Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score

Free

Jetstar review: Sydney to Tokyo

Discover the highs and lows of booking with the budget airline to Tokyo and back.

Updated

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder .

I'm a stickler for a good Jetstar deal, and one of the airline's best and most popular deals is its Japan return-for-free sale.

The sale occurs a few times per year and sees you pay for your outbound flight and then pay nothing to return. That's right, nix.

So when the opportunity arose to jump ship for a week to Tokyo, Japan, for under $527 return, including 15 kilograms of baggage, I couldn't resist.

Flight Details:

Flight Numbers: JQ952 and JQ025 (outbound), JQ026 and JQ957 (inbound)
Aircraft Type: Airbus 321 (domestic) and Boeing 787 (international)
Route: Sydney to Tokyo via Cairns, return
Class: Economy
Dates travelled: 24 February - 2 March 2018
Frequent Flyer: Qantas Frequent Flyer

Jetstar: What I liked

  • Cheap fares. For $527 return out of Sydney, including limited luggage, it's difficult to find anything cheaper. I had to sacrifice in-flight meals to keep the fare this low, but unlike other budget airlines, Jetstar doesn't ban you from bringing your own food on board, so you can pack a meal to save your dosh. I also sacrificed the in-flight entertainment; however, it only costs $10 per flight and includes the latest blockbusters, making it a steal for those who need TV time to fall asleep or are unable to sleep on planes.
  • Comfortable seats. I'm not a tall person by any means, though I have been in cramped quarters in planes, and Jetstar is one of the few budget airlines that provides me with enough leg room to allow for a relatively comfortable sleep. This was true for both my domestic and international flights.
  • Solo traveller perks. I experienced both perks and disadvantages of travelling alone on my flights. When travelling from Sydney to Cairns I was lucky enough to have a row of three to myself and from Cairns back to Sydney, I was bumped up to seat 1C (the exit row), right at the front and again with a row of three to myself. I've had this occur before due to the flight being empty and the airline needing to "balance" the plane by upgrading single passengers to the front of the plane where you'd otherwise have to pay more for the privilege. Needless to say, both were comfortable flights.
  • Online and self check-in. Jetstar emails you when online check-in is available enabling you to check-in and receive your boarding pass before you arrive at the airport. This cuts your time spent in line as you can head straight to the bag drop counter or through to screening and security if you've only opted for carry-on luggage. Unfortunately, for this flight, I could only self check-in my domestic leg and not the international portion of my flight (see below).

Hello exit row/legroom!

Jetstar: What I didn’t like

  • Having to check-in twice for my flight. Jetstar doesn't fly direct from Sydney to Tokyo, so all flights are via Cairns or the Gold Coast. While this breaks up the flight, it meant I was travelling one domestic leg and one international, so I had to collect my luggage at Cairns Airport, walk from the domestic to the international terminal (not far) and line up to check in again at Cairns for my international flight. For my outgoing flight, this was seamless as the check-in counter was already open, but for my return journey, I had a four-hour wait from 5am, which meant milling around in the wee hours of the morning waiting for the counter to open. Not the most desirable experience.
  • Solo traveller disadvantages. When checking into my return flight from Tokyo to Cairns, I was left stressed and confused. The lady at the counter said that since I hadn't paid to reserve a seat, I would have to wait until all passengers in line had checked in before they could determine where to place me on the plane. This is something I've never experienced before; however, she was lovely and gave me a seat from behind the counter to sit on as I waited, hoping Jetstar hadn't overbooked the flight and were bumping me off. She called me up immediately after the line cleared and found me a seat between two other solo travellers. While it all worked out, I had to run to the gate since I wound up checking in just one hour before my flight due to the delay.
  • Strict luggage weight limit. Refusing to allow you to check your bag in if it's over your purchased weight is fairly true of budget airlines, but Jetstar follows this rule to a "T". It will either charge you for the excess kilograms or insist you pull every piece of clothing out of your bag until it meets your purchased checked-luggage weight. Luckily, I weighed myself both ways so I didn't have a problem with my bag; however, I saw passengers who were forced to open up and take out their stuff at the counter next to me.

Would I travel with Jetstar again?

As a budget traveller, I'm content with any seat on a plane to get me from A to B, and for the price I paid, I wouldn't hesitate in returning back to Jetstar for another sojourn through Japan.

The booking process was easy, the check-in was smooth and the service was friendly. Just be prepared to walk between terminals if you're travelling between Sydney and Japan and weigh your luggage well before hitting the check-in.

Top Jetstar flight deals to hop onto:

Kayak Kayak

Australia-wide flights from $52 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Cairns, Perth, Broome, Melbourne and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Australia flights from $87 return

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Gold Coast, Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Launceston and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Sydney flights from $47 each way

Available on select dates until January 2021. Sample fare departs from Avalon with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Brisbane flights from $74 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Expedia.com.au Expedia.com.au

Domestic flights from $145 return

Available on select travel dates until February 2021. Destinations include Adelaide, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Perth, Darwin, Hamilton Island and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Byron Bay with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Australia-wide flights from $41 + one free date change

Available on Jetstar flights until January 2021 to Sydney, Ballina, Uluru, Brisbane, Darwin, Cairns, Hobart, Townsville and more. Sample fare is Adelaide-Melbourne.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

New Zealand flights from $243 return

Available on select dates from January - October 2021 to Christchurch, Wellington, Queenstown, Dunedin and more. Sample fare is Sydneyt-Auckland with Jetstar. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Hawaii flights from $425 return

Available on select dates from March - September 2021. Sample fare is Sydney-Honolulu with Jetstar. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Australia flights from $109 return

Available on flights until January 2021 to Hobart, Perth, Darwin, Gold Coast, Uluru, Melbourne, Canberra, Brisbane, Adelaide and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Sydney flights from $115 return

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Gold Coast with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Byron Bay flights from $81 return

Available on flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Townsville flights from $177 return

Available on flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Brisbane with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Sydney, Cairns, Gold Coast and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Adelaide flights from $89 return

Available on select dates until February 2021. Sample fare is Avalon-Adelaide with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Cairns, Hobart, Perth and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Cairns flights from $178 return

Available on select dates until December 2020. Sample fare is Brisbane-Cairns with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Sydney, Perth and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Brisbane flights from $144 return

Available on select flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Mackay with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Cairns flights from $84 each way

Available on select dates until February 2021. Sample fare departs from Brisbane with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Hobart flights from $130 return

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Melbourne with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Gold Coast flights from $52 each way

Available on select dates until April 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Townsville flights from $175 return

Available on flights in November 2020. Sample fare departs from Brisbane with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Newcastle flights from $311 return

Available on flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Cairns, Ballina, Darwin and Brisbane.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Sydney flights from $121 return

Available on select dates until December 2020. Sample fare is Gold Coast-Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Ballina flights from $133 return

Available on select dates until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Adelaide flights from $160 return

Available on select dates from October 2020 - February 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Melbourne flights from $142 return

Available on select dates from October 2020 - January 2021. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Perth flights from $340 return

Available on select dates from October 2020 - February 2021. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Asia flights from $247 return

Available on select dates in 2021 to Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, Vietnam, Thailand and more. Sample fare is Perth-Bali with Jetstar and AirAsia. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
16 Oct 2020 Up to 12% off international flights PAY****
9 Oct 2020 Up to 10% off flights + extra bags STU****
7 Oct 2020 Thanksgiving sale: Up to $25 off flight fees TG2****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $10 off international flights FLY****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $100 off business class flights OCT****

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.

2 Responses

  1. Default Gravatar
    NoniJanuary 23, 2019

    Can I travel Sydney/Japan/Borneo/Sydney with anyone? Thanks

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      ValJanuary 26, 2019Staff

      Hi Noni,

      Thanks for leaving a question.

      Yes, you can travel with anyone, just please note rates are per individual – bookings will be separate. Please read the T&C if checking on deals.

      Cheers,
      Val

Go to site