Scoot review: Ipoh to Sydney, via Singapore

The high price to pay for the convenience of flying from Ipoh to Sydney on one airline

Updated

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Ipoh might not be the most popular place to visit in Malaysia, but with family to visit it's the city I wound up in before having to head back home to Sydney.

I'd travelled by plane to the country's capital Kuala Lumpur then taken the train to Ipoh, but decided to forgo having to train it back down and then Uber to the airport by flying with Scoot from Ipoh Airport, via Singapore, back to Sydney.

It turns out it wasn't the smartest idea.

Now this was the first time I'd flown with Scoot and I'd been told by some that they were amazing and by others that they looked and felt budget in every way. So I had mixed expectations flying with them.

In theory it should have been a smooth ride with a 5.5-hour transit in Singapore to grab some food and potentially see the city. However, it turned out to be one of the bumpiest trips I've ever taken.

Flight details

Route: Ipoh-Singapore-Sydney
Date travelled: 30 January 2018
Class: Economy
Flight number(s): TR483 (Ipoh-Singapore), TR2 (Singapore-Sydney)
Aircraft type: A320 (Ipoh-Singapore), B787-9 (Singapore-Sydney)
Frequent flyer program: None

What I liked

  • Flights out of Ipoh: As Ipoh isn't a major transport hub, its airport is quite small which has its benefits, including a quick check-in and close proximity to the city so you can virtually leave your hotel an hour before your flight and still catch it with time to spare. This allows you to maximise your hours in the city but does mean you have next to nothing to entertain you at the airport.
  • Cheap flights: Being budget, Scoot's flights are very well priced and when it came to deciding whether to take the train to Kuala Lumpur to connect onto an AirAsia flight to Sydney or fly from Ipoh to Sydney via Singapore, the price came up in Scoot's favour.
  • Fly-thru: My flight came with a free fly-thru which in layman's terms meant that my bag would automatically be checked through to my final destination and boarding passes for both legs were given to me when I initially checked in. This meant there would be no need to leave departures, pick up my bag or check back in for my final leg, which not only gave me peace of mind but eliminated the need for lengthy walks through Singapore Changi's terminals and waits at the check-in counter.

What I didn’t like

Where shall I start?

  • Flight delays:

My journey from Malaysia to Sydney was marred by flight delays one after another. After having arrived at Ipoh Airport on time and checked in with time to spare, only at 5:30pm when the plane was supposed to depart did it arrive and we were called to board. Before then there was no announcement of a delay, nor was there any information on the board suggesting the plane would even arrive, with the screen still remarking upon the previous flight up to the wire. Nevertheless my flight did land in Singapore on time, but the lack of communication was definitely frustrating.

In Singapore the communication around flight delays was much better though no less frustrating. I arrived believing I had 5.5 hours to either hit the city or have dinner in one of the best layover airports in the world. With the humidity high, I decided on the latter only to find out, 3 hours in, that the flight had been delayed by 2.5 hours.

So instead of departing at 1:45am, I'd be flying out at 4:25am.I discovered this via a big "delayed" sign on the departures boards, though I later found out (when I got Wi-Fi) that an email had been sent out about it at 10:30pm giving anyone in the city enough time to delay their hotel departure, which was thoughtful on Scoot's part but in no way aided my situation.

Stuck at the airport and too tired to hit the city, I attempted to check into the conveniently placed airport hotel but was knocked back as it was all booked out for the evening, leaving me to walk the terminals until I was knackered; I then sourced some empty seats to nap on until my gate was announced and my flight was boarding.

Something I learnt while biding my time is that Scoot will only compensate you for flight delays of 3 hours with a SGD50 voucher. Longer delays can warrant you larger compensation but as my delay was 2 hours and 40 minutes, I just missed out. That's not to say I didn't get compensated. Upon boarding every passenger was given a little snack-pack to nibble on in the plane. While this was unexpected, I was still not too impressed.

  • Lost baggage:

Again, this may have come from the flight delay but upon arriving back home – several hours later than expected and with family waiting on the other side – I came away from the baggage carousel empty handed. I've talked to a few friends about this and they say it's typical for flights with long layover periods like mine and that the bag typically gets sent on the next flight down, but all this was new to me as I've never had a misplaced bag.

Comfortingly, I wasn't the only one left empty-handed at the carousel with around eight people from my flight queuing at the claims counter. Forms were filled out and numbers were taken and I was told to sit tight and wait for the call. After three days it finally came and my bag was couriered to me. This was fine for me as I was returning home to clean clothes and toiletries but I can only wonder how things played out for those only starting their journey with no compensation in hand and three days without luggage.

Would I fly Scoot again?

I think the obvious answer is: no.

I'll be diplomatic and state that I understand delays and lost luggage do happen and my response is more reflective of my bad string of luck than the airline's fault, but after a long trip in between the delays and the lost baggage it only made it feel longer which is not the way I like to return home.

As mentioned above, some of my friends rave about the airline and I won't deny the price or the quality of the planes as well as the apt communication of the flight delay by the airline, but the compensation (or lack of) was a harsh blow and I don't believe I've mentioned that I don't recall the airline apologising for it at all. Maybe I was too tired. Maybe I was too frustrated. I'm unsure but I'm not going to be rushing to hop onto another Scoot flight anytime soon.

Feature image: FlyScoot Facebook..

Scoot flights on sale:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

RedBalloonRedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra 10% off Australia activities with code

Valid on all dates on activities like skydiving, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, cruises, tours, high tea and more. Minimum spend of $100 applies. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloonRedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra $10 off site-wide with code

Valid on all dates, including over Christmas, on activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, scuba diving, cruises, high tea and more. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart and more. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

HotelsCombinedHotelsCombined

Up to 33% off Sea World Resort and Water Park stays with park entry

Available for stays until 30 April 2021 with packages available to include entry to Warner Bros. Movie World, Sea World, Wet'n'Wild Gold Coast and Paradise Country during your stay.

Last verified

AdrenalineAdrenaline

Up to 85% off domestic activities

Available on select dates for activities including skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing, high tea and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra, Melbourne and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Hotels.comHotels.com

Up to 63% off Australia-wide stays + Extra 8% off hotel bookings

Available on select dates until December 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Newcastle, Melbourne, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

WotifWotif

Up to 60% off Australia stays

Available on stays until July 2021 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Booking.comBooking.com

Up to 20% off Australia getaways

Available on stays from 5 January - 31 March 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Darwin, Adelaide and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

P&O CruisesP&O Cruises

$1 deposits + up to $500 credit on Australia and South Pacific cruises

Plus get up to $500 OBC on select voyages in 2021 and 2022. Destinations include Brisbane, Sydney, New Zealand, Vanuatu, Fiji and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

DiDiDiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Virgin AustraliaVirgin Australia

Australia-wide flights from $89 each way

Available on flights from January - September 2021 to Gold Coast, Brisbane, Cairns, Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Hobart, Townsville, Darwin and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Accor HotelsAccor Hotels

Up to 30% off worldwide stays

Available on select dates when you stay a minimum of 3 nights. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Cairns, Auckland, Paris, London and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Qatar AirwaysQatar Airways

Up to 10% off international flights with code

Available for Mastercard holders on flights from 1 November 2020 - 30 June 2021. Valid on flights departing from Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, and Canberra. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Accor HotelsAccor Hotels

Australia stays from $95/night + Extra 10% off for members

Available on stays up until 13 months from the booking date. Destinations include Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, Hobart, Adelaide, Perth, Uluru and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

KlookKlook

$1 wine tastings in the Hunter Valley

Available on select dates in the Hunter Valley. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

AirbnbAirbnb

Refer a friend and get a $25 Airbnb credit

Give a friend $50 toward their first stay and get $25 credit for yourself toward a future booking.

Last verified

Trafalgar ToursTrafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off last-minute trips

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Europe, UK, the Middle East, Argentina, India, Asia, New Zealand, Australia and Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Otel.comOtel.com

Extra 9% off hotel bookings

Valid on select hotel stays worldwide like Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe and more on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Some restrictions apply.

Last verified

Rentalcars.comRentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

WotifWotif

Up to 50% off Australia getaways

Available on stay until February 2021 in Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Cairns, Hobart, Sydney and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

AnantaraAnantara

Up to 40% off worldwide getaways

Available on stays until 21 December 2021. Destinations include Maldives, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Spain, Seychelles, Dubai, Mauritius and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

AirbnbAirbnb

Australia stays from $13 per night

Available on stays until 2021 in Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Melbourne and more. Sample fare is for a private room in Victoria. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

EuropcarEuropcar

Up to 20% off base rate

Available on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday pick up dates until 11 December 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Auckland and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

EuropcarEuropcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates for select car hire in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

SkyscannerSkyscanner

Australia flights from $38 each way

Available on select flights in 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Hobart, Gold Coast, Newcastle, Ballina, Brisbane, Cairns, Townsville and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide with Jetstar. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

TourRadarTourRadar

Up to 75% off worldwide trips

Available on select travel dates in 2021 and 2022. Destinations include Australia, New Zealand, Greece, Egypt, Turkey, India, USA and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

StayzStayz

Australia beach holidays from $82/night

Available on select stay dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Adelaide, Sydney, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne and more. Sample price is for a stay at a private beach cottage in South Greenough, Western Australia. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

G AdventuresG Adventures

Up to 30% off Australia and New Zealand tours

Lock your tour with $1 deposit plus get an extra 21% off when you choose My Own Room. Available on select travel dates in 2021. Destinations include Cairns, Uluru, Sydney, Brisbane, Wellington and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

KayakKayak

Australia-wide flights from $89 return

Available on select flights until May 2021. Destinations include Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Cairns, Perth, Broome and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Melbourne with Jetstar. Other airlines include Virgin Australia from $146 and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Accor HotelsAccor Hotels

Up to 25% off Australia stays

Available for travel until 31 December 2021 when you book for 2 nights or more. Prepayment required. Destinations include Sydney, Adelaide, Cairns, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trafalgar ToursTrafalgar Tours

Up to 18% off worldwide tours

Available on select travel dates from 2021-2022. Destinations include Britain, Germany, Ireland, Spain, Morocco, USA, Croatia and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.auLastminute.com.au

Up to 50% off tropical getaways

Available on select stay dates in 2021 in Cairns, Port Douglas, Townsville and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.auLastminute.com.au

Up to 43% off domestic getaways

Available on select stay dates in 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Brisbane, Townsville, Adelaide, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

ContikiContiki

Up to 15% off Australia tours

Available on select trips from April 2021 - April 2022. Destinations include Sydney, Cairns, Uluru, Perth, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide, Byron Bay, Darwin and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Luxury EscapesLuxury Escapes

Up to 61% off domestic holiday packages

Available on select dates until December 2021, including over Christmas and New Year's Eve. Destinations include Adelaide, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Sydney, Cairns, Canberra, Hunter Valley and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Trip.comTrip.com

Up to 20% off + Extra $50 off Queensland getaways

Available on stays from 6 January - 30 June 2021 when you spend a minimum of $250. Destinations include Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Whitsundays, Townsville and more. Exclusive for Trip.com members. Membership is free. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Trafalgar ToursTrafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off Australia tours

Available on select dates in 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Broome, Uluru and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

G AdventuresG Adventures

Up to 30% off tours + $1 deposits

Available on select travel dates in 2021 and 2022. Destinations include Australia, New Zealand, Canada, USA and more. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Deal ends

Priceline.comPriceline.com

Up to 60% off express deals

Available on select dates in Australia, New Zealand, Canada and more. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Hotels.comHotels.com

Extra 8% off hotel bookings

Save on hotel stays until 30 June 2021 in Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Fiji, Thailand, Singapore, USA and more. Available at select hotels.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

KlookKlook

Extra 10% off NSW activities with code

Available until 28 February 2021 on all activities including hot air balloon flights, attraction passes, Tiny Homes and staycation packages. Destinations include Sydney, Hunter Valley, Blue Mountains and South Coast. Minimum spend of $50 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Popular Travel coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
13 Jan 2021 Extra 10% off Australia activities with code RBF****
13 Jan 2021 Extra $10 off site-wide with code FDR****
14 Dec 2020 Get $20 credit FIN****
2 Dec 2020 Up to 10% off international flights with code MAS****
23 Oct 2020 $1 wine tastings in the Hunter Valley WIN****

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
2 Dec 2020 Up to 10% off international flights with code MAS****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$100 off business class flights BC1****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$20 off flights JAN****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$30 off flight booking fees HOL****
12 Jan 2021 Up to USD$10 off flight fees LOV****

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site