With energy prices rising, switch to a cheaper plan
Compare Prices Now

Big Bash League preview: Hobart Hurricanes team guide

After being knocked out early from the play-offs last summer, the Hobart Hurricanes are hoping to reach new heights in BBL|10.

We’re reader-supported and may be paid when you visit links to partner sites. We don’t compare all products in the market, but we’re working on it!

Following an excellent BBL|08, the Hobart Hurricanes stumbled a bit last season. They finished fifth and made it to the playoffs, but lost the Eliminator to Sydney Thunder. Now, the men in purple are hoping to redeem themselves.

With some key players likely to be occupied with international duties this summer, the team brought in some fresh blood in the hope it can finally secure a Big Bash title in BBL|10.

New additions to the Hurricanes include England's world No.1 T20 batsman Dawid Malan, young Englishman Will Jacks and Peter Handscomb from the Melbourne Stars.

Live stream BBL|10 on Kayo: 14-day free trial

How to watch Hobart Hurricanes BBL matches

Cricket fans can watch Hobart Hurricanes matches live and free. While some games are on Channel 7, only Kayo and Foxtel have all matches live, courtesy of Fox Cricket. You can check out our guide on how to watch the BBL for more details.


Stream Kayo Sports for 14 days FREE and no lock-in contract

Take Kayo Sports for a spin and stream new sports content daily plus 15,000+ hours of on-demand archives.

Hobart Hurricanes schedule

The Hobart Hurricanes will play the opening match of the BBL season against the Sydney Sixers on Thursday, 10 December. Here are the team's upcoming fixtures for BBL|10 or you can check out the entire Big Bash League schedule.

Date Match Venue Time (AEDT) Where to watch
Thursday, 10 December 2020 Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers Blundstone Arena 7:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sunday, 13 December 2020 Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes Blundstone Arena 2:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Tuesday, 15 December 2020 Hobart Hurricanes vs Adelaide Strikers University of Tasmania Stadium 7:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Saturday, 19 December 2020 Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades Blundstone Arena 11:10 AM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sunday, 27 December 2020 Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes The Gabba 6:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Wednesday, 30 December 2020 Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat The Gabba 6:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Thursday, 2 January 2020 Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Stars TBC 5:05 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Tuesday, 5 January 2021 Melbourne Stars vs Hobart Hurricanes TBC 4:05 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Thursday, 7 January 2021 Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder TBC 6:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Tuesday, 12 January 2021 Perth Scorchers vs Hobart Hurricanes TBC 7:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Monday, 18 January 2021 Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes TBC 7:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Friday, 22 January 2021 Hobart Hurricanes vs Perth Scorchers TBC 4:05 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Sunday, 24 January 2021 Sydney Sixers vs Hobart Hurricanes TBC 7:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Tuesday, 26 January 2021 Melbourne Renegades vs Hobart Hurricanes TBC 4:15 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7

Hobart Hurricanes squad

Besides the additions we mentioned above, South African power-hitter Colin Ingram also joined the Hurricanes. He is no stranger to the BBL, having previously played for the Adelaide Strikers. Test skipper Tim Paine is also back in the squad. Here's how the Hurricanes look ahead of the BBL|10 season:

Player Age Country Position
George Bailey 38 Australia Batsmen
Caleb Jewell 23 Australia Batsmen
David Miller 31 South Africa Batsmen
Macalister Wright 22 Australia Batsmen
James Faulkner 30 Australia All-rounders
Simon Milenko 32 Australia All-rounders
Tom Rogers 26 Australia All-rounders
D'Arcy Short 30 Australia All-rounders
Nathan Ellis 25 Australia All-rounders
Matthew Wade 32 Australia Wicket-keepers
Tim Paine 36 Australia Wicket-keepers
Jake Doran 24 Australia Wicket-keepers
Ben McDermott 25 Australia Wicket-keepers
Peter Handscomb 25 Australia Wicket-keepers
David Moody 25 Australia Pace bowlers
Aaron Summers 24 Australia Pace bowlers
Scott Boland 31 Australia Pace bowlers
Riley Meredith 24 Australia Pace bowlers
Qais Ahmad 20 Afganistan Spin bowlers
Clive Rose 31 Australia Spin bowlers
Sandeep Lamichhane 20 Nepal Spin bowlers

Hobart Hurricanes history

The Hobart Hurricanes are based in Tasmania and play most of their home matches at Blundstone Arena, with some at University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston. Matthew Wade is the current team captain, while Adam Griffith has been coaching the team since BBL|08.

The Hurricanes sit alongside the Melbourne Stars as the only teams to never win the BBL, despite being runners-up twice, in BBL|03 and BBL|07. Hobart hit a rough patch during BBL|05 and BBL|06, placing seventh and failing to qualify for the finals both times.

Fun fact: the Hurricanes were the first BBL franchise to have their own team song, performed to the tune of When Johnny Comes Marching Home.

Image source: Hobart Hurricanes website

Latest streaming headlines

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site