Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score, free


Big Bash League preview: Brisbane Heat team guide

After failing to qualify for the finals for the last couple of summers, Brisbane Heat hope AB de Villiers will give them an edge during BBL|09.


Fact checked
Picture not described

Brisbane Heat didn't make it to the semi-finals last summer, despite winning their last three games in style. They finished the regular season in fifth and must be hoping BBL|09 will finally be their time to shine. Especially after signing South African superstar and T20 legend AB de Villiers, who will arrive just in time for the franchise's final six matches.

The Heat have been pretty active in the international market, bringing in the likes of Zahir Khan (Afghanistan) and Tom Banton (England, set to play only the first eight matches). All in all, Brisbane Heat are definitely one of the teams to watch in the upcoming BBL season.

How to watch Brisbane Heat BBL matches

Cricket fans can watch Brisbane Heat matches live and free. While some games are on Channel 7, only Kayo and Foxtel have all matches live, courtesy of Fox Cricket. For more details, check out our comprehensive guide on how to watch the BBL.

Live stream BBL|09 on Kayo: Start your 14-day FREE trial now

The easiest way to keep up with Brisbane Heat is with Kayo Sports, which streams all BBL matches live via the Internet.

Watch Brisbane Heat BBL matches on Kayo Sports

A Basic subscription to the service costs $25/month, while a Premium subscription will set you back $35/month.

Whichever one you choose, you will get access to the platform's entire library of live and on-demand content, with coverage of over 50 sports from all over the world. The only difference is that a Basic subscription lets you watch on two screens at the same time while a Premium one supports three simultaneous streams.

Kayo Sports comes with exciting features like SplitView, which lets you watch up to four videos at once on the same screen. Read more about the platform in our detailed Kayo Sports review. You can access the service via web, mobile devices, Android TV, Apple TV, Telstra TV, Chromecast and Samsung TV (2018 or later). New users get a 14-day free trial.

To follow Brisbane Heat with Fox Cricket you will need a Foxtel iQ subscription with the Sports HD pack. Once that's done, you can watch matches on TV or stream them to your laptop or mobile device with Foxtel GO. The app is free for all Foxtel subscribers.

Store Discount

Stream Kayo Sports for 14 days FREE and no lock-in contract

Take Kayo Sports' Basic or Premium plan for a spin and stream new sports content daily plus 15,000+ hours of on-demand archives.

Last verified

The Sports HD pack is available on top of the basic Foxtel Plus pack, which offers a variety of entertainment channels. You will also get the iQ4, the telco's advanced set-top box, which lets you watch content in 4K quality and record live TV.

Alternatively, you can keep up with Brisbane Heat on Foxtel Now. You will need to subscribe to the Sport channel pack, which costs $29/month. That's on top of the base Essentials channel pack, priced at $25/month. New Foxtel Now clients get a 10-day free trial.

The service is available on laptops and mobile devices with the Foxtel GO app. Or, you can access Foxtel Now on selected smart TVs, Chromecast/Airplay, Telstra TV, PS4 and the Foxtel Now box.

Brisbane Heat schedule

The new BBL season starts with Brisbane Heat against Sydney Thunder on Tuesday 17 December. You can see the team's upcoming fixtures for BBL|09 below or you can see the entire Big Bash League schedule here.

Date Match Venue Time (AEDT) Where to watch
Tue, 17 Dec Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder The Gabba 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Fri, 20 Dec Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Stars Metricon Stadium 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sun, 22 Dec Sixer vs Brisbane Heat SCG 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Wed, 1 Jan Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers Metricon Stadium 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Fri, 3 Jan Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat Blundstone Arena 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Mon, 6 Jan Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat Sydney Showground Stadium 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Thu, 9 Jan Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes The Gabba 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sat, 11 Jan Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat Optus Stadium 9:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Tue, 14 Jan Brisbane Heat vs Adelaide Strikers The Gabba 3:40 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Fri, 17 Jan Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane Heat Adelaide Oval 3:40 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Sun, 19 Jan Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Renegades The Gabba 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Thu, 23 Jan Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Sixers The Gabba 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7
Sat, 25 Jan Melbourne Stars vs Brisbane Heat MCG 7:10 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Mon, 27 Jan Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat Marvel Stadium 2:45 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, Channel 7

Brisbane Heat squad

Besides the transfers mentioned earlier, Brisbane Heat also brought in Ben Laughlin from the Strikers. Here's how the squad looks ahead of the BBL|09 season:

Player Age Caps Position Batting rank Bowling rank Allrounder rank
AB de Villiers 35 304 Batter >100 >100 >100
Ben Laughlin 37 143 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Tom Banton 21 20 Batter >100 >100 >100
Max Bryant 20 14 Batter >100 >100 >100
Joe Burns 30 62 Batter >100 >100 >100
Ben Cutting 32 130 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Cameron Gannon 30 27 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Sam Heazlett 24 18 Batter >100 >100 >100
Zahir Khan 20 40 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Matt Kuhnemann 23 3 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Marnus Labuschagne 25 7 Batter >100 >100 >100
Josh Lalor 32 42 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Chris Lynn 29 162 Batter >100 >100 >100
James Pattinson 29 33 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Jimmy Peirson 27 50 Wicketkeeper >100 >100 >100
Jack Prestwidge 21 5 Bowler >100 >100 >100
Matthew Renshaw 23 10 Batter >100 >100 >100
Mitch Swepson 26 34 Batter >100 >100 >100
Mark Steketee 25 34 Batter >100 >100 >100
Mujeeb Ur Rahman 18 92 Batter >100 2 >100

Brisbane Heat history

After failing to qualify for the finals in the inaugural season of the BBL, Brisbane Heat turned things around and won BBL|02, their only championship title so far. Since then, they only made the semi-finals one more time, during BBL|06.

The team play their home games at The Gabba and Metricon Stadium. Darren Lehmann is the coach, while big hitter Chris Lynn is captain.

Image source: Brisbane Heat website

Latest streaming headlines

Related Posts

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site