Finder makes money from featured partners, but editorial opinions are our own.

List of Allan Border Medal winners

It's Cricket Australia's most prestigious men's award, but which greats have won the Allan Border Medal?

While cricket is a team sport, there are still quite a few individual accolades on offer, albeit a century or a five-wicket haul. Though nothing quite tops being defined the best cricketer in Australia over an entire year. That honour is recognised by receiving the Allan Border Medal. For the women the equivalent of this is the Belinda Clark Award.

The Allan Border Medal is named after the former Australian captain. Each year every cricketer who plays on the international stage whether it's a Test, ODI or T20I is in the running to win the medal. You can see how to watch the Allan Border Medal ceremony here.

How does voting work?

Voting is completed by players, media and umpires after each match. This is done in the same fashion as the AFL's Brownlow Medal and NRL's Dally M Medal on a 3-2-1 voting system. A weighting system is used for voting. This gives Test votes a value of six, one-dayers three and T20Is two.

So while cricket has embraced the shorter formats of the game, the Allan Border Medal gives recognition to the Test arena.

2020 winners

Award Winner
Allan Border Medal David Warner
Belinda Clark Medal Ellyse Perry
Test Player of the Year Marnus Labuschagne
Men's ODI Player of the Year Aaron Finch
Women's ODI Player of the Year Alyssa Healy
Men's T20I Player of the Year David Warner
Women's T20I Player of the Year Alyssa Healy
Domestic Male Player of the Year Shaun Marsh
Domestic Female Player of the Year Molly Strano
Bradman Young Men's Cricketer of the Year Wes Agar
Betty Wilson Young Women's Cricketer of the Year Tayla Vlaeminck

Allan Border Medal winners

Year Winner
2000 Glenn McGrath
2001 Steve Waugh
2002 Matthew Hayden
2003 Adam Gilchrist
2004 Ricky Ponting
2005 Michael Clarke
2006 Ricky Ponting
2007 Ricky Ponting
2008 Brett Lee
2009 Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke
2010 Shane Watson
2011 Shane Watson
2012 Michael Clarke
2013 Michael Clarke
2014 Mitchell Johnson
2015 Steve Smith
2016 David Warner
2017 David Warner
2018 Steve Smith
2019 Pat Cummins
2020 David Warner

Since its inception in 2000 we've seen a total of 21 Allan Border Medal winners. Historically batsman have held the edge over the bowlers. There has been just one instance when there were co-winners, in 2009 with ex-captains Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke sharing the honour. The pair also hold the record of most wins with four apiece.

Belinda Clark Award winners

Year Winner
2002 Karen Rolton
2003 Karen Rolton
2004 Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2005 Karen Rolton
2006 Karen Rolton
2007 Lisa Sthalekar
2008 Lisa Sthalekar
2009 Shelley Nitschke
2010 Shelley Nitschke
2011 Shelley Nitschke
2012 Shelley Nitschke
2013 Jess Cameron
2014 Meg Lanning
2015 Meg Lanning
2016 Ellyse Perry
2017 Meg Lanning
2018 Ellyse Perry
2019 Alyssa Healy
2020 Ellyse Perry

Image source: Cricket Australia

Latest sports streaming news

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and 6. Finder Group Privacy & Cookies Policy.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Go to site