NAB Qantas Rewards Card

Last updated:  

Get a complimentary Qantas Frequent Flyer membership and earn points as you spend with the NAB Qantas Rewards card.

You can reward your spending with 0.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent on everyday purchases up to $3,000 per statement period with the NAB Qantas Rewards card.

0% p.a.

Balance transfer rate

for 6 months with 2% balance transfer fee

19.99% p.a.

Purchase rate

0.5

Reward points

Per $ spent (Visa/Mastercard)

$95 p.a.

Annual fee

Details

Product NameNAB Qantas Rewards Card
Rewards ProgramQantas Frequent Flyer
Balance Transfer Rate0% p.a. for 6 months with 2% balance transfer fee
Balance Transfer Revert RateCash Advance Rate (21.74% p.a.)
Balance Transfer Limit90% of available balance
Purchase Rate19.99% p.a.
Annual Fee$95
Interest Free Period44 days
Cash Advance Rate21.74% p.a.
Minimum Credit Limit$500
Card TypeVisa
Foreign Currency Conversion Fee (Visa/Mastercard)3% of transaction value
Complimentary Travel InsuranceNo
Minimum Age18 years of age
Available to Temporary ResidentsYes - Conditions apply
Joint ApplicationNo

Pros

  • Enjoy a balance transfer rate of 0% p.a. for the first 6 months.
  • The NAB Qantas Rewards Card offers complimentary purchase protection insurance and complimentary Qantas Frequent Flyer membership.
  • An additional cardholder can be added for $0.

Cons

  • There are only up to 44 days interest-free on purchases with this card, as opposed to other credit cards that offer up to 55 interest-free days.
  • A one-off 2% balance transfer fee applies.
Rewards ProgramQantas Frequent Flyer
Rewards Points per $ spent (Visa/Mastercard)0.5
Rewards Points per $ Cap (Visa/Mastercard)3,000
Annual Fee$95
Late Payment Fee$15
Foreign Currency Conversion Fee (Visa/Mastercard)3% of transaction value
Cash Advance Fee2% or $2.50, whichever is greater
Overseas Cash Advance Fee2% or $2.50, whichever is greater
Overseas ATM Withdrawal Fee$5
Additional Cardholder Fee$0
Number of Additional Cardholders1

Expert review

Sally McMullen

Review by


Sally McMullen is Finder's credit cards and frequent flyer editor by day and a music maven by night. Her byline can be spotted on Yahoo Finance, Dynamic Business, Financy and Mamamia as well as Music Feeds and Rolling Stone.

Expert review

The NAB Qantas Rewards credit card is suited to points chasers who want to reward their spending without paying a large annual fee. This card offers a modest earn rate compared to other frequent flyer cards. Make sure that the monthly cap doesn’t limit your points potential if you usually spend more than $3,000 per statement period.

How to apply

You can apply for the NAB Qantas Rewards card in 25 minutes and receive a response in 60 seconds. To complete the application, make sure you meet the eligibility criteria and have the necessary information on hand.

Eligibility criteria

  • Age. You need to be at least 18 years old to apply.
  • Residential status. If you're not an Australian citizen or permanent resident, you'll need to provide your most recent overseas residential address as well as other information regarding your residential status.

Card benefits

  • Complimentary insurance. You can spend with peace of mind thanks to purchase protection insurance. The cover protects you if personal items bought with the card are lost, stolen or accidentally damaged within 90 days of the date of purchase. Make sure to check out the insurance policy document before you make a claim.
  • Complimentary Frequent Flyer membership. If you're not already a member of the Qantas Frequent Flyer program, NAB will waive the membership fee when you sign up and are approved for the NAB Qantas Rewards Card. That's a saving of $99.50.

Rates & fees

  • Annual fee. This card charges a $95 p.a. annual fee.
  • Purchase interest rate. Your purchases will collect the 19.99% p.a. purchase interest rate.

Ask an expert

To ask a question simply log in via your email or Facebook or create an account.

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.

43 Comments

  1. Default Gravatar
    brian
    May 1, 2017

    Are there any bonus Qantas Points for signing up?

  2. Default Gravatar
    Deb
    July 26, 2016

    When do my points that show on my Credit Card statement show up on my Qantas Rewards statement ? Are they transferred automatically ?

    • AvatarStaff
      May
      July 28, 2016

      Hi Deb,

      Thanks for your question.

      Your Qantas points will be credited to your Qantas frequent flyer account if you have this linked to your NAB credit card. Your points are calculated on net purchases at the end of a statement period. So if you want to check your points earned, you may need to login to your Qantas FF account.

      Cheers,
      May

  3. Default Gravatar
    Emma
    June 5, 2016

    How do I know if my purchase will be considered an eligible purchase? Can you tell me what are not eligible purchases? Thanks

    • AvatarStaff
      Ysa
      June 6, 2016

      Hi Emma,

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      An eligible purchase is an everyday purchase and exclude transactions such as:
      – cash advances
      – bills paid over the counter at a bank, financial institution or post office
      – purchases of travellers cheques
      – transactions for gambling or gaming purposes
      – when the card is used as a debit card to access linked accounts
      – transactions which NAB has decided to be wholly or partly for a business or investment purpose
      – transactions where you use your card account to make payment to the Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
      – fees and charges (including government fees and charges)
      – interest charges
      – transactions which are disputed, fraudulent or involve abuse of your credit card account
      – payments and purchases which are refunded or reimbursed.

      Anything other than these are considered as everyday purchases.

      I hope this has helped.

      Cheers,
      Ysa

  4. Default Gravatar
    Dominic
    May 22, 2016

    Hi,

    I am currently on a 457 visa which does not expire for almost 4 years.

    I have a good credit history here in Australia and more than meet the income requirements.

    Would I be eligible for this card?

    Thanks

    • AvatarStaff
      May
      May 23, 2016

      Hi Dominic,

      Thanks for your question.

      Unfortunately, only Australian residents can apply for this NAB Qantas Rewards Card. Please refer to this page where you can find credit card issuers that accept a non-resident applicant. You may contact a credit card issuer featured on that page and verify which among their products are available for non-residents.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      May

  5. Default Gravatar
    Chris
    February 5, 2016

    Can you swap a NAB Visa Flyby Card account, to a NAB Qantas Reward Card.

    • AvatarStaff
      Jonathan
      February 5, 2016

      Hi Chris, thanks for your inquiry!

      You can change NAB cards by contacting the customer service team on 13 22 65 Mon-Fri 8am – 7pm, Sat-Sun 9am – 6pm (AEST/AEDT).

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  6. Default Gravatar
    Anna
    February 4, 2016

    I am a pensioner, would I be able to get a NAB Qantas Rewards card?
    What is your minimum income request?

    • AvatarStaff
      Sharon
      February 4, 2016

      Hi Anna, thank you for your inquiry.

      The minimum income required for this card varies and will be based on a few factors including your annual income and credit history. As declined credit card applications can have a negative impact on your credit file, you might wish to get in touch first with NAB to discuss your likelihood of approval.

      I hope this helps,

      Sharon

  7. Default Gravatar
    Gus
    January 25, 2016

    How many additional card holders can be associated with NAB Qantas Rewards Card?

    • AvatarStaff
      Debbie
      January 25, 2016

      Hi Gus,

      Thanks for your question.

      You can request up to one additional cardholder for NAB Qantas Rewards Card at no cost. Please note that the main cardholder will be liable for any transactions made on the additional card.

      For other credit card options that offer free additional cardholders, kindly compare on this page.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Debbie

  8. Default Gravatar
    May
    December 17, 2015

    What is the minimum income required? and it says there is complementary Qantas frequent flyer membership in the card review, while in ‘pros/cons’, it says you’ll pay the joining fee. So is there joining fee when I apply for the card?

    • AvatarStaff
      Debbie
      December 18, 2015

      Hi May,

      Thank you for your inquiry.
      The minimum income required for NAB Qantas Rewards Card varies and will be verified based on the income statements you will be submitting upon application. The fee stated above is for the annual fee which will be applied on your account while you have the card active.

      If you are looking for no annual fee credit cards, please refer to this page.
      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Debbie

  9. Default Gravatar
    ally
    December 1, 2015

    My income is a disability support pension, am I able to apply for any qantas linked credit cards?

    • AvatarStaff
      Sally
      December 2, 2015

      Hi Ally,

      Thanks for your question. The NAB Qantas Rewards card doesn’t advertise a set minimum income. Instead, your application will be considered based on a few factors including your annual income and credit history. As declined credit card applications can have a negative impact on your credit file, you might wish to get in touch with NAB directly to discuss your likelihood of approval.

      You can contact the NAB customer service team to speak with a credit card specialist on 13 13 12.

      I hope this has helped.

      Cheers,

      Sally

  10. Default Gravatar
    Marion
    November 10, 2015

    At present, my [working] husband is the primary card holder and I am the secondary holder [same account]of our credit card [Visa]. We are looking to join up to a Qantas FF credit card. They all seem to say ‘No’ to Joint Account. Do any of them allow a husband and wife on the same account?

    • AvatarStaff
      Jonathan
      November 11, 2015

      Hi Marion, thanks for your inquiry!

      Please refer to this page for a list of providers that allow joint-account credit cards.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

Ask a question
Go to site