List of Australian Open winners

Wondering who has won the most? Who won last year? Here's every Australian Open winner and runner-up.

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

The Australian Open has never dished up too many surprises when it comes to the men's winner. Dating all the way back to 2004, there have only been 5 different winners. It's really just a three-man party with the highly ranked Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer winning all of those but two.

Djokovic especially knows what it takes to win taking out 7 of the last 10 tournaments. The Serb loves playing in Melbourne and could very well add yet another big paycheque and Norman Brookes trophy. Also pour one out for poor Andy Murray. The Brit has finished runner-up five times and it seems his window to win is now firmly closed.

Women's tennis is a little more volatile. While one name on the list sticks out, Serena Williams, elsewhere there's a lot more variation. You've got to go all the way back to 1978 to find the last Australian to win in Chris O'Neil. Hopefully Ash Barty can end that streak soon and add to her French Open title.

Glancing over the rest of the field and 2019 winner Naomi Osaka is a name that could be added to this list for years to come. At just 22 years old she and Barty (24) may break this erratic cycle and trade first or second finishes for the next decade.

List of Australian Open tennis winners

Who will add their names to this prestigious list in 2021?

1969Rod LaverAndrés GimenoMargaret CourtBillie Jean King
1970Arthur AsheDick CrealyMargaret CourtKerry Melville
1971Ken RosewallArthur AsheMargaret CourtEvonne Goolagong
1972Ken RosewallMalcolm AndersonVirginia WadeEvonne Goolagong
1973John NewcombeOnny ParunMargaret CourtEvonne Goolagong
1974Jimmy ConnorsPhil DentEvonne GoolagongChris Evert
1975John NewcombeJimmy ConnorsEvonne GoolagongMartina Navratilova
1976Mark EdmondsonJohn NewcombeEvonne GoolagongRenáta Tomanová
1977 (Jan)Roscoe TannerGuillermo VilasKerry Melville ReidDianne Fromholtz
1977 (Dec)Vitas GerulaitisJohn LloydEvonne GoolagongHelen Gourlay
1978Guillermo VilasJohn MarksChris O'NeilBetsy Nagelsen
1979Guillermo VilasJohn SadriBarbara JordanSharon Walsh
1980Brian TeacherKim WarwickHana MandlíkováWendy Turnbull
1981Johan KriekSteve DentonMartina NavratilovaChris Evert
1982Johan KriekSteve DentonChris EvertMartina Navratilova
1983Mats WilanderIvan LendlMartina NavratilovaKathy Jordan
1984Mats WilanderKevin CurrenChris EvertHelena Suková
1985Stefan EdbergMats WilanderMartina NavratilovaChris Evert
1986No contestNo contestNo contestNo contest
1987Stefan EdbergPat CashHana MandlíkováMartina Navratilova
1988Mats WilanderPat CashSteffi GrafChris Evert
1989Ivan LendlMiloslav MečířSteffi GrafHelena Suková
1990Ivan LendlStefan EdbergSteffi GrafMary Joe Fernández
1991Boris BeckerIvan LendlMonica SelesJana Novotná
1992Jim CourierStefan EdbergMonica SelesMary Joe Fernández
1993Jim CourierStefan EdbergMonica SelesSteffi Graf
1994Pete SamprasTodd MartinSteffi GrafArantxa Sánchez Vicario
1995Andre AgassiPete SamprasMary PierceArantxa Sánchez Vicario
1996Boris BeckerMichael ChangMonica SelesAnke Huber
1997Pete SamprasCarlos MoyáMartina HingisMary Pierce
1998Petr KordaMarcelo RíosMartina HingisConchita Martínez
1999Yevgeny KafelnikovThomas EnqvistMartina HingisAmélie Mauresmo
2000Andre AgassiYevgeny KafelnikovLindsay DavenportMartina Hingis
2001Andre AgassiArnaud ClémentJennifer CapriatiMartina Hingis
2002Thomas JohanssonMarat SafinJennifer CapriatiMartina Hingis
2003Andre AgassiRainer SchüttlerSerena WilliamsVenus Williams
2004Roger FedererMarat SafinJustine HeninKim Clijsters
2005Marat SafinLleyton HewittSerena WilliamsLindsay Davenport
2006Roger FedererMarcos BaghdatisAmélie MauresmoJustine Henin
2007Roger FedererFernando GonzálezSerena WilliamsMaria Sharapova
2008Novak DjokovicJo-Wilfried TsongaMaria SharapovaAna Ivanovic
2009Rafael NadalRoger FedererSerena WilliamsDinara Safina
2010Roger FedererAndy MurraySerena WilliamsJustine Henin
2011Novak DjokovicAndy MurrayKim ClijstersLi Na
2012Novak DjokovicRafael NadalVictoria AzarenkaMaria Sharapova
2013Novak DjokovicAndy MurrayVictoria AzarenkaLi Na
2014Stan WawrinkaRafael NadalLi NaDominika Cibulková
2015Novak DjokovicAndy MurraySerena WilliamsMaria Sharapova
2016Novak DjokovicAndy MurrayAngelique KerberSerena Williams
2017Roger FedererRafael NadalSerena WilliamsVenus Williams
2018Roger FedererMarin ČilićCaroline WozniackiSimona Halep
2019Novak DjokovicRafael NadalNaomi OsakaPetra Kvitová
2020Novak DjokovicDominic ThiemSofia KeninGarbiñe Muguruza

Also be sure to read our Australian Open viewing guide to see whose name is destined for this list next.

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site