travel generic

NT: How to stretch 20 days of leave into a massive 52

Northern Territorians, here’s how you can make the most of your annual leave.

Being home to the closest Australian city to Asia and constantly getting cheap flights to Bali and Singapore, we want you to take advantage of that as much as you can.

We’ve put the puzzle together and fit 20 days of annual leave as neatly as we could around public holidays to work out how you can get a huge 52 days of leave.

In those 52 days off, here are all the adventures you can take:

  • 1-day New Year’s staycation (or 3-day's trip to Kakadu if you start on 30 December)
  • 3-day hop and skip up to Bali in late January getaway
  • 16-day trip across the US from April to May
  • 17-day cruise around the South Pacific islands
  • 3-day winter break to Tropical North Queensland
  • 3-day trip to Uluru and Kata Tjuta in August
  • 9-days December island hopping adventure in Thailand

Take off the following days in italics as annual leave:

January:

Monday 1 January (Public holiday - New Year’s Day)

Total run: 1 days / 0 annual leave days (push this to a three day weekend by starting you trip on Saturday 30 December)


Friday 26 January (Public holiday - Australia Day)

Saturday 27 January

Sunday 28 January

Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days

March.NorthernTerritoryAnnualLeave

March & April:

Saturday 24 March

Sunday 25 March

Monday 26 March

Tuesday 27 March

Wednesday 28 March

Thursday 29 March

Friday 30 March (Public holiday - Good Friday)

Saturday 31 March

Sunday 1 April

Monday 2 April (Public holiday - Easter Monday)

Tuesday 3 April

Wednesday 4 April

Thursday 5 April

Friday 6 April

Saturday 7 April

Sunday 8 April

Total run: 16 days / 8 annual leave days


April & May:

Saturday 21 May

Sunday 22 May

Monday 23 May

Tuesday 24 May

Wednesday 25 May (Public holiday - Anzac Day)

Thursday 26 April

Friday 27 April

Saturday 28 April

Sunday 29 April

Monday 30 April

Tuesday 1 May

Wednesday 2 May

Thursday 3 May

Friday 4 May

Saturday 5 April

Sunday 6 April

Monday 7 April (Public holiday - May Day)

Total run: 17 days / 9 annual leave days

ayers rock

June:

Saturday 9 June

Sunday 10 June

Monday 11 June (Public holiday - Queen's birthday)

Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days


August

Saturday 4 August

Sunday 5 August

Monday 6 August (Public holiday - Picnic Day)

Total run: 3 days / 0 annual leave days


December:

Saturday 22 December

Sunday 23 December

Monday 24 December (Christmas Eve public holiday - 7pm-midnight shifts only)

Tuesday 25 December (Public holiday - Christmas Day)

Wednesday 26 December (Public holiday - Boxing Day)

Thursday 27 December

Friday 28 December

Saturday 29 December

Sunday 30 December

Total run: 9 days / 3 annual leave days

Keep an eye on our Boxing Day flight sales to get those holidays booked.

More travel

Alex Keshen

Alex takes care of the travel section here at finder.com.au. If there's a new sale on tours or cruises, discounted flights or hotels, or anything else that can be on offer, she'll fill you in.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Latest Travel Offers

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.
Ask a question
Go to site