Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score, free

Free

Jetstar review: Sydney to Ho Chi Minh City

Posted: 14 May 2018 12:31 pm News

What it's like on a budget night flight from Australia to Vietnam

My fiance's cousin decided to have her wedding in Ho Chi Minh City and, since I hadn’t been to Vietnam before, I was quick to put my hand up for the “destination do”.

After delaying booking flights for possibly too long, we finally jumped on a Jetstar sale, booking a one-way from Sydney to Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC) for $256.92 per person including 25kg of checked luggage between the two of us.

Our flight left late on a Tuesday, meaning I wouldn't have to take the day off work, and got us in on a Wednesday morning, giving us two days to see the city and adjust before spending the weekend drinking, partying and drinking some more.

Flight details

Route: Sydney to Ho Chi Minh City, direct
Date travelled: 16 January 2018
Class: Economy
Flight number: JQ61
Aircraft type: Boeing 787 Dreamliner
Frequent flyer program: Qantas

What I liked

  • Cheap fare: My travel is often driven by cheap fares and with Jetstar being one of the few airlines to offer direct budget-priced flights to our intended destination, this one was a no-brainer. Sure, the tickets can go down to under $200 each way but with checked luggage added, we weren't paying too much more than rock-bottom for the privilege.
  • Night flight: You've got to love a night flight that lets you save an extra day of annual leave, and with our flight taking off at 7:45pm there was more than enough time to finish up work on time (OK, maybe I left slightly early) and get to the airport with no panic dramas.
  • Direct flight: Jetstar has the monopoly over budget airlines, offering non-stop flights between Sydney and Ho Chi Minh City. In fact, outside of Vietnam Airlines it's the only airline that flies this route direct. No changes meant no second check-in or having to get off the plane, which is a godsend when you're flying at night and all you want is a little shut-eye.

What I didn’t like

  • Night flight: While there's no denying the benefits of a night flight, the journey between Sydney and Ho Chi Minh City is just shy of 9 hours and the time difference between the two is 3 hours. In other words, we arrived at our destination just after midnight. This meant we had to organise a driver to pick us up from the airport instead of my usual means of transfer – public transport. It also meant we had to book an extra night's accommodation (Monday night) because of the arrival time. Just some food for thought.
  • No Qantas Frequent Flyer points: Because we purchased a saver fare, my loyalty to Qantas and Jetstar did me no good here with no points earned on this leg of my trip (though I did get 800, plus 10 status credits, on my flight between Ho Chi Minh City and Da Nang which was miles shorter and cost me about $40).
  • Long check-in queue: We got to Sydney Airport with a fairly good buffer time of 2 hours to check in but we were met with a line that snaked beyond the maze barrier. In the time that we waited we each managed to hit the bathroom, take some cash out of the ATM and snack on some food. This peak period was probably due to the flight leaving outside of work hours, but it's never fun to have to wait in the check-in line for long.

Would I fly Jetstar again?

I've flown Jetstar numerous times and am a huge advocate of budget travel and budget airlines and have no reason to not fly the airline again.

This route in particular has so many benefits, from being cheap and direct to offering a well-timed service for the working commuter seeking to keep as many annual leave days in their pocket as possible. Plus, if you purchase your flight outside of the sale there's the chance you'll actually earn Qantas points on your flight, which is always a bonus.

Catch the latest Jetstar flight deals below:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Groupon Groupon

Up to 75% off local deals

Available on select dates and activities like spas, skydiving, skywalks, classes and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth and more. Minimum spend may apply. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Groupon Groupon

Up to 73% off getaways

Available for travel on select dates to Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Launceston, Newcastle, Noosa Heads, Cairns and much more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 40% off pet friendly hotels

Available on stays until October 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra and Brisbane. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 56% off Australia stays

Available on stays until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Brisbane, Townsville, Adelaide, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 30% off last minute Australia stays

Available stays until October 2020 in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Canberra, Adelaide, Brisbane, Newcastle, Rockhampton and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

$20 off Australia rentals

Available on rentals until 31 January 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $200 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Adrenaline Adrenaline

Up to 63% off domestic activities

Available on select dates and activities like skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, off road v8 race buggies, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing and much more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Trip.com Trip.com

Domestic flights from $69 each way

Available on flights from September - October 2020 with Fly Pelican. Destinations include Ballina, Cobar, Canberra and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Newcastle.

Last verified

Deal ends

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Up to 60% off Australia-wide stays + Extra 8% off with code

Available on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Newcastle and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off Australia and New Zealand rentals

Available on select dates until 15 December 2020. Rental must be for 2 days or more and booked 21 days in advance. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

P&O Cruises P&O Cruises

Free room upgrade on sailings

Available on select cruises from December 2020 - September 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Auckland, Norfolk Island and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Oaks Hotels & Resorts Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Up to 20% off Australia stays + Extra 10% off with code

Available on select stays dates until 30 June 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Gladstone, Townsville, Adelaide, Glenelg and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Wotif Wotif

Up to 66% off Australia stays

Available on stays until May 2021 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra $10 off site-wide with code

Valid on all dates, including over Christmas, on activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, scuba diving, cruises and more. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra 10% off Australia activities with code

Valid on all dates on activities like skydiving, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, cruises, tours and more. Minimum spend of $100 applies. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates for select car hire in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Gold Coast stays from $49/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Surfers Paradise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Extra 8% off on hotel bookings

Save on hotel stays before 31 December 2020 in Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Fiji, Thailand, Singapore, USA and more. Available at select hotels.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

New Zealand stays from $30/night

Available on select dates from July onward for Auckland, Wellington, Queenstown and Christchurch stays. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Melbourne stays from $50/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Melbourne Central Business District. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Refer a friend and get $25 Airbnb credit

Give a friend $50 toward their first stay and get $25 credit for yourself toward a future booking.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off base rate

Available on rentals until 15 December 2020 in Australia and New Zealand. Pick up on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday required to avail offer. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Deal ends

Trafalgar Tours Trafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off last minute trips

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Europe, UK, the Middle East, Argentina, India, Asia, New Zealand, Australia and Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Otel.com Otel.com

Extra 9% off hotel bookings

Valid on select hotel stays worldwide like Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe and more on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Some restrictions apply.

Last verified

Rentalcars.com Rentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 20% off experiences for 2 + Extra 10% off with code

Available on select dates for experiences like tours, zoo and wildlife interactions, hot air balloon flights, skydiving and more. Destinations include Sydney, Hunter Valley, Melbourne, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 60% off Australia activities + Extra 10% off with code

Available on select dates and activities like hot air balloon flights, tandem skydiving, getaways, driving experiences and more. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Klook Klook

Up to 10% off winery tours + Extra $10 off with code

Available on select dates until March 2021 when you spend a minimum of $100. Destinations include Hunter Valley, Adelaide, Brisbane, Perth, Canberra, Hobart and Launceston. Applicable to new Klook members. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Priceline.com Priceline.com

Up to 60% off express deals

Available on select dates. Participating hotels include Kimpton Hotels, Westin Hotels & Resorts, Hyatt Hotels, Hilton Garden Inn, Intecontinental Hotels & Resorts and more. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Avis Avis

Free double upgrade on rentals

Available on rentals until 18 December 2020. Destinations include Hobart, Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Adelaide and more. Minimum of 2 days rental required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Avis Avis

4th day free + free upgrade on Australia car hires

Available on rentals until 18 December 2020 to Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Adelaide and more. Minimum 4 days rental required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Skyscanner Car Hire Skyscanner Car Hire

Brisbane car hire from $23

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 with Avis, Budget, Sixt, Europcar and more. Destinations from Brisbane include Gold Coast, Moreton Island, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Voyagin Voyagin

Up to 40% off things to do in Australia + Extra USD$10 with code

Available on select dates and activities such as Sydney attractions tickets, SEA LIFE Aquarium Sydney, Sydney Harbour Bridge climb and more. Minimum spend of $150 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Voyagin Voyagin

Extra USD$40 off activities with code

Available for travel on select dates. Destinations include Japan, Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia, South Korea, Australia, New Zaeland and more. Minimum spend of $450 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Voyagin Voyagin

Extra USD$25 off activities with code

Available for travel on select dates. Destinations include Japan, Singapore, Bali, Thailand, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand and more. Minimum spend of $300 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Voyagin Voyagin

Extra USD$10 off activities with code

Available for travel on select dates. Destinations include Japan, Singapore, Bali, Thailand, Malaysia and more. Minimum spend of $150 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Contiki Contiki

Up to 15% off Australia tours

Available on select 2020 and 2021 dates for trips to Byron Bay, Uluru, Perth, Whitsundays, Melbourne, Adelaide and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skydive Australia Skydive Australia

Up to $20 off skydiving with code

Get $20 off per person when you book for 4 or more. Destinations include Sydney, Byron Bay, Newcastle, Cairns, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Groupon Groupon

Up to 57% off Great Ocean Road attractions and hotels

Save on day tours, hotel stays, skydives and more along the Great Ocean Road. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Popular Travel coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
15 Sep 2020 $20 off Australia rentals FIN****
19 Aug 2020 Extra $10 off site-wide with code FDR****
19 Aug 2020 Extra 10% off Australia activities with code RBF****
5 Aug 2020 Extra 8% off on hotel bookings CLP****
29 Jul 2020 Get $20 credit FIN****

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site