With energy prices rising, switch to a cheaper plan
Compare Prices Now

Qatar waives entry visa fees for 80 nationalities, including Australians

Posted: 10 August 2017 10:45 am


Applications and entry fees are officially no more.

In an effort to boost tourism to the region, Qatar Ministry of Interior, Qatar Tourism Authority and Qatar Airways have announced a waiver on pre-applications and entry fees into the country for citizens of 80 nations. And yes, Australia is included.

Effective immediately, this waiver provides the bearer with a multi-entry pass into the country and will be issued upon arrival at the port of entry.

Depending on the visitor's nationality, you may be entitled to one of two possible multi-entry visas. The first is valid for 180 days from the date of issue and entitles the holder to spend no more than 90 days in the country. The second is valid for only 90 days and entitles the holder to spend no more than 30 days in Qatar. This is the visa valid for Australian citizens and can be extended upon application for another 30 days if approved.

Prior to this waiver, the only way for Australians to enter Qatar for free was on a transit visa. This was implemented in November 2016 and provided transit passengers from all nations the ability to stay up to 96 hours (four days) in the country without application or charge. To further encourage visitors to explore the country, Qatar Airways offered complimentary five-star accommodation to those who chose an extended stopover in Doha earlier this year.

Chief tourism development officer at QTA, Al Ibrahim, said, “With 80 countries eligible for a visa waiver, Qatar is now the most open country in the region and we are delighted to invite visitors to discover our renowned hospitality, cultural heritage and natural treasures.”

This year alone, Qatar Airways has been helping to boost tourism from our shores to Doha, launching the A380 on its Melbourne flights in July and increasing flights between Adelaide and Doha in December.

Next year, the airline will also connect Canberra to Doha with seamless flights from February onward.

Nationals entitled to stay for 90 days within a 180-day period

1. Austria

2. Bahamas

3. Belgium

4. Bulgaria

5. Croatia

6. Cyprus

7. Czech Republic

8. Denmark

9. Estonia

10. Finland

11. France

12. Germany

13. Greece

14. Hungary

15. Iceland

16. Italy

17. Latvia

18. Liechtenstein

19. Lithuania

20. Luxembourg

21. Malta

22. Netherlands

23. Norway

24. Poland

25. Portugal

26. Romania

27. Seychelles

28. Slovakia

29. Slovenia

30. Spain

31. Sweden

32. Switzerland

33. Turkey

Nationals entitled to stay for 30 days within a 90-day period

1. Andorra

2. Argentina

3. Australia

4. Belarus

5. Bolivia

6. Brazil

7. Brunei

8. Canada

9. Chile

10. China

11. Colombia

12. Ecuador

13. Panama

14. Costa Rica

15. Georgia

16. Guyana

17. Hong Kong

18. India

19. Indonesia

20. Ireland

21. Japan

22. Kazakhstan

23. Lebanon

24. Azerbaijan

25. Macedonia

26. Malaysia

27. Maldives

28. Mexico

29. Moldova

30. Monaco

31. New Zealand

32. Paraguay

33. Peru

34. Russia

35. San Marino

36. Singapore

37. South Africa

38. South Korea

39. Suriname

40. Cuba

41. Thailand

42. Ukraine

43. United Kingdom

44. United States

45. Uruguay

46. Vatican City

47. Venezuela

Latest travel headlines

Follow us for all the latest deals and coupon codes

Get more from Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site