⚡️⚡️⚡️
With energy prices rising, switch to a cheaper plan
💡
Compare Prices Now
⚡️⚡️⚡️

Bali Body Face Tan Water review

Well we tried it and yes, it works like a charm.

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Why face tan water?

Having a complexion that is a lot lighter and fairer than the skin on your body is a rather common problem. Some of use use heavy sunscreen on our face to avoid the damaging effects of the sun, we wear hats that shield our faces, we exfoliate and some of use acids or chemical peeling products on our face to keep our skin young.

While these are actually really good habits, it does mean that the colour of your face and body never seem to match up. My face is consistently about three or four shades lighter than the colour of my body. And that difference becomes even more pronounced in summer.

But, what can we do about it? Most fake tans aren't exactly designed for using on your face. So, the solution is finding a foundation that matches your body. But foundation washes off easily and it's not really ideal to wear to the beach or while exercising.

The quick verdict

Is it good: Yep, it's great!

How much is it?:$29.95 for 100mL

Where to buy it?: Bali Body

Enter face tan water. Cult beauty brand Bali Body has just launched it's very own face tan water - a clear, liquid product that can give you skin the appearance of a tan. While the concept isn't new, it's a first for this brand. Bali Body is a brand that mixes skincare with function. It creates practical, effective and fun products that love and nourish your skin. We've previously tried the brand's fantastic BB cream and the SPF+ 15 tanning oil - and they were both fantastic. So, we were keen to see if this new product would be a winner too.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by BALI BODY™ Official (@balibody) on Mar 6, 2019 at 5:02pm PST

How to use it?

I got the chance to try out the new Bali Body Face Tan Water and it's incredibly user-friendly.

I've found in the past that fake tanning products are hard to apply. And if you don't take special care, you'll end up streaky or patchy. The Bali Body Fake Tan Water is not like that. It comes in a mess-free pump bottle with a lid, so it's very easy to measure out. I used one or two pumps of product to do all of my face and neck.

You can apply it to a cotton pad if you like but I just used my hands and washed them well after I was done. The idea is to apply enough to leave a thin liquid layer over your skin, don't try and rub it in too much. Once your whole face is evenly coated, you'll just need to wait for the product to dry - and then just carry on with your day. It's that easy.

Picture not described: Bali-Body-face-tan-water-compared.jpg Image: Getty

Before and three -four hours after face tan water is applied

I applied the water to my neck and ears too, so I didn't end up with a pale neck and tanned face. Once the tan develops, you can wash your face and exfoliate as normal - I did. I was worried that my jurlique clay mask exfoliant would take the tan off, but it didn't. You can still apply your normal skincare products, the tan just wears off with time. If you want to keep your face tan, the instructions advise to reapply every two or three days to maintain your new sunkissed look.

What it does?

Your tan will develop slowly over about four to six hours. So resist the urge to apply more. Just because nothing's happened in the first hour, doesn't mean it wont.

Mine turned into a natural-looking even tan. Nothing overly yellow, nothing overly orange. It was a tan that matched my skintone and looked totally seamless. There were no weird lines denoting where the tan ended and started, it just blended. My face ended up still a little bit lighter than my body but the difference was not noticeable unless you were looking for it.

One thing that it was concerned about is whether this product would make me breakout. I have very oily skin and it doesn't take much for my skin to become congested and ridden with blackheads. But in true Bali Body fashion, this Face Tan Water did nothing but good for my skin. The product contains a hyaluronic acid derivative (sodium hyaluronate), jojoba oil and pH balancing rosewater, so it actually acts a little bit more like a hydrating face serum than a cosmetic product. And of course it's 100% vegan.

If you've had that experience where you've taken your makeup off and people start asking if you're sick or unwell, you'll know why this is such a game-changer. No one wants to be told they look ill just because they've chosen to skip their foundation. The Bali Body Face Tan Water has made me confident enough to ditch my makeup for the week.


More beauty reviews

Beauty Product of the Week: Alya Skin Multi-Complex Facial Oil

Beauty Product of the Week: Alya Skin Multi-Complex Facial Oil

The reparative facial oil you need to add to your routine this winter.

Read more…
Beauty Product of the Week: Go-To Repair Shop mask

Beauty Product of the Week: Go-To Repair Shop mask

A nourishing facial mask to add to your Sunday self-care night no matter your skin type.

Read more…
Beauty product of the week: K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask review

Beauty product of the week: K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask review

Is this 4-minute leave-in treatment the new Olaplex? I reviewed the K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask over four weeks to find out.

Read more…

Beauty sales and discounts

Code

$20 off your first order + FREE shipping

Verified 3 days ago Expires 30 Jun 2022
Simply use the code and enjoy $20 off your first order plus FREE shipping. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 50% off home, fashion and more

Verified 5 days ago
Enjoy up to 50% off a range of clothing, swimwear, footwear, beauty and homewares at Myer. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 70% off sale

Enjoy huge savings on electronics, homewares, appliances from Nutribullet, Gourmet Kitchen, Samsung and more at MyDeal. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 65% off: Clearance Sale

Enjoy up to 65% off Fanola, Nak Hair, Pureology, Inika, Lancôme and more at Oz Hair and Beauty. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 50% off collagen products

Expires 30 Jun 2022
Shop for your favourite collagen products and enjoy up to 50% discount at The Collagen Co. Valid for a limited time only. T&Cs, exclusions apply.
Code

$20 off $119 orders on contact lens

Use the code to enjoy the discount on contact lens brands including Acuvue, Alcon, CooperVision, and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 60% off sale

Get up to 60% off the most coveted pieces of the season including Fendi, Ganni, Isabel Marant and more at 24S. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

40% off sitewide

Expires 30 Dec 2025
Get your own personalised daily vitamin packs, safely delivered to your doorstep every month with 40% off at Vitable. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

20-50% off frames and suns

Expires 3 Jul 2022
Use the code at checkout and enjoy great discount at 1001 Optical. Hurry, code valid for a limited time only.
Deal

50% off sale

Enjoy 50% off sale at Alyaka. Exclusions, T&Cs apply
Deal

50% off your first pair of eyewear

Join VisionDirect's newsletter and get 50% off your first pair of eyewear. Including standard prescription lenses. Applicable to Arise Collective only. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

45% off everything

Expires 30 Jun 2022
Enjoy 45% off protein, clothing, snacks, vitamins and more. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

40% off sitewide

Expires 31 Dec 2024
Get a daily vitamin pack tailored to your goals, lifestyle and diet with 40% off at Vitable. T&Cs apply.
Deal

40% off teeth whitening

Shop now and enjoy great savings on best at-home teeth whitening kit at Smilie. Hurry, valid for a limited time only. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 40% off sale

Save up to 40% off on selected sunglasses and accessories at Quay. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 80% off everything

Enjoy up to 80% off a wide range of new dresses, tops, swimwear, beauty and more at PrettyLittleThing. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

15% off + up to 25% off your next order

Subscribe to OAUSTAR newsletter and enjoy 15% off, plus up to 25% off your next order. T&Cs apply.
Code

40% off sitewide

Get 40% off your orders at Myprotein. Simply use code upon checkout. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

$20 off luxury brands + 25% off frames and sunglasses

Enjoy $20 off luxury brands. Plus, 25% off a wide range of frames and sunglasses at 1001 Optical. Limited offer only. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 70% off sale

Shop further reductions now on clothing, shoes, bags and more. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 80% off fragrances

Get up to 80% off frangrances. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 60% off mum and baby range

Expires 1 Jan 2026
Enjoy up to 60% off mum and baby range at Pharmacy Online. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 50% off Sephora collection

Shop a variety of makeup and skincare products and enjoy up to 50% off the Sephora collection. Exclusions, T&Cs apply.
Code

Get 10% off your first order

To redeem this offer, enter the promo code at checkout on your first order from NET-A-PORTER. Valid for new customers only. Exclusions, T&Cs apply.
Deal

$50 off diet plan

Enjoy $50 savings on your diet plan when you register at CSIRO Total Wellbeing. Valid for a limited time only. T&Cs, exclusions apply.
Deal

12 weeks refund

Follow the 12-week program successfully and get 12 weeks refund of up to $199. T&Cs apply.
Deal

FREE shipping for all orders over $39.95

Shop scream-free bristle hair brush and unicorn towels at Ugly Swan and enjoy FREE shipping. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 28% off bundles

Buy the hair care packs and save at Ugly Swan. Hurry while stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

10% off orders over $75

Use the code to save 10% when you spend over $75 on glasses and accessories at Quay Australia. T&Cs apply.
Code exclusive

5% off your orders

Get 5% off on iHerb for all customers. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 70% off selected styles

Verified 2 days ago
Shop the outlet to grab a bargain on an awesome pair of sunglasses for 70% discount at Just Sunnies. T&Cs apply.
Code

50% off lens options

Verified 2 days ago Expires 30 Jun 2022
Get 50% off lens options when you purchase 2 pairs from the $249 range or above at Specsavers. Use the code upon checkout. T&Cs apply.
Deal

FREE 7-piece sample set

Verified 2 days ago Expires 30 Jun 2022
Valid when you spend $140 at Oz Hair and Beauty. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Code

Up to 70% off sale + Extra 8% off

Verified 4 days ago Expires 30 Jun 2022
Apply promo code at checkout to avail of discounts. Valid for a limited time only. Exclusions, T&Cs apply.
Deal

$20 off: Adore Beauty Exclusive

Verified 5 days ago Expires 30 Jun 2022
Find your promo code in your Adore Society Rewards page. Not a member? Join now. Minimum spend $75. T&Cs apply.
Code

Further 20% off select discounted items

Expires 30 Jun 2022
Enjoy the best beauty bargains on over 100 brands. Score a great deal on skincare, makeup, fragrance or hair products. T&Cs apply.
Code

Choose your 6-piece goodie bag

Expires 3 Jul 2022
Valid when you spend over $130 at Adore Beauty. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to 60% off sale

Enjoy up to 60% savings on select luxury brand bags at Cosette. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Up to $400 off select Dyson technology

Expires 29 Jun 2022
Save up to $400 on select vacuum cleaner and hair care technology with Dyson's EOFY event. Limited time only. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.
Deal

Receive your 5-piece Yves Saint Laurent gift

Expires 29 Jun 2022
Valid when you spend over $120 on Yves Saint Laurent fragrance, gifts, makeup and more from Adore Beauty. While stocks last. T&Cs apply.

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site