How to watch the Brownlow Medal live and preview

Posted: 23 September 2019 4:02 pm

Watch AFL discount L

The 2019 AFL Brownlow Medal officially marks the start of the AFL's Grand Final week. Check out our preview and broadcast details.

AFL Grand Final week kicks off tonight with the 2019 Brownlow Medal awards ceremony. For further details about the Grand Final take a look at our AFL finals guide. The Brownlow Medal is awarded to the best and fairest player in the AFL during the season.

The full name of the award is the Charles Brownlow Trophy named after Charles "Chas" Brownlow, Chas is also engraved into the medal. This year's award ceremony is highly anticipated as there isn't a clear favourite for the first time in a while.

Finder has tabled the 10 best chances to win the Brownlow Medal below. You could also use Kayo Sports to fire up some Kayo Minis to decide for yourself who will win the Brownlow Medal. Kayo offers a 14-day free trial and has every single game of this season available on demand.

This could allow you to go back and watch this year's grand finalists Greater Western Sydney and Richmond Tigers in action during the lead-up to the AFL Grand Final. Maybe your team was already knocked out? Kayo allows you to see any match from this year's AFL, so you can focus on your side's good times.

Watch every 2019 AFL match live or on demand with Kayo: Start your 14-day FREE trial now

Brownlow Medal contenders

Contender Team
Patrick Dangerfield Geelong Cats
Lachie Neale Brisbane Lions
Marcus Bontempelli Western Bulldogs
Nat Fyfe Fremantle Dockers
Patrick Cripps Carlton Blues
Brodie Grundy Collingwood Magpies
Adam Treloar Collingwood Magpies
Jack Macrae Western Bulldogs
Tim Kelly Geelong Cats
Elliot Yeo West Coast Eagles

How does voting work for the Brownlow Medal award?

The voting process for the Brownlow Medal award is determined by a 3-2-1 votes system. AFL umpires who umpired each individual game judge who votes are awarded to, awarding the best player three votes, two votes to the next best and one vote to the next choice. The player who polls the most votes over the entire season is determined the winner and awarded the Brownlow Medal.

Unfortunately for players who were suspended by the AFL Tribunal during the season, they're ineligible to win the award. This means Richmond Tigers superstar Dustin Martin, who is expected to poll well, is unable to win his second Brownlow Medal this year.

Are there any other awards presented?

The Brownlow isn't the only award presented on the night. The AFL will announce the winner of the mark of the year as well as the goal of the year.

Where is the Brownlow Medal ceremony held?

Crown Casino in Melbourne will host the 2019 Brownlow Medal awards ceremony. The awards ceremony has only been held outside of Victoria once since its inception in 1924.

How to watch the Brownlow Medal awards?

The Brownlow Medal awards ceremony is exclusive to the Seven Network, though which channel it will be broadcast on varies state by state, so be sure to check local guides. Coverage of the event starts at 7:30pm AEST with the AFL Brownlow Medal Red Carpet, which usually sees all eyes on players WAGS fashion choices. Then from 8:20pm AEST the official Brownlow Medal ceremony starts.

Previous 20 Brownlow Medal winners

Year Winner Team Votes
2018 Tom Mitchell Hawthorn Hawks 28
2017 Dustin Martin Richmond Tigers 36
2016 Patrick Dangerfield Geelong Cats 35
2015 Nat Fyfe Fremantle Dockers 31
2014 Matt Priddis West Coast Eagles 26
2013 Gary Ablett Jr. Geelong Cats 28
2012 Trent Cotchin Richmond Tigers 26
2012 Sam Mitchell Hawthorn Hawks 26
2011 Dane Swan Collingwood Magpies 34
2010 Chris Judd Carlton Blues 30
2009 Gary Ablett Jr. Geelong Cats 30
2008 Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs 24
2007 Jimmy Bartel Geelong Cats 29
2006 Adam Goodes Sydney Swans 26
2005 Ben Cousins West Coast Eagles 20
2004 Chris Judd West Coast Eagles 30
2003 Adam Goodes Sydney Swans 22
2003 Nathan Buckley Collingwood Magpies 22
2003 Mark Ricciuto Adelaide Crows 22
2002 Simon Black Brisbane Lions 25
2001 Jason Akermanis Brisbane Lions 23
2000 Shane Woewodin Melbourne Demons 24

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site