Scoot review: Ipoh to Sydney, via Singapore | finder.com.au

Scoot review: Ipoh to Sydney, via Singapore

The high price to pay for the convenience of flying from Ipoh to Sydney on one airline

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Ipoh might not be the most popular place to visit in Malaysia, but with family to visit it's the city I wound up in before having to head back home to Sydney.

I'd travelled by plane to the country's capital Kuala Lumpur then taken the train to Ipoh, but decided to forgo having to train it back down and then Uber to the airport by flying with Scoot from Ipoh Airport, via Singapore, back to Sydney.

It turns out it wasn't the smartest idea.

Now this was the first time I'd flown with Scoot and I'd been told by some that they were amazing and by others that they looked and felt budget in every way. So I had mixed expectations flying with them.

In theory it should have been a smooth ride with a 5.5-hour transit in Singapore to grab some food and potentially see the city. However, it turned out to be one of the bumpiest trips I've ever taken.

Flight details

Route: Ipoh-Singapore-Sydney
Date travelled: 30 January 2018
Class: Economy
Flight number(s): TR483 (Ipoh-Singapore), TR2 (Singapore-Sydney)
Aircraft type: A320 (Ipoh-Singapore), B787-9 (Singapore-Sydney)
Frequent flyer program: None

What I liked

  • Flights out of Ipoh: As Ipoh isn't a major transport hub, its airport is quite small which has its benefits, including a quick check-in and close proximity to the city so you can virtually leave your hotel an hour before your flight and still catch it with time to spare. This allows you to maximise your hours in the city but does mean you have next to nothing to entertain you at the airport.
  • Cheap flights: Being budget, Scoot's flights are very well priced and when it came to deciding whether to take the train to Kuala Lumpur to connect onto an AirAsia flight to Sydney or fly from Ipoh to Sydney via Singapore, the price came up in Scoot's favour.
  • Fly-thru: My flight came with a free fly-thru which in layman's terms meant that my bag would automatically be checked through to my final destination and boarding passes for both legs were given to me when I initially checked in. This meant there would be no need to leave departures, pick up my bag or check back in for my final leg, which not only gave me peace of mind but eliminated the need for lengthy walks through Singapore Changi's terminals and waits at the check-in counter.

What I didn’t like

Where shall I start?

  • Flight delays:

My journey from Malaysia to Sydney was marred by flight delays one after another. After having arrived at Ipoh Airport on time and checked in with time to spare, only at 5:30pm when the plane was supposed to depart did it arrive and we were called to board. Before then there was no announcement of a delay, nor was there any information on the board suggesting the plane would even arrive, with the screen still remarking upon the previous flight up to the wire. Nevertheless my flight did land in Singapore on time, but the lack of communication was definitely frustrating.

In Singapore the communication around flight delays was much better though no less frustrating. I arrived believing I had 5.5 hours to either hit the city or have dinner in one of the best layover airports in the world. With the humidity high, I decided on the latter only to find out, 3 hours in, that the flight had been delayed by 2.5 hours.

So instead of departing at 1:45am, I'd be flying out at 4:25am.I discovered this via a big "delayed" sign on the departures boards, though I later found out (when I got Wi-Fi) that an email had been sent out about it at 10:30pm giving anyone in the city enough time to delay their hotel departure, which was thoughtful on Scoot's part but in no way aided my situation.

Stuck at the airport and too tired to hit the city, I attempted to check into the conveniently placed airport hotel but was knocked back as it was all booked out for the evening, leaving me to walk the terminals until I was knackered; I then sourced some empty seats to nap on until my gate was announced and my flight was boarding.

Something I learnt while biding my time is that Scoot will only compensate you for flight delays of 3 hours with a SGD50 voucher. Longer delays can warrant you larger compensation but as my delay was 2 hours and 40 minutes, I just missed out. That's not to say I didn't get compensated. Upon boarding every passenger was given a little snack-pack to nibble on in the plane. While this was unexpected, I was still not too impressed.

  • Lost baggage:

Again, this may have come from the flight delay but upon arriving back home – several hours later than expected and with family waiting on the other side – I came away from the baggage carousel empty handed. I've talked to a few friends about this and they say it's typical for flights with long layover periods like mine and that the bag typically gets sent on the next flight down, but all this was new to me as I've never had a misplaced bag.

Comfortingly, I wasn't the only one left empty-handed at the carousel with around eight people from my flight queuing at the claims counter. Forms were filled out and numbers were taken and I was told to sit tight and wait for the call. After three days it finally came and my bag was couriered to me. This was fine for me as I was returning home to clean clothes and toiletries but I can only wonder how things played out for those only starting their journey with no compensation in hand and three days without luggage.

Would I fly Scoot again?

I think the obvious answer is: no.

I'll be diplomatic and state that I understand delays and lost luggage do happen and my response is more reflective of my bad string of luck than the airline's fault, but after a long trip in between the delays and the lost baggage it only made it feel longer which is not the way I like to return home.

As mentioned above, some of my friends rave about the airline and I won't deny the price or the quality of the planes as well as the apt communication of the flight delay by the airline, but the compensation (or lack of) was a harsh blow and I don't believe I've mentioned that I don't recall the airline apologising for it at all. Maybe I was too tired. Maybe I was too frustrated. I'm unsure but I'm not going to be rushing to hop onto another Scoot flight anytime soon.

Feature image: FlyScoot Facebook..

Scoot flights on sale:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

KayakKayak
FLASH SALE

Qantas sale: Flights from $99 each way

Available on select travel dates from July 2021 - March 2022 to Brisbane, Newcastle, Hamilton Island, Hobart, Adelaide, Cairns, Melbourne and more. Sample fare is Ballina-Sydney.

Last verified

Deal ends

Virgin AustraliaVirgin Australia
FLASH SALE

Up to 30% off: Domestic flights from $59 each way

Available on flights until March 2022 across Australia, including Brisbane, Hamilton Island, Hobart, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Canberra, Darwin and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloonRedBalloon
FLASH SALE

Extra $25 off things to do with code

Available on select travel dates when you spend a minimum of $179. Activities include hot air balloon flights, tandem skydives, high teas, quad biking and more. Destinations include Gold Coast, Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Hamilton IslandHamilton Island
FLASH SALE

5th night free + Up to $150 resort credit and free room upgrade

Available stays until December 2022 when you book a minimum of 5 nights. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

WotifWotif
FLASH SALE

Up to 25% off Australia hotels

Available on select dates in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Broome and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Virgin AustraliaVirgin Australia

Up to 50% off: Flights from $55 each way

Available on flights from April - September 2021. Destinations include Hobart, Sunshine Coast, Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns, Adelaide, Canberra, Brisbane, Perth and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Launceston. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

JUCYJUCY

Campervans from $99/day or less

Pick up a campervan in Adelaide, Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Auckland, Christchurch or Queenstown before until 20 September 2021.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap FlightsCheap Flights

New Zealand flights from $353 return

Available until December 2021 to Queenstown, Wellington, Christchurch and more with Jetstar, Air New Zealand and Qantas. Sample fare is Melbourne-Auckland. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

SkyscannerSkyscanner

Jetstar sale: Australia-wide flights from $32 each way

Available on flights from April - September 2021 to Launceston, Gold Coast, Hobart, Adelaide, Whitsundays, Townsville, Hamilton Island, Darwin, Uluru and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

KayakKayak

Up to 50% off Australia flights

Available on Qantas flights from April - September 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Launceston, Hobart, Cairns, Darwin, Broome, Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

WotifWotif

Up to 53% off Australia-wide getaways

Available on select travel dates in 2021. Destinations include Cairns, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sunshine Coast, Sydney, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

DiDiDiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloonRedBalloon
Exclusive

Get $5 off activities with code

Available on experiences across Australia including Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Hobart and more. Minimum spend of $250 required. Activities include hot air balloon flights, hop-on hop-off bus tours, whale watching cruises, skydives, high teas, quad biking experiences and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloonRedBalloon
Exclusive

Get $10 off activities with code

Available on experiences across Australia including Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Hobart and more. Minimum spend of $300 required. Activities include hot air balloon flights, hop-on hop-off bus tours, whale watching cruises, skydives, high teas, quad biking experiences and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

KlookKlook
Exclusive

$15 off all Australian activities with code

Available on select travel dates when you spend a minimum of $100. Activities include hot air balloon flights, tandem skydives and attraction passes. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth, Hobart and more. Exclusive for new members. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

HotelsCombinedHotelsCombined

Up to 33% off Sea World Resort and Water Park stays with park entry

Available for stays until 30 April 2021 with packages available to include entry to Warner Bros. Movie World, Sea World, Wet'n'Wild Gold Coast and Paradise Country during your stay.

Last verified

DriveNowDriveNow

Campervan hire from $5/day

Available on select routes, dates and locations in Australia, including Darwin, Alice Springs, Cairns and Brisbane, and New Zealand.

Last verified

Qatar AirwaysQatar Airways

Up to 10% off international flights with code

Available for Mastercard holders on flights from 1 November 2020 - 30 June 2021. Valid on flights departing from Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, and Canberra. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Rentalcars.comRentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

AgodaAgoda

Up to 60% off Broome hotels

Available on select travel dates. Includes free breakfast, free cancellation and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

AgodaAgoda

Up to 69% off Cairns getaways

Available on select travel dates. Includes free breakfast, free cancellation, pay at the hotel option on select properties and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

AgodaAgoda

Up to 75% off Adelaide hotels

Available on select travel dates. Includes free cancellation and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

AgodaAgoda

Up to 75% off Gold Coast stays

Available on select travel dates. Includes free cancellation, breakfast and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

AgodaAgoda

Up to 79% off Brisbane hotels

Available on select travel dates. Includes free cancellation, breakfast and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

AgodaAgoda

Up to 77% off Sydney hotels

Available on select travel dates. Includes free breakfast, free cancellation and pay at the hotel option on select properties.

Last verified

Deal ends

AgodaAgoda

Up to 75% off Melbourne getaways

Available on select stay dates. Destinations include Melbourne CBD, South Yarra, Werribee and more. Plus get free breakfast, free cancellation and pay later options on select hotels.

Last verified

Deal ends

G AdventuresG Adventures
FLASH SALE

Up to 20% off worldwide adventures

Available for travel until 15 December 2022 for destinations including Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, Croatia, Japan, USA, Greece, Peru and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Oaks Hotels & ResortsOaks Hotels & Resorts
FLASH SALE

Up to 30% off hotels in Australia and New Zealand

Available on select travel dates until 16 December 2021 in Brisbane, Sydney, Cairns, Melbourne, Queenstown, Wellington, Auckland and Adelaide. Plus free cancellation on select hotels.

Last verified

Deal ends

Qatar AirwaysQatar Airways
FLASH SALE

Up to 10% off flights with code

Available on select flights from 1 May 2021 - 31 March 2022. Destinations include United Kingdom, Greece, Italy, Maldives, Spain, Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

EuropcarEuropcar
Exclusive

Extra $24 off domestic car hire with code

Available on rentals until 31 July 2021 when you spend a minimum of $240. Destinations include Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Cairns, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

SkyscannerSkyscanner

Australia flights from $28 each way

Available on select flights in 2021 to Sydney, Ballina, Launceston, Gold Coast, Hobart, Cairns and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide with Jetstar. Other airlines include Rex Airlines from $42, Virgin Australia $68 and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Luxury EscapesLuxury Escapes

Up to 70% off holidays

Book holidays to Thailand, Bali, Fiji, Maldives, Vietnam and across Australia at up to 70% off. Earn 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Luxury EscapesLuxury Escapes

Up to 50% off Australia holiday packages

Available on select dates until December 2021, including over Christmas and New Year's Eve. Destinations include Adelaide, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Sydney, Cairns, Canberra, Hunter Valley and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.auLastminute.com.au

Up to 43% off domestic getaways

Available on select dates in 2021, plus get free cancellation with select hotels. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Brisbane, Townsville, Adelaide, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Virgin AustraliaVirgin Australia

Flights to Auckland from $100 each way

Available on select travel dates. Sample fare departs from Brisbane. Other flights depart from Gold Coast, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Hamilton IslandHamilton Island

Get 1 night free at Hamilton Island with 5-night stays

Available on stays from June - August 2021 and includes breakfast, transfers and more. Plus receive $150 resort credit with select stay dates. Must stay for a minimum of 5 consecutive nights. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skydive AustraliaSkydive Australia

$30 off 15,000ft tandem skydives

Available on weekday jumps until 31 August 2021. Destination includes Cairns and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Skydive AustraliaSkydive Australia

$60 off tandem skydives with code

Available on weekday jumps until 31 August 2021. Destinations include Byron Bay and Great Ocean Road. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Expedia.com.auExpedia.com.au

Up to 38% off last-minute Australia escapes

Available on stays within the next 14 days. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Sunshine Coast, Brisbane, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Expedia.com.auExpedia.com.au

Up to 33% off Australia stays + free cancellations

Available on select travel dates to Broome, Mackay, Launceston, Darwin, Perth, Cairns, Sydney, Gold Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site