Get the Finder app 🥳

Track your credit score


2020 AFL preview: Melbourne Demons team guide

Just when they finally seemed to have momentum, Melbourne will be starting all over again in 2020. Where do they end up this season?


Fact checked
Melbourne Demons

We’re committed to our readers and editorial independence. We don’t compare all products in the market and may receive compensation when we refer you to our partners, but this does not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn more about Finder.

At the end of 2018, Melbourne had reached the finals, even winning two of them, and were being talked up mightily as a genuine threat heading into the following season.

Fast-forward and they would finish 2019 ahead of only the Gold Coast on the ladder with just 5 wins and in 17th position after a desperately disappointing campaign.

So what now? Coach Simon Goodwin has worked hard on the fitness of his players and tinkered with the game plan. It needs to work or he could quickly find himself on the hot seat so soon after reaching a preliminary final.

How to watch Melbourne Demons AFL matches

Channel 7, Kayo Sports, Foxtel iQ, Foxtel Now and the AFL Live Pass are all options for catching AFL games in 2020. We have put together a complete AFL viewing guide for you which breaks down all the details.

Channel 7 shows between three and five matches per round on its main and 7mate channels. But that leaves a whole heap of matches that can only be accessed with a subscription. That includes Melbourne's season-opener against West Coast, which is not on free-to-air TV.

Foxtel iQ, Foxtel Now and Kayo Sports have every game of the home and away season live and out of those options, Kayo is the most affordable. A Basic subscription starts from $25/month for use on 2 devices. For $10 more per month you get a third screen.

On top of all the AFL action, you get access to more than 50 other sports on Kayo. It also has a 14-day free trial for new users and comes with a number of special features. SplitView, No Spoilers and Interactive Stats are just some of the options.

Another viewing option is AFL Live Pass, which is free for Telstra customers. If you are not with Telstra you can buy a subscription from the App Store or Google Play. Live streaming is limited to a seven-inch display, so you are unable to watch games on your TV, laptop or tablet.

Foxtel Now Foxtel Now

10-day free trial of Foxtel Now

No installation and no lock-in contract. New customers only. Sign up now.

Last verified

Kayo Sports Kayo Sports

Live stream AFL in HD with Kayo's FREE TRIAL and no lock-in contract

Take Kayo Sports' Basic or Premium plan for a spin and stream over 50 sports live completely free for 14 days.

Last verified

Watch Melbourne Demons matches overseas

If you are out of Australia at any stage during the season, you can still catch the Dees in action. The Watch AFL app allows you to stream matches with an Internet connection. You can see a guide here on how to stream the 2020 AFL season from overseas.

Travelling abroad? Watch the entire AFL season live

Travelling abroad? Watch the entire AFL season live from Watch AFL

If you're out of the country, streaming Aussie Rules football can be a bit of a pain. For those travelling the globe, there's Watch AFL.

View details

When do Melbourne Demons play next?

The Demons will be in Perth in round one facing West Coast at Optus Stadium. The opening bounce is at 6:20pm AEDT on Sunday 22 March. The complete AFL draw is here.

Round Day Date Match Stadium Kick-off (AEST) How to watch
Round 1 Sunday 22/3/20 West Coast vs Melbourne Optus Stadium, WA 6:20 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, AFL Live Pass
Round 2 Saturday 13/6/20 Carlton vs Melbourne Marvel Stadium, VIC 4:35 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, AFL Live Pass
Round 3 Sunday 21/6/20 Essendon vs Melbourne MCG, Vic 3:35 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, AFL Live Pass, Channel 7
Round 4 Sunday 28/6/20 Melbourne vs Geelong Cats MCG, Vic 3:35 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, AFL Live Pass, Channel 7
Round 5 Sunday 5/7/20 Sydney Swans vs Melbourne SCG, NSW 3:35 PM Kayo Sports, Foxtel, AFL Live Pass, Channel 7

Melbourne Demons squad

Player Number Name Position Career Games
24 Marcus Adams Defender 37
4 Callum Ah Chee Midfield 45
19 Jacob Allison Midfield 10
31 Harris Andrews Defender 97
43 Noah Answerth Defender 19
33 Zac Bailey Defender, Midfield 27
38 Connor Ballenden Forward 0
7 Jarrod Berry Midfield 57
13 Thomas Berry Forward 0
14 Grant Birchall Defender 248
23 Charlie Cameron Forward 108
3 Allen Christensen Forward 133
18 Keidean Coleman Forward, Midfield 0
20 Cedric Cox Forward 13
41 Matt Eagles Defender 4
28 Cameron Ellis-Yolmen Midfield 39
47 Tom Fullarton Forward 0
27 Darcy Gardiner Defender 106
22 Mitchell Hinge Midfield 2
30 Eric Hipwood Forward 75
32 Tom Joyce Forward, Midfield 0
35 Ryan Lester Defender 126
39 Corey Lyons Midfield 0
17 Jarryd Lyons Midfield 116
42 James Madden Forward, Defender 0
12 Stefan Martin Ruck 182
36 Rhys Mathieson Forward, Midfield 46
11 Lincoln McCarthy Forward 53
6 Hugh McCluggage Midfield 63
26 Connor McFadyen Forward 0
46 Oscar McInerney Forward, Ruck 37
25 Daniel McStay Forward 103
9 Lachie Neale Midfield 159
40 Jack Payne Defender 0
45 Jaxon Prior Defender 0
16 Cameron Rayner Forward 46
10 Daniel Rich Defender 207
2 Deven Robertson Midfield 0
5 Mitch Robinson Midfield 191
21 Sam Skinner Forward 1
44 Archie Smith Ruck 11
1 Brock Smith Defender 0
8 Ely Smith Forward, Midfield 0
37 Brandon Starcevich Defender, Midfield 5
29 Alex Witherden Defender 53
34 Toby Wooller Forward, Midfield 0
15 Dayne Zorko Midfield 168

Melbourne Demons history

It would be somewhat hard for more recent AFL fans to believe Melbourne were once a force in Australian football. That is because the last of their 12 premierships came way back in 1964.

Names like Ron Barassi, Robert Flower, Norm Smith and Jim Stynes once donned the Demons strip and are among the players on their Team of the Century.

Since losing the grand final to Essendon in 2000, Melbourne have reached the finals just 5 times in 19 seasons and had 7 different coaches. They do have some talent on their list and if Goodwin can get them fit and firing, a return to finals football this year could be on the cards.

Image source: Kayo Sports website

Latest streaming headlines

More guides on Finder

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms of Use, Disclaimer & Privacy Policy and Privacy & Cookies Policy.
Go to site