Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score

Free

Fiji Airways review: Sydney to Fiji

My one holiday to Fiji came complete with two very different flight experiences there and back.

Updated

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder .

Originally I had never intended to go on honeymoon straight after my wedding. But with the notion of going back to work two days after my big "do" seeming less and less appealing, my fiance and I decided it was better to escape than delay our honeymoon.

So, on a whim, we booked a package holiday with TravelOnline just a few weeks before our wedding. The price was right, coming in at $2,600 for both of us including full-service flights on Fiji Airways and a 5-star stay at the Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa. To be honest, the cost of the bundled package wasn’t much less than if we had booked flights and hotel separately, but the convenience of a one-click booking won us over.

We'd heard good things about both the airline and resort and, although we were more attuned to the backpacker travel lifestyle, we felt the occasion was worth the splurge. Carrying a bag packed with a few essentials and those mandatory swimsuits, we set off on our little getaway to bask in the sun and our newly married title of Mr. and Mrs.

Before I go on, I should remark that my outbound and inbound flights were polar opposite experiences. Departing, we flew on an old plane with minimal legroom and shared entertainment screens. Returning was like being transported back into the modern world, where we were met with a large craft, our own personal entertainment unit and enough legroom to swim in (so to speak).

Read on for more.

Flight details

Route: Sydney to Nadi, Fiji, direct
Dates Travelled: 29 May - 3 June 2018
Class: Economy
Flight Number(s): FJ0914 (outbound), FJ911 (inbound)
Aircraft Type: Boeing 737-800, winglets (outbound), Airbus Industrie A330-200 (inbound)
Frequent Flyer Program: Qantas Frequent Flyer

What did I like?

  • Direct flights: One of the reasons we opted for Fiji Airways was because it offers direct flights from Sydney, departing several times daily. This pulls the flight time to around 4 hours. The only other airlines to offer direct flights along this route are Virgin Australia, which flies direct once daily, and Jetstar which is a budget airline. The other alternatives fly via Melbourne, Brisbane or New Zealand and can take upwards of 12 hours, which is not ideal.
  • Ability to accrue frequent flyer points: Fiji Airways is aligned with Qantas, so I accrued Qantas Frequent Flyer points for my two flights. They arrived in my account within a week of returning and totalled 900 points, plus 20 status points.

  • Couple-friendly seating (inbound flight only): Returning back to Sydney, we were on a Airbus Industrie A330-200, which features a comfortable plane configuration for couples, with seating being 2-4-2. This was quite different from our outbound flight, but more on that later.

My ample legroom on the Fiji-Sydney inbound journey. Note that I'm slouching here.

  • Ample legroom (inbound flight only): The Airbus on our return trip had more than generous legroom in economy which is something I'd read about prior to flying and was pleasantly surprised about on my return flight.

What didn’t I like?

  • Use of dated planes (outbound flight only): When departing Sydney I was extremely shocked at how outdated the plane was.The Boeing 737-800 had shared entertainment monitors, standard leg room and food service that required the staff to physically carry meals down the aisle instead of push a trolley. I don't think I've been in a plane with shared monitors since I was a child! The scenario felt like an 80s time warp, lacking all those creature-comforts I'm used to when travelling, such as my own personal entertainment system.

  • Lack of air conditioning (outbound flight only): Another downfall of the outbound flight on the outdated plane was that the air conditioning either wasn't on or was set to warm. Typically, I'll layer up on a plane in anticipation of the air-conditioning and so unknowingly I rugged myself up before falling asleep only to wake up sweaty and dizzy from the excess heat. Something to bear in mind if you, like me, anticipate the ultra cold on the plane.
  • Restricted legroom (outbound flight only): As I've mentioned above, the legroom experience going there and coming back were also remarkably different. On my outbound flight it was restrictive, though, as I'm used to travelling with budget airlines, it wasn't something I'm not something foreign to me. For a full service airline like Fiji Airways though, it probably wasn't up to scratch and if the tables had been turned and I'd flown on the newer aircraft before the older I would have most definitely been disappointed over my diminished legroom situation.

Cramped quarters on my outbound Sydney-Fiji flight.


Would I use Fiji Airways again?

I'll admit my outbound flight was less than acceptable this only due to the condition of the plane. Otherwise the overall experience was pleasant, food up to scratch and service lovely – so yes, I would fly with the airline again. However, I'd do my research prior to choosing my flights, to check the make of aircraft and ensure I'm on a modern carrier before committing.


Keen to fly Fiji Airways? Check out the latest flight sales and deals below:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Groupon Groupon

Up to 75% off Australia activities + an extra up to 20% off with code

Available on select dates and activities like spas, skydiving, hot air balloon flights, tours, whale watching, skywalks, classes and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Klook Klook

$1 wine tastings in the Hunter Valley

Available on select dates in the Hunter Valley. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Extra $50 off Sydney and NSW stays

Get up to 18% off plus an extra discount on stays until 18 February 2021. Destinations include Hunter Valley, Newcastle, Byron Bay, Blue Mountains, Wollongong, Orange, Mudgee, Port Stephens. Minimum spend of $150 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Free rides in Sydney

Get a free ride up to $15 on weekends until 1 November 2020. Valid for Sydney rides only. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trip.com Trip.com

Qantas Airways: Domestic flights from $113 each way

Available on select dates until December 2020 to Canberra, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Brisbane, Cairns and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Gold Coast. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Skyscanner Skyscanner

Virgin Australia sale: Australia-wide flights from $69 each way

Available for flights on select dates from November 2020 - December 2021. Sample fare is Gold Coast-Sydney. Destinations include Launceston, Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Ballina Byron, Coffs Harbour, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Northern Territory activities from $36 + and extra $10 off off with code

Available on select dates and experiences like sightseeing tours, zoo and wildlife experience, spas, sailings, hot air balloon flights, scenic flights and much more. Minimum spend of $80 applies. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Trip.com Trip.com

Up to 38% off Australia attractions and experiences

Available on select travel dates in Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns, Darwin, Canberra, Melbourne and more. Attractions include SEA LIFE Aquarium Sydney, Sydney Featherdale Wildlife Park, Madame Tussauds and Eureka Skydeck. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra $10 off site-wide with code

Valid on all dates, including over Christmas, on activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, scuba diving, cruises, high tea and more. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Adrenaline Adrenaline

Up to 85% off domestic activities

Available on select dates for activities including skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing, high tea and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Canberra, Melbourne and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Wotif Wotif

Up to 60% off Australia stays

Available on stays until May 2021 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra 10% off Australia activities with code

Valid on all dates on activities like skydiving, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, cruises, tours, high tea and more. Minimum spend of $100 applies. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Refer a friend and get a $25 Airbnb credit

Give a friend $50 toward their first stay and get $25 credit for yourself toward a future booking.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Up to 60% off Australia-wide stays + an extra 8% off with code

Available on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Newcastle and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Oaks Hotels & Resorts Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Up to 30% off Australia stays

Available on select stays until 30 June 2021. Destinations include Darwin, Sydney, Brisbane, Gladstone, Townsville, Adelaide, Glenelg and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 56% off Australia getaways

Available on stays until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Brisbane, Townsville, Adelaide, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Trip.com Trip.com

Up to 46% off Australia-wide hotels

Available on select dates until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth and Hobart. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Trafalgar Tours Trafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off last-minute trips

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Europe, UK, the Middle East, Argentina, India, Asia, New Zealand, Australia and Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Viator Viator
Exclusive

10% off things to do in Australia

Available on select dates for activities including jet boat rides, sightseeing cruises, tours, wildlife and animal interactions and wine tastings. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne, Cairns and more. Discount will be applied at check-out. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar
Exclusive

$20 off nationwide rentals

Available on rentals until 31 January 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $200 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 40% off pet friendly hotels

Available on stays until October 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra and Brisbane. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 30% off last minute Australia stays

Available stays until October 2020 in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Canberra, Adelaide, Brisbane, Newcastle, Rockhampton and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off Australia and New Zealand rentals

Available on select dates until 15 December 2020. Rental must be for 2 days or more and booked 21 days in advance. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates for select car hire in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Gold Coast stays from $49/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Surfers Paradise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Extra 8% off on hotel bookings

Save on hotel stays before 31 December 2020 in Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Fiji, Thailand, Singapore, USA and more. Available at select hotels.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Airbnb Airbnb

Melbourne stays from $50/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Melbourne Central Business District. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off base rate

Available on rentals until 15 December 2020 in Australia and New Zealand. Pick up on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday required to avail offer. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Deal ends

Otel.com Otel.com

Extra 9% off hotel bookings

Valid on select hotel stays worldwide like Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe and more on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Some restrictions apply.

Last verified

Rentalcars.com Rentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

Groupon Groupon

Up to 73% off getaways + an extra up to 20% off with code

Available for travel on select dates to Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Launceston, Newcastle, Noosa Heads, Cairns and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 13% off domestic getaway packages + an extra 10% off with code

Available on select travel dates for stays in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Blue Mountains, Cairns, Canberra and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Australia experiences for 2 from $38 + Extra $10 off with code

Available on select dates for experiences like tours, zoo and wildlife interactions, hot air balloon flights, skydiving and more. Destinations include Sydney, Hunter Valley, Melbourne, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 60% off Australia activities + an extra 10% off with code

Available on select dates and activities like hot air balloon flights, tandem skydiving, getaways, driving experiences and more. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Hertz Hertz

Get 1 day free on Australia car hires

Available on rentals until 31 December 2020 when you book a minimum of 5 consecutive days. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Hertz Hertz

Free upgrade on Australia rentals

Available on rentals until 31 December 2020 when you use the code. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Skydive Australia Skydive Australia

Up to $20 off skydiving with code

Get $20 off per person when you book for 4 or more. Destinations include Sydney, Byron Bay, Newcastle, Cairns, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Luxury Escapes Luxury Escapes

Up to 61% off Australia holiday packages

Available on select dates until December 2021, including over Christmas and New Year's Eve. Destinations include Adelaide, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Sydney, Cairns, Canberra, Hunter Valley and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Avis Avis

4th day free + free upgrade on Australia car hires

Available on rentals until 18 December 2020 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Adelaide and more. Minimum 4 days rental required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Popular Travel coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
27 Oct 2020 Up to 75% off Australia activities + an extra up to 20% off with code TIC****
23 Oct 2020 $1 wine tastings in the Hunter Valley WIN****
23 Oct 2020 Extra $50 off Sydney and NSW stays NSW****
21 Oct 2020 Northern Territory activities from $36 + and extra $10 off off with code FDR****
21 Oct 2020 Extra $10 off site-wide with code FDR****

Popular Flights coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
16 Oct 2020 Up to 12% off international flights PAY****
9 Oct 2020 Up to 10% off flights + extra bags STU****
7 Oct 2020 Thanksgiving sale: Up to $25 off flight fees TG2****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $10 off international flights FLY****
7 Oct 2020 Up to $100 off business class flights OCT****

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site