Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score

Free

Jetstar flight review: Adelaide-Sydney

What happens when you fly home to Sydney on a Sunday night.

Updated

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder .

Being driven by price rather than loyalty, I split my trip to Adelaide between Virgin Australia and Jetstar.

On a Sunday evening, the low-cost carrier offered the cheapest price on a late-night flight that meant I could make the most of my day in Adelaide without overpaying to get home and back to work by Monday.

Flight details

Route: Adelaide-Sydney
Duration: 1 hour, 55 minutes
Flight number: JQ769
Aircraft type: A320
Dates travelled: 3 March 2019
Class: Economy
Frequent flyer program: None
Points earned: None

Stephanie Yip's Jetstar review ★★★★★

  • Legroom: I felt quite comfortable with the legroom available.
  • Timeliness: My flight left and arrived on time.
  • No carry-on baggage check. I thought Jetstar would be strict with this, but they scanned the flight through without weighing anyone's carry-on luggage.
  • Cost: For a Sunday night flight during the Clipsal 500 Adelaide, Jetstar offered the best price at a time that was convenient for me. I paid $199 for the 7:45pm peak flight.

What did I like?

  • Legroom: For someone of my height (156cm) the A320 provides more than enough legroom to stretch out in. The story might be different for someone a foot taller though.
  • Timeliness: No dramas here. The gates opened on time, the plane left on time and we touched down a few minutes early.
  • Online check-in. Jetstar has an online check-in service that sends you your boarding pass via email or SMS for free. As I had no check-in luggage, this meant I could go straight to the security screening and was at my boarding gate within minutes of arriving at the airport.
  • No carry-on baggage check. I'll admit, my bags were a little overweight (~700g over the 7kg limit), but luckily, Jetstar wasn't checking any bags, despite it being a full flight.

Picture not described: Screen-Shot-2019-03-20-at-11.25.59-AM.png Image: Getty

What didn't I like?

  • Cost: This isn't a major dislike, but the cost wasn't too much cheaper than a full-service airline. If the flight time hadn't been preferable, I would have been happy to pay a touch more to get on a Virgin or Qantas flight. At $199 one way, it's quite a steep price compared to Jetstar sale fares, which can start from $66 each way. I did, however, book the flight a week prior, which no doubt brought the fare up even further.

Would I use Jetstar again?

Everything about my Jetstar flight ran smoothly, from check-in (which I did online via the app) to boarding and landing. So yes, I would fly with Jetstar again. Hopefully next time I'll be able to book a little earlier to nab a better deal though.


Jetstar flight deals and sales:

Kayak Kayak

Australia-wide flights from $52 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Cairns, Perth, Broome, Melbourne and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Australia flights from $87 return

Available on select dates until March 2021 to Gold Coast, Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Launceston and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Sydney flights from $47 each way

Available on select dates until January 2021. Sample fare departs from Avalon with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Brisbane flights from $74 each way

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Expedia.com.au Expedia.com.au

Domestic flights from $145 return

Available on select travel dates until February 2021. Destinations include Adelaide, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Perth, Darwin, Hamilton Island and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Byron Bay with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Australia-wide flights from $41 + one free date change

Available on Jetstar flights until January 2021 to Sydney, Ballina, Uluru, Brisbane, Darwin, Cairns, Hobart, Townsville and more. Sample fare is Adelaide-Melbourne.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

New Zealand flights from $243 return

Available on select dates from January - October 2021 to Christchurch, Wellington, Queenstown, Dunedin and more. Sample fare is Sydneyt-Auckland with Jetstar. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Hawaii flights from $425 return

Available on select dates from March - September 2021. Sample fare is Sydney-Honolulu with Jetstar. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Australia flights from $109 return

Available on flights until January 2021 to Hobart, Perth, Darwin, Gold Coast, Uluru, Melbourne, Canberra, Brisbane, Adelaide and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Ballina with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Sydney flights from $115 return

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Gold Coast with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Byron Bay flights from $81 return

Available on flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Townsville flights from $177 return

Available on flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Brisbane with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Sydney, Cairns, Gold Coast and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Adelaide flights from $89 return

Available on select dates until February 2021. Sample fare is Avalon-Adelaide with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Cairns, Hobart, Perth and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Cairns flights from $178 return

Available on select dates until December 2020. Sample fare is Brisbane-Cairns with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Sydney, Perth and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Cheap Flights Cheap Flights

Brisbane flights from $144 return

Available on select flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Mackay with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Cairns flights from $84 each way

Available on select dates until February 2021. Sample fare departs from Brisbane with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Hobart flights from $130 return

Available on select dates until March 2021. Sample fare departs from Melbourne with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Gold Coast flights from $52 each way

Available on select dates until April 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Townsville flights from $175 return

Available on flights in November 2020. Sample fare departs from Brisbane with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Newcastle flights from $311 return

Available on flights until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar. Other flights depart from Cairns, Ballina, Darwin and Brisbane.

Last verified

Deal ends

I Want That Flight I Want That Flight

Sydney flights from $121 return

Available on select dates until December 2020. Sample fare is Gold Coast-Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Ballina flights from $133 return

Available on select dates until December 2020. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Adelaide flights from $160 return

Available on select dates from October 2020 - February 2021. Sample fare departs from Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Melbourne flights from $142 return

Available on select dates from October 2020 - January 2021. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Perth flights from $340 return

Available on select dates from October 2020 - February 2021. Sample fare departs from Adelaide with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Asia flights from $247 return

Available on select dates in 2021 to Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, Vietnam, Thailand and more. Sample fare is Perth-Bali with Jetstar and AirAsia. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site