How to watch Australia vs India test cricket series 2018/19

Australia vs India Test L

Can Australia restore pride in the Baggy Green and claim a much needed win over India on home soil? Here's how to make sure you don't miss a ball!

It's become one of the biggest rivalries in Australian sport. While the Australian Test Cricket team has always had its England enmity over the hallowed Ashes, and no shortage of spirited contests with South Africa, it's Australia vs India that is arguably the most talked about contest of recent years.

Perhaps it's because of Australia's inability to defeat India on Indian soil? Or the huge number of passionate Indian cricket fans that make each game a spectacular event. But there's no doubt in-your-face Indian captain Virat Kohli plays a role. Forever stirring the pot and pushing the line on what Aussies would define as good sportsmanship.

In short, there's a genuine hatred between India and Australia, which is what makes for great theatre. It's what makes test cricket so great.

When and where is the Australia vs India test cricket series?

It's a slightly different look to Test Cricket in Australia this summer. There's only the four test matches, and the day-night pink ball test has been taken off the schedule. The Indians refused the pink ball test, but Adelaide will still host the first game. Here is the full schedule.

First Test: Adelaide Oval, December 6-10
Second Test: Perth Stadium, December 14-18
Third Test: MCG, December 26-30
Fourth Test: SCG, January 3-7

Going into the test series, India is ranked number one in the world for Test Cricket. Australia is ranked five.

Where to watch the Australia vs India test cricket series

There have been three massive changes to the live sports broadcasting landscape in Australia that ensure watching test cricket will be unlike anything we've seen before.

First, over on free-to-air, Channel 7 now has the rights and will be showing the Australia vs India Test Cricket series live. It's hard to think of summer tests not airing on Channel 9 after all these decades.

Meanwhile, in the live sports streaming space, Kayo Sports' cricket coverage has arrived. It offers the most advanced sports viewing experience we've seen, building off the content aired on Fox Sports' dedicated cricket channel.

Elsewhere, Cricket Australia's Cricket Live app has removed Test Cricket from its list of broadcast matches. It's put its focus squarely on the domestic competitions, and is no longer an option for Test Cricket fans. So let's take a closer look at your options on where to watch the Australia vs India test cricket series.

Store Discount

Stream Kayo Sports for 14 days FREE and no lock-in contract

Take Kayo Sports' Basic or Premium plan for a spin and stream over 50 sports live completely free for 14 days.

Last verified

Get deal
Service Free Trial Price per Month for HD Sport Pros Cons Review
Kayo Sports 14 Days $25 Same content as Foxtel's sports package at more than half the cost.* A host of interactive viewing features.* Available on phones and tablets, browsers, Apple TV, Telstra TV and TVs via ChromeCast * Hindi commentary option. New technology Review
Channel 7 n/a $0.00 Free to watch.* Works on any TV connected to a terrestrial aerial. Can't be streamed to any device.* New unproven commentary team.* Ads* No interactive features.
Foxtel IQ / Foxtel Go 30 Days $68 4K cricket* You get the entertainment pack as well as sport.* You can record the broadcast. You have to pay for the entertainment pack to get sport.* You need a 4K TV to see 4K content.* Requires installation of hardware by Foxtel.* Expensive* No interactive viewing features. Review
Foxtel Now 14 Days $54 Shows same content as Foxtel IQ for less. App and Foxtel Now TV box are flakey and tend to crash a lot.* No interactive viewing features. Review
  1. Kayo Sports: The new live sports streaming app offers an impressive experience. At $25 per month for the Kayo Basic pack – which is all you need – it's the cheapest option by far. However, it also offers the best viewing experience due to its large number of sports-specific features. This includes picture-in-picture view, split screen mode (allowing you to watch up to three other channels at the same time), alternative commentary (in Hindi), a quick jump feature allowing you to go to highlight moments, the ability to hide scores and more. Kayo Sports shows all the same content as Foxtel, plus its own content, and places all relevant viewing experiences together in a game-day hub. Start your Kayo Sports free trial here.
  1. Channel 7: Available for free on your television only. The 7Plus app that streams Channel 7 content is not allowed to show the cricket. The coverage should be solid, but is a little bit of an unknown given it's Channel 7's first swing of the bat, featuring an all new commentary team. This team includes Ricky Ponting, Damien Fleming, Michael Slater, Glenn McGrath, Alison Mitchell, Mel McLaughlin, James Brayshaw, Lisa Sthalekar, Tim Lane, Abbey Gelmi, Greg Blewett, Simon Katich, Jason Gillespie, Brad Hodge and Dirk Nannes. Learn more about Channel 7 here.
  1. Foxtel IQ: The flagship Foxtel product levelled-up recently with the new IQ4 box. This box and its wires (and potentially satellite dish depending on your location) still need to be installed the old-school way. The upside is, it's the only place you can watch the Australia vs India tests in 4K – which looks brilliant if you have a 4K TV. However, it does come at a cost. See Foxtel offers.
  1. Foxtel Now: Alternatively there is Foxtel Now. It shows the same content as Foxtel IQ and Kayo Sports, but hedges its bets – somewhat – in that you can stream the content through a host of devices, or watch through your TV. We say "somewhat" as the Foxtel Now box required to stream direct to your TV costs $99. It's not free with your subscription. Also, both the box and the app are renowned for being buggy experiences. Start Foxtel Now free trial.

Australia vs India First Test teams

Australia: Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

India: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravi Ashwin Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Stream the best

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Ask a question
Go to site