Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score, free

Free

Air Canada review | Toronto to Sydney (via Vancouver)

Posted: 29 August 2019 5:30 pm
News

Air Canada flight taking off over Sydney

Just how comfortable is this 22-hour slog in the same seat?

Returning from a month-long trip to the US and Canada, I flew Air Canada's 22-hour haul from Toronto to Sydney with a quick pit stop to stretch the legs in Vancouver.

Considering I needed to book flights into Seattle and out of Toronto, Air Canada offered the cheapest price for the open-jaw ticket coming in at about $1,400 – around $1,000 less than airlines like Virgin Australia and Qantas were offering on the same route. Plus, Air Canada was able to shave a few hours off the trip in either direction.

Side note: I did fly the Sydney–Vancouver flight of the Canada-bound leg of this journey as well, AC34, but hopped off in Vancouver to catch a connection to Seattle. Similar aircraft and services are offered in both directions of the journey.

Air Canada details

  • Route: Toronto to Sydney (via Vancouver)
  • Duration: 22h 05m (with a 1h 37m stopover in Vancouver)
  • Flight number(s): AC33
  • Aircraft type: Boeing 777-200LR
  • Dates travelled: 10 August 2019
  • Class: Economy
  • Frequent flyer program: Aeroplan
  • Points earned: 0 (I'm not an Aeroplan member)

Alex's Air Canada review

★★★☆☆

  • Roomy seat options without paying extra
  • Departure and arrival times
  • Shortest travel time at the lower price
  • Domestic departure from Toronto
  • Poor service onboard
  • Lack of frequent flyer opportunities
  • Unpleasant odours upon arrival
Picture not described
Picture not described

What did I like?

  • Seat: While I was only lucky enough to get this seat in one direction, I chose a seat towards the back of the plane where the plane narrows and the window-side aisles narrow to just two seats rather than three. This meant only one person to ask to move if I needed to get up and more room on my right (window) side. These seats have a 20-centimetre-or-so gap between the seat and the window. Although it's not ideal for leaning against the wall to sleep, the space was big enough to fit my carry-on backpack leaving all the room under the seat free for legs. In terms of comfort, the seat was average. I didn't find it particularly comfortable or uncomfortable, but also didn't feel like my lower back was sore, which sometimes happens to me on long-haul flights.
  • Departure/arrival times: Thanks to the time difference, I was able to depart Toronto in the evening on Saturday and arrive in Sydney early Monday morning. With the pit stop in Vancouver, it was about 3am in Toronto by the time the long-haul to Australia began, which was prime time to be sleepy enough to get a bit of shut-eye on the flight. Similarly, on my outbound flight from Sydney to Seattle, the time difference also worked in my favour. I was able to depart Australia at 10am and arrive in the US by 10:30am on the same day.
  • Length of flights: Compared to other options, Air Canada's flights were the quickest and had the shortest stopover times in both directions. The Sydney–Seattle flights took just 17 hours and 34 minutes and the Toronto–Sydney flights were 22 hours and 5 minutes.
  • Domestic departure from Toronto: Because the plane goes via Vancouver, AC33 is technically a domestic flight until it reaches YVR (where some passengers leave the plane and others join). This means for those of us flying internationally from Toronto, we departed as a domestic flight, meaning we only need to arrive at the airport an hour before departure. Since the flight was scheduled to depart at 8:15pm, it meant I was able to make the most of the sunny Saturday in Toronto.
Picture not described
Picture not described

What didn't I like?

  • Lack of points opportunities for Australians: Air Canada doesn't codeshare with either Virgin Australia or Qantas, so I wasn't able to earn any points with these programs, which are the only two I actively earn points with.
  • Service: I found the service on these Air Canada flights, and previous ones in the past, to be sub-par. While I don't expect flight attendants to go above and beyond, I do expect relatively friendly service – it is a Canadian airline after all. On one occasion I asked if it was possible to get an extra blanket and was quite curtly told that there's a one-per-person rule (while I don't expect them to have an extra blanket available for everyone, on other airlines in the past it hasn't been a problem to get an extra one so I didn't believe I was out of line for asking – plus it was rather cold, even for an aeroplane and given the extra layers I was already wearing). They were also rather cold during meal service. I understand only a certain number of meals are brought on board, but they were firstly rather unapologetic when there was only one of the available options left over for any of the flights on my outbound journey. On another occasion, as they quite often are, the drinks were being served shortly after the meal and when the attendant asked me what I wanted I had a mouthful of food and gave the sorry-I'm-chewing-just-a-second hand gesture, she rudely asked again, and when I then apologised for chewing she, well, rudely asked me again. (I should note this is the same person who I asked for a blanket so perhaps she was having a bad day?)
  • Cleaning before deplaning: I should preface this by saying I completely understand that planes have rather quick turnarounds. Upon arrival on my flight from Sydney to Vancouver, they began cleaning the toilets while we were all still on board. I'm not sure exactly what the process is, but the entire back section of the plane smelled like a portaloo on a hot summer's day. Even the nearby attendant was covering her nose. After a 15-hour flight, it's not exactly something you want to sit through for 10–15 minutes until the back rows are able to disembark.

Would I use Air Canada again?

On this occasion, I went with Air Canada because it was the quickest and cheapest option by quite a big margin. If that's the case again in the future, I would fly with it again. However, I've also flown between Sydney and Toronto on Korean Air and American Airlines, both of which I felt were better experiences.

Air Canada flight deals and sales:

It looks like we don't have any coupons at the moment. Take a look at our most recent deals

Groupon Groupon

Up to 75% off local deals

Available on select dates and activities like spas, skydiving, hot air balloon flights, tours, whale watching, skywalks, classes and more. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Canberra, Adelaide, Perth and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Groupon Groupon

Up to 73% off getaways

Available for travel on select dates to Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane, Launceston, Newcastle, Noosa Heads, Cairns and much more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Trip.com Trip.com

Australia flights from $69 each way

Available on flights from September - October 2020 with Fly Pelican. Destinations include Ballina, Cobar, Canberra and more. Sample fare is Sydney-Newcastle.

Last verified

Deal ends

Kayak Kayak

Australia-wide flights from $69 each way

Available on select dates until December 2020 to Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Cairns, Perth, Broome, Ballina and more. Sample fare is Melbourne-Sydney with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra 10% off Australia activities with code

Valid on all dates on activities like skydiving, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, cruises, tours and more. Minimum spend of $100 applies. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 40% off pet friendly hotels

Available on stays until October 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra and Brisbane. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 56% off Australia stays

Available on stays until December 2020. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Cairns, Brisbane, Townsville, Adelaide, Canberra and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Lastminute.com.au Lastminute.com.au

Up to 30% off last minute Australia stays

Available stays until October 2020 in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Canberra, Adelaide, Brisbane, Newcastle, Rockhampton and more.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

$20 off Australia rentals

Available on rentals until 31 January 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $200 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Adrenaline Adrenaline

Up to 63% off domestic activities

Available on select dates and activities like skydiving, hot air balloon flights, quad biking, off road v8 race buggies, scuba diving, whale watching, bridge climbing and much more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Up to 60% off Australia-wide stays + Extra 8% off with code

Available on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Canberra, Newcastle and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off Australia and New Zealand rentals

Available on select dates until 15 December 2020. Rental must be for 2 days or more and booked 21 days in advance. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

P&O Cruises P&O Cruises

Free room upgrade on sailings

Available on select cruises from December 2020 - September 2022. Destinations include Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Auckland, Norfolk Island and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Oaks Hotels & Resorts Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Up to 20% off Australia stays + Extra 10% off with code

Available on select stays dates until 30 June 2021. Destinations include Sydney, Brisbane, Gladstone, Townsville, Adelaide, Glenelg and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

Wotif Wotif

Up to 66% off Australia stays

Available on stays until May 2021 in Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Perth, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Extra $10 off site-wide with code

Valid on all dates, including over Christmas, on activities like skydiving, quad biking, bridge climbing, canyoning, hot air ballooning, helicopter scenic flights, abseiling, scuba diving, cruises and more. Destinations include Darwin, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

$1/day one-way car hire in Australia

Valid on select dates for select car hire in Australia. Destinations updated regularly.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Gold Coast stays from $49/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Surfers Paradise. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Hotels.com Hotels.com

Extra 8% off on hotel bookings

Save on hotel stays before 31 December 2020 in Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Fiji, Thailand, Singapore, USA and more. Available at select hotels.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

DiDi DiDi
Exclusive

Get $20 credit

Get $5 off each of your first four rides in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Geelong, Perth and Newcastle. Valid on all dates for new users. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

New Zealand stays from $30/night

Available on select dates from July onward for Auckland, Wellington, Queenstown and Christchurch stays. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Melbourne stays from $50/night

Available on select stay dates from June 2020 onward. Sample accommodation is in Melbourne Central Business District. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Airbnb Airbnb

Refer a friend and get $25 Airbnb credit

Give a friend $50 toward their first stay and get $25 credit for yourself toward a future booking.

Last verified

Europcar Europcar

Up to 20% off base rate

Available on rentals until 15 December 2020 in Australia and New Zealand. Pick up on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday required to avail offer. T&Cs apply

Last verified

Deal ends

Trafalgar Tours Trafalgar Tours

Up to 15% off last minute trips

Valid for travel on select dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Europe, UK, the Middle East, Argentina, India, Asia, New Zealand, Australia and Africa and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Otel.com Otel.com

Extra 9% off hotel bookings

Valid on select hotel stays worldwide like Australia, New Zealand, Bali, Thailand, USA, Europe and more on all dates, including over holidays like Easter, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Some restrictions apply.

Last verified

Rentalcars.com Rentalcars.com

Up to 20% off car hire

Compare car hire prices on Rentalcars.com and save up to 20% compared to booking direct.

Last verified

TourRadar TourRadar

Up to 50% off worldwide tours

Available on tours in 2021 to Greece, Croatia, Italy, New Zealand, USA, Russia, Turkey, Australia and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

DiDi DiDi

Free rides for Sydneysiders

Available on Saturdays from 26 September - 10 October 2020. Valid for one free ride each week with discount capped at $15. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Kayak Kayak

Sydney flights from $46 each way

Available on select dates from October 2020 - February 2021. Sample fare departs from Avalon with Jetstar.

Last verified

Deal ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Brisbane Story Bridge climb from $139 + Extra $10 off with code

Available on select dates until 13 March 2021 for a 2-hour nighttime climb. Minimum spend of $80 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Dining experiences at home from $40 + an extra $10 off with code

Available on select 2020 dates across Australia on experiences including wine tasting, cooking classes, cheese making, high tea, cocktail making and more. Minimum spend of $80 applies. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Avis Avis

$30 off 2+ days car hire

Available on rentals until 18 December 2020 in Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Hobart, Melbourne and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Luxury Escapes Luxury Escapes

Up to 61% off Australia holiday packages

Available on select dates until December 2021. Destinations include Adelaide, Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Sydney, Cairns, Canberra, Hunter Valley and more. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Stayz Stayz

Australia beach holidays from $82/night

Available on select stay dates in 2020 and 2021. Destinations include Adelaide, Sydney, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne and more. Sample price is for a stay at a private beach cottage in South Greenough, Western Australia. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Experience Oz Experience Oz

Brisbane Story Bridge climb from $159

Available on select dates until 22 October 2021 for a 2-hour twilight climb. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Deal ends

London Pass London Pass

Fast-track entry at London attractions

Get fast-tracked entry to select attractions like Tower of London, Tower Bridge Exhibition, London Zoo and London Bridge Experience with your pass. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

finder.com.au finder.com.au

BridgeClimb Sydney from just $174

Book a 90-minute sampler BridgeClimb in Sydney for up to $134 less than the price of the full-length experience. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 20% off experiences for 2 + Extra 10% off with code

Available on select dates for experiences like tours, zoo and wildlife interactions, hot air balloon flights, skydiving and more. Destinations include Sydney, Hunter Valley, Melbourne, Brisbane and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

RedBalloon RedBalloon
Exclusive

Up to 60% off Australia activities + Extra 10% off with code

Available on select dates and activities like hot air balloon flights, tandem skydiving, getaways, driving experiences and more. Destinations include Sydney, Gold Coast, Cairns and more. Minimum spend of $100 required. T&Cs apply.

Last verified

Coupon code ends

Popular Travel coupon codes

Last checked Code description Code
23 Sep 2020 Extra 10% off Australia activities with code RBF****
15 Sep 2020 $20 off Australia rentals FIN****
19 Aug 2020 Extra $10 off site-wide with code FDR****
5 Aug 2020 Extra 8% off on hotel bookings CLP****
29 Jul 2020 Get $20 credit FIN****

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site