Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score

Free

Revolut Australia

Last updated:  

Revolut offers an everyday account for global fee-free spending. Here’s what you need to know.

Revolut launched in July 2015 and currently has over 3 million customers throughout Europe, the UK and Australia. It offers a range of products focused on travel and spending, but its main product is a transaction account and a card that allows for international transfers and simple global spending.

$0

Account keeping fee

$0

ATM withdrawal fee

$0

Overseas ATM withdrawal fee

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder.

Details

Product NameRevolut Account
Monthly account fee$0
Card accessVisa
ATM Withdrawal Fee$0
International transaction fee0%
Monthly deposit required to waive account feeN/A
Contactless paymentsN/A

Key features

Revolut's app is currently available for download in Australia. You'll be asked to join the wait list, and when you're at the top you'll get a notification inviting you to create your new account.

Revolut Personal Account

The Revolut personal account allows you to spend your money all around the world. When you spend you will be charged the real interbank exchange rate, which is the rate the banks use to buy and sell currency themselves, and you're also able to make free international ATM withdrawals up to $350 a month on the Standard Account after which a 2% fee applies.

There are two different account options to choose from: Standard and Premium


How to apply

You can join Revolut by clicking through the "Get the App" button on its website. The app is available for download on both Apple and Android devices. After you've downloaded the app, you'll be asked to join the wait list. When you're at the top of the list, you'll get notified by Revolut and you'll be able to create your new account.

Ask an expert

To ask a question simply log in via your email or create an account.

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.

18 Comments

  1. Default Gravatar
    Jean
    February 26, 2020

    Can I transfer funds from Commonwealth Bank app to Revolut AUD account via bank transfer? What fees are included apart from the sender’s bank? Thanks!

    • Default Gravatar
      Ash
      February 27, 2020

      Hi Jean,

      Thank you for contacting Finder.

      Yes, you may transfer funds using your Commonwealth Bank app to your Revolut AUD account. In transferring funds, make sure that the destination currency on your Revolut account is the default currency of your Commonwealth Bank account. For example AUD to AUD transfer.

      There will be a $6 fee for every transaction for transferring funds using the Commonwealth Bank app.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Ash

  2. Default Gravatar
    Debra
    December 1, 2019

    What are the benefits of the premium service in Australia.
    Do you have travel insurance
    Do you get 1%back
    Direct debit

    • Default Gravatar
      Nikki
      December 4, 2019

      Hi Debra,

      Thanks for your comment and I hope you are doing well.

      The benefits of the Premium service are: Spend in 110+ currencies at the real exchange rate, Unlimited money transfers between 15 fiat currencies, Withdraw up to $700 a month with no ATM fees (after this a 2% fee applies per withdrawal), Global express delivery of your Revolut card.

      There is no travel insurance and no cashback. If you have recurring payments, such as rent, utility bills, credit card bills or anything that isn’t automatically direct debited from your account, you can set up recurring payments in Revolut so you don’t forget to pay.

      Hope this helps and feel free to reach out to us again for further assistance.

      Best,
      Nikki

  3. Default Gravatar
    Tony
    September 26, 2019

    How can I transfer money from my CBA US$ account, to a Revolut US$ account.
    Thanks

    • Default Gravatar
      Nikki
      September 26, 2019

      Hi Tony,

      Thanks for getting in touch! You can transfer money to your accounts in 28 currencies via bank transfer and get started, please contact CBA to know their process on transferring funds from your CBA account to Revolut. You can use your account details so you can transfer money. To find your currency account details.

      1. Head to the Accounts tab
      2. Tap Add a new account and choose your top up currency
      3. You’ll find the account details to make a bank transfer.

      Hope this helps!

      Best,
      Nikki

  4. Default Gravatar
    Roxy
    August 4, 2019

    Hello, if I send money from Revolut Aus to another Revolut account in Europe is it cost any tax?
    Thanks

    • Default Gravatar
      Nikki
      August 5, 2019

      Hi Roxy,

      Thanks for getting in touch!

      Sending money to another Revolut app user is free. However, if you make a cross-currency transfer, you’ll be charged 0.5% on any amount exceeding your free foreign exchange allowance. Upgrade to Revolut Premium or Revolut Metal now to have unlimited free foreign exchange allowance and free turbo transfers.

      If the beneficiary bank is located outside the EU or transfer is not in euros, then your transfer will be sent via SWIFT and you might incur international wire transfer fees.

      The beneficiary bank could also charge a fee to receive your transfer. When your money is in transit, it might be processed by an intermediary bank who might also deduct a handling fee. Therefore, the amount received might be less than the amount you sent.

      We can provide an estimate of the potential fees for the following currencies:

      35 AUD
      20 CAD
      50 AED
      16-32 EUR (outside of SEPA)
      7500 JPY
      35 NZD
      20-40 USD

      Hope this was helpful. Don’t hesitate to message us back if you have more questions.

      Best,
      Nikki

  5. Default Gravatar
    Barbara
    July 23, 2019

    Morning! Is this card supported in Russia, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland?

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      Joshua
      July 23, 2019

      Hi Barbara,

      Thanks for getting in touch with Finder. I hope all is well with you. 😃

      At the time of this writing, according to Revolut it supports Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland. It doesn’t support Russia.

      Other countries include:

      Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

      Revolut is currently expanding its reach. So, there might be more countries to be added in the future.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  6. Default Gravatar
    Nat
    May 23, 2019

    I would like to send money from my commonwealth bank account to my Revolut account with a SWIFT transfer. Does Commonwealth Bank Australia have a direct relationship with Revolut? If not, I believe an intermediary bank(s) will be required and therefore will incur fees.

    • Default Gravatar
      Nikki
      May 24, 2019

      Hi Nat,

      Thanks for getting in touch with Finder!

      You have the information down to a T! Commonwealth Bank doesn’t have a direct relationship with Revolut however you can send money to your Revolut from your Commonwealth Bank account with a SWIFT transfer and this means there are SWIFT fees incurred for doing the transfer.

      Hope this helps!

      Best,
      Nikki

  7. Default Gravatar
    Greg
    May 9, 2019

    Is lounge access included in the monthly fee.

    • Default Gravatar
      Nikki
      May 10, 2019

      Hi Greg,

      Thanks for your inquiry! Revolut has partnered with a lounge access solutions company to create a LoungeKey Pass and give access to over 1,000 business lounges in airports across the globe directly from their Revolut app. The feature allows you to see specific details for each lounge, including photos, WiFi, bar facilities, conference rooms, and opening times.

      The Loung Key Pass is not included in the monthly fee. Lounges is a feature reserved for Revolut Metal and Premium users. While Metal users can order their first single entry LoungeKey Pass free of charge, all other passes can be bought at a flat rate of £25 (or currency equivalent) per pass. Standard customers can start using Lounges as soon as they upgrade to either Premium or Metal.

      Hope this was helpful. Don’t hesitate to message us back if you have more questions.

      Best,
      Nikki

  8. Default Gravatar
    Lucy
    April 21, 2019

    I leave Australia tomorrow. Can Revolut deliver the card to an address in France?

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      Joshua
      April 22, 2019

      Hi Lucy,

      Thanks for getting in touch with Finder. I hope all is well with you. 😃

      Yes, it is possible for Revolut to deliver you the card to an address in France. Simply specify where you want it to be sent.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful and safe trip!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  9. Default Gravatar
    Zet
    April 2, 2019

    Is Revolut operating in Australia now?

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      John
      April 3, 2019

      Hi Zet,

      Thank you for reaching out to Finder.

      Yes, Revolut has already been launched in Australia. Revolut’s app and everyday account is currently available for download in Australia. Hope this helps!

      Cheers,
      Reggie

Go to site