Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score

Free

Huawei Y9 Prime 2019 review

Last updated:  

Quick verdict: The Huawei Y9 Prime is a top-notch budget handset that we'd enthusiastically recommend were it not for the issues surrounding Huawei's access to Google updates and services.

The good

  • Good front and back cameras
  • Solid battery life
  • Decent performance within its price range

The bad

  • Huawei's access to Google apps and services could be limited
  • Front camera can be slow to pop up
  • EMUI can still be annoying for Android purists.

6.59 inches

Display size

2340 x 1080px

128GB

Internal storage

16MP + 8MP + 2MP

Rear camera

4,000 mAh

Battery size

Finder rated as Good vs similar phones

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder.

Details

Display

Display Size
6.59 inches
Resolution
2340 x 1080px
Pixels per inch (PPI)
391 ppi

Camera

Rear camera megapixels
16MP + 8MP + 2MP
Video recording
1080p
Front camera megapixels
16MP

Physical Dimensions

Dimensions
163.5mm x 77.3mm x 8.8mm
Weight
196.8g

Connectivity

NFC
No
Wi-Fi
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Network category speed
Category 21

Power, storage and battery

Processor
Hisilicon Kirin 710F
RAM
4GB
Operating system
Android 9
Internal storage
128GB
External storage support
Up to 512GB
Battery capacity
4,000mAh

Device features

Headphone jack
Yes
Fingerprint sensor
Yes
Water resistance rating
N/A
Launch price (RRP)$0
Launch date13th May 2019
We searched our partners for the lowest price
The cheapest we found:
$289.00
+ shipping
Huawei Y9 Prime 2019
The smartphone story for Huawei in 2019 should have been one of celebrated victory. Even now with competing smartphones from Samsung, Apple, LG, Oppo and many others to contend with, its P30 Pro stands tall among camera phones in the premium space.

That's not what happened, however, with the US ban on Huawei so seriously limiting its access to Google apps and services that it has launched the Huawei Mate 30 Pro without full Google access, and, at the time of writing, not yet in Australia at all.

In the middle of this kerfuffle, Huawei has also launched the more affordably priced Huawei Y9 Prime 2019. It's a full Google Android phone, so you do get access to all of Google's services, but it's a rather more open question about what happens with any future updates or access. It could well be that the Huawei Y9 Prime 2019 is Huawei's last "proper" Android phone to launch in Australia.

Unfortunately, that prospect of worrying about access to Google has to be part of your decision matrix when considering the Huawei Y9 Prime 2019 because removed from it, Huawei's produced an exceptionally competitive mid-range handset.

Design

  • Midnight Black or Sapphire Blue finishes
  • Full-screen 6.59-inch display
  • Rear fingerprint sensor
  • Still has a headphone jack
Huawei Y9 Prime 2019
Back to top

Camera

  • Selfie camera delivers good results – but it's not quick
  • Rear cameras are very good for a phone in this price category
Huawei Y9 Prime 2019
Back to top

Performance

  • Kirin 710 provides adequate mid-range power
  • EMUI is still a love-it-or-loathe-it proposition
  • Update future is super-murky
Huawei Y9 Prime 2019
Back to top

Battery life

  • 4,000mAh battery gives good all-day battery life
  • App management can be a little overly aggressive
Back to top

Verdict

  • Great value for the money
  • But what happens with updates?
Huawei Y9 Prime 2019
Back to top

Pricing and availability

$289.00
+ shipping
Sold by: Amazon AU
Pricing accurate as of 29th October 2020. We update price information daily, however, prices can change often throughout the day so the listed prices may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date at the time you compare prices. We recommend that you confirm the price on the retailer's site.

Alternatives

There are plenty of alternatives to the Huawei Y9 Prime 2019 because 2019 has been a bumper year for really top-value mid-range handsets.

It's been mentioned already in this review, but at the same price point, you could consider the Motorola Moto G7 Power, with its 5,000mAh battery.

Specifications

Display

Display Size
6.59 inches
Resolution
2340 x 1080px
Pixels per inch (PPI)
391 ppi

Camera

Rear camera megapixels
16MP + 8MP + 2MP
Video recording
1080p
Front camera megapixels
16MP

Physical Dimensions

Dimensions
163.5mm x 77.3mm x 8.8mm
Weight
196.8g

Connectivity

NFC
No
Wi-Fi
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Network category speed
Category 21

Power, storage and battery

Processor
Hisilicon Kirin 710F
RAM
4GB
Operating system
Android 9
Internal storage
128GB
External storage support
Up to 512GB
Battery capacity
4,000mAh

Device features

Headphone jack
Yes
Fingerprint sensor
Yes
Water resistance rating
N/A
Back to top

Ask an expert

To ask a question simply log in via your email or create an account.

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site