

Up to 50% off Vivid Sydney cruises

Valid from 24 May - 15 June 2019. Inclusion depends on the selected cruise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 50% off experiences + extra 10% off with code

Valid on all dates, including over Christmas on activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, scuba diving, cruises, ghost tours and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Flight Centre - Holidays Flight Centre - Holidays

3-day Thredbo ski-and-stay package w/lift passes: $365

Valid for travel from June - September 2019 across Thredbo. Includes 3-night accommodation at Snowy Valley Jindabyne, daily breakfast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Adrenaline Adrenaline
Exclusive

Extra 15% off with code

Valid on your first purchase with Adrenaline. Experiences include skydiving, scenic flights, hot air ballooning, V8 experiences, rally driving, scuba diving and more. Minimum spend of $179. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Voyagin Voyagin

US$40 off bookings

Minimum spend of US$450 on activities and attraction tickets. Destinations include Bali, Thailand, Japan, Singapore, Vietnam, Malaysia and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Cudo Cudo

Up to 62% off Vivid Sydney cruises

Valid from 24 May - 15 June 2019. Inclusion depends on the selected cruise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

IHG Hotels IHG Hotels

Easter sale: Up to 35% off Australasia and Japan hotels

Valid for stays until 30 June 2019. Discount applies to IHG Rewards Club members in participating IHG hotels in Australia, New Zealand, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea and Japan. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

UBER UBER

$20 off your first ride

Valid on your first Uber ride anywhere in Australia (T&Cs apply). Only available through Finder.

Last verified

Contiki Contiki

Up to 25% off last-minute tours worldwide

Book a range of last-minute Contiki tours, from week-long jaunts to month-long journeys, to destinations including Italy, France, Germany, Greece, Vietnam, Thailand, USA, Canada and more.

Last verified

Booking.com Booking.com

Up to 20% off worldwide hotels

Valid for travel from 10 April - 6 May 2019. Destinations include Rome, Paris, London, Bangkok, Seoul, Shanghai, Kuala Lumpur and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Agoda Agoda
Exclusive

Extra 5% off hotels worldwide

Valid for stays from 22 October 2018 - 31 December 2020, including over Christmas. Destinations include Bali, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Singapore, Paris, Amsterdam, Sydney, Gold Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Otel.com Otel.com

Extra 8% off hotel bookings

Valid on hotel stays worldwide on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve.

Last verified

Rentalcars.com Rentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Vietnam flights from $500 return

Valid for travel between 2 April 2019 - 28 February 2020. Sample fare is Melbourne-Siam Reap with Vietnam Airlines. Destination includes Phnom Penh.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon

Up to 10% off Vivid Sydney Catamaran cruises

Valid from 24 May - 15 June 2019. Inclusion depends on the selected cruise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Hamilton Island Hamilton Island

Save 20% on 5-night Hamilton Island packages

Plus get free breakfast, airport shuttles, Wi-Fi and more. Stay on Hamilton Island for 5 nights and pay for just 4, saving 20% on the regular package price, for stays until 30 June 2019 at Reef View Hotel. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Up to 40% off South Korea hotels + extra $20 off with code

Valid for stays from April - June 2019. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

$10 off site-wide

Valid for use on any activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flight, abseiling, scuba diving, ghost tours and more. Minimum spend of $80. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Europcar Europcar

15% off car hire

Valid for rentals until 21 July 2019 at participating locations across Australia and New Zealand. Minimum of 5 days rental. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Ace Airport Parking Ace Airport Parking

1-day free parking with code

Valid for airport parking in Melbourne. No minimum stay. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

DriveNow DriveNow

Campervan hire from $5/day

Available on select routes, dates and locations in Australia and New Zealand.

Last verified

Columbus Direct Columbus Direct
Exclusive

Get 5% off your next travel insurance policy

Use our exclusive code to get 5% off any Columbus Direct travel insurance policy, domestic or worldwide. Destinations would include Thailand, Bali, Fiji, USA, UK, Italy, France, Japan and more.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates on select car hire relocations in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

Oaks Hotels & Resorts Oaks Hotels & Resorts

30% off 2-night stays + extra 10% off local experiences

Valid for travel between 11 April - 30 September 2019 across Australia and New Zealand. Discount applies when you stay two nights or more at participating hotels and extra 10% off in local experiences when you book through Experience Oz. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

CruiseAway CruiseAway

50% off deposits + up to $1,000 airfare credit with Princess cruises

Valid for travel on select dates in 2019 - 2020 with select Princess Cruises. Destinations include Hong Kong, Shanghai, Singapore, Bali, Perth, Sydney and more. Includes bonus $100 onboard credit. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Easter sale: Vanuatu flights from $519 return

Valid for travel between 8 April - 31 December 2019 with Air Vanuatu. Departures include Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne. Sample fare is Queensland-Port Vila. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

National Car Rental National Car Rental

$20 off USA and Canada car hires

Valid for travel between 1 March - 31 July 2019 across participating National Car Renal locations in USA and Canada. Discount applies to a minimum of 3-day rental. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

National Car Rental National Car Rental

Free car rental for members

Join the Emerald Club and earn 1 rental credit for every qualified car rental. Inclusive of free rental days and other benefits. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Viator Viator

London activities from $13

Valid on activities in London like sightseeing, hop-on hop-off buses, river cruises, laneway walking tours and kayaking adventures and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 76% off Asia tours

Valid for travel on select dates across Asia. Destinations include India, Cambodia, Vietnam, Thailand, Philippines, Japan, Bali, Colombo, Sri Lanka and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 50% off Latin America tours

Valid for travel on select dates across Latin America. Destinations include Lima, Cusco, Quito, Havana, Marsh Harbour and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 40% off North America tours

Valid for travel on select dates across North America. Destinations include Chicago, Detroit, Montreal, Toronto, New York City, Boston and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 50% off Australia and New Zealand tours

Valid for travel on select dates, depending on the destination. Destinations include Christchurch, Auckland, Wellington, Sydney, Cairns, Brisbane, Melbourne and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 76% off Africa tours

Valid for travel on select dates across Africa. Destinations include Cairo, Marrakesh, Cape Town, South Africa, Windhoek, Nairobi and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 76% off tours worldwide

Valid for travel on select dates. Destinations include Europe, India, Iceland, Asia, Japan, New Zealand, Morocco and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 70% off Europe tours

Valid for travel on select dates across Europe. Destinations include Turkey, Santorini, Porto, Istanbul, Netherlands, Switzerland, Austria, Paris, England and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

P&O Cruises P&O Cruises

Free room upgrade

Valid on select Oceanview rooms subject to availability with P&O cruises. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide and Auckland. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

World2Cover Travel Insurance Deals World2Cover Travel Insurance Deals

15% off travel insurance

Save on your next policy to destinations including Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe, Japan, New Zealand, Vietnam and more. Terms and conditions apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Australia flights from $170 return

Valid for travel until April 2020 across Australia. Destinations include Perth, Adelaide, Gold Coast and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Sydbney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Japan flights from $302 each way

Valid for travel until April 2020 across Japan. Destinations include Osaka, Sapporo and more. Sample fare is Cairns-Tokyo with Jetstar.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Thailand flights from $383 each way

Valid for travel until April 2020 across Thailand. Destinations include Pattaya, Chiang Mai and more. Sample fare is Perth-Bangkok with AirAsia.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

New Zealand flights from $341 each way

Valid for travel until April 2020 across New Zealand. Destinations include Queenstown, Christchurch, Wellington, Dunedin and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Auckland with Virgin Australia.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Turkey flights from $816 each way

Valid for travel until April 2020 across Turkey. Sample fare is Perth-Istanbul with Qatar.

Last verified

Wotif Wotif

Australia flights from $99

Valid for travel on select dates from April - December 2019 across Australia with Tigerair. Destinations include Melbourne, Brisbane and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Gold Coast. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Vivid Sidney: Hotels from $99

Valid for bookings between 24 May - 15 June 2019. Other rates include the 4-star Value Suites Green Square from $117 and Sydney Hotel CBD from $129. Sample fare is for a 4-star Great Southern hotel. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends

Travel Talk Travel Talk

Croatia: Up to 45% off sailing tours + 2 for 1 deals

Valid for travel on select dates from June - September 2019 across Croatia. Destinations include Split, Dubrovnik and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Get deal

Deal ends