Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score, free


Big Bash League preview: Perth Scorchers team guide

The Perth Scorchers are approaching the BBL|09 season with a revamped team.


Fact checked
Picture not described

There's no way around it: BBL|08 was catastrophic for the Scorchers. Arguably the most successful franchise in the BBL with three titles, the Scorchers finished in last place, failing to qualify for the finals for the first time.

Additionally, they lost several key players, including Shaun Marsh (Renegades), Michael Klinger (retired), Nathan Coulter-Nile (Stars) and Hilton Cartwright (Stars). As a result, the team brought in some fresh blood, most notably internationals Chris Jordan and Liam Livingstone. Their comeback campaign will be interesting to watch, to say the least.

Live stream BBL on Kayo: Start your 14-day FREE trial now

How to watch Perth Scorchers BBL matches

Cricket fans can watch matches of the Perth Scorchers live and free. While some games are on Channel 7, only Kayo and Foxtel have all matches live, courtesy of Fox Cricket. For more broadcast details, check out our guide on how to watch the Big Bash League.

Stream BBL games live on Kayo Sports

All Perth Scorchers matches will be streamed live on Kayo Sports. You can get a Basic subscription for $25/month or a Premium one for $35/month. The only difference is that the first lets you watch on two screens simultaneously, while the latter supports three streams at the same time.

Whichever one you choose, you gain access to an impressive library of content, as the platform offers coverage of over 50 sports from all over the world. Plus, a 14-day free trial is available for new users.

Kayo Sports also comes with excellent features like SplitView, which lets you watch up to four videos at once on the same screen and Kayo Minis, which are condensed versions of key match-ups, delivering all the highlights in 20 minutes or less. You can read more about the service in our detailed Kayo Sports review. Users can access the platform via web, mobile devices, Android TV, Apple TV, Telstra TV, Chromecast and Samsung TV (2018 or later).

Store Discount

Stream Kayo Sports for 14 days FREE and no lock-in contract

Take Kayo Sports' Basic or Premium plan for a spin and stream new sports content daily plus 15,000+ hours of on-demand archives.

Last verified

Watch Perth Scorchers on Foxtel iQ

To watch on Fox Cricket, you will need a Foxtel iQ subscription with the Sports HD pack. You can get it on top of Foxtel Plus, which comes with a wide range of entertainment channels. Users can also stream matches to their laptops or mobile devices with Foxtel Go, included with all Foxtel subscriptions. Plus, you get the iQ4, the set-top box that lets you record live TV and watch content in 4K quality.

Perth Scorchers matches stream on Foxtel Now as well, so you can watch live via the Internet with the Sport channel pack. It costs $29/month on top of the base Essentials channel pack, priced at $25/month. New customers get a 10-day free trial.

You can access Foxtel Now via laptops and mobile devices with the Foxtel GO app. The service also works on selected smart TVs, Chromecast/Airplay, Telstra TV, PS4 and the Foxtel Now Box.

Perth Scorchers schedule

The Perth Scorchers start the new BBL season against the Sydney Sixers on Wednesday 18 December. Here are the team's upcoming fixtures for BBL|09, also be sure to check out the entire league schedule.

Date Match Venue Time (AEDT) Where to watch
Wed, 18 Dec Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers SCG 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sat, 21 Dec Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Renegades Optus Stadium 9:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Mon, 23 Dec Adelaide Strikers vs Perth Scorchers Adelaide Oval 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Thu, 26 Dec Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers Optus Stadium 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Wed, 1 Jan Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers Metricon Stadium 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sun, 5 Jan Perth Scorchers vs Hobart Hurricanes Optus Stadium 9:40 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Tue, 7 Jan Melbourne Renegades vs Perth Scorchers GMHBA Stadium 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sat, 11 Jan Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat Optus Stadium 9:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Mon, 13 Jan Hobart Hurricanes vs Perth Scorchers Blundstone Arena 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Wed, 15 Jan Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Stars Optus Stadium 9:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sat, 18 Jan Melbourne Stars vs Perth Scorchers MCG 3:40 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Mon, 20 Jan Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder Optus Stadium 9:40 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Fri, 24 Jan Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers Optus Stadium 9:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sun, 26 Jan Sydney Thunder vs Perth Scorchers Sydney Showground Stadium 2:45 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7

Perth Scorchers squad

Besides the transfers mentioned earlier, the Perth Scorchers also signed Fawad Ahmed and Kurtis Patterson from Sydney Thunder. Here's how the squad looks ahead of the BBL|09 season:

Player Age Caps Position Batting rank Bowling rank Allrounder rank
Ashton Agar 26 81 Bowler >100 9 >100
Fawad Ahmed 37 88 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Cameron Bancroft 27 36 Batter >100 >100 >100
Jason Behrendorff 29 63 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Cameron Green 20 1 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Liam Guthrie 22 - Bowler >100 >100 >100
Aaron Hardie 20 2 Allrounder >100 >100 >100
Nick Hobson 25 5 Batter >100 >100 >100
Josh Inglis 24 10 Wicketkeeper >100 >100 >100
Chris Jordan 31 167 Bowler 28 10 >100
Matthew Kelly 25 12 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Liam Livingstone 26 85 Allrounder >100 >100 >100
Mitch Marsh 20 74 Allrounder >100 >100 >100
Joel Paris 27 19 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Kurtis Patterson 26 26 Batter >100 >100 >100
Jhye Richardson 23 31 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Ashton Turner 26 84 Allrounder >100 >100 >100
Andrew Tye 33 142 Bowler >100 43 >100
Sam Whiteman 27 40 Witcketkeeper >100 >100 >100

Perth Scorchers history

The Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in BBL history. They won the championship three times and were runners-up twice. Adam Voges is head coach, while Mitchell Marsh is captain.

The Scorchers won the title during BBL|03, BBL|04 and BBL|06. So far, they are the only team with three BBL titles under their belt. Last season was the first time they didn't qualify for the finals, finishing in last place.

The change in venue likely had a role to play in the team's shocking results. BBL|08 marked the first time the team called Perth Stadium home, having previously played at the WACA Ground.

Image source: Perth Scorchers website

Latest streaming headlines

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site